We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managed , but not worth its price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brentwood

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brentwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Brentwood
Picture Palace, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 62 hotels in Mussoorie
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Managed , but not worth its price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My cousin along with his and my family landed at about 8 PM in Mussourie. The road to the hotel passes by the Mall road, where traffic is blocked from morning 7 AM to night 10 PM. We were not informed of the same. Thus, while we tried getting out of our vehicle, to understand how we manage the luggage etc, we created a small traffic snarl. We got out of the road and asked our driver to move ahead, but 3 locals who claims themselves to be volunteer started beating up the driver for stopping in the road. We asked for the police, standing by for help, but they did not even bother to move an inch. Thus the journey started on a bad note.

The temperature outside was 4 C and we somehow reached our hotel. We took the help of the manager who got us 2 porters who would carry our luggage, 200 mtrs from the parking stand and back, We were also reminded that the same process need to be followed while going back. Gosh, it was tough trekking in that terrain and we were panting for breath. I dont think we expected this kind of check in and reception.

The room was average and not at all in line with the price. It can also be due to New year rush. The bathroom was cold and damp and it took real courage to take a bath. Thankfuly the blanket, quilts were good enough to bit the cold. However, we expected at least a room heater, which was also not available, The free Wi Fi again did not possess the minimum bandwidth to work.

The only positive was probably the better than average food. We were also a part of the New year bash, which were filled with drunkards fighting for drink and purposelly slipping over ladies. Thus we decided to have ou dinner sharp at 10 on a new Year eve and were inside our rooms by 11 PM.

Overall, we were not at all satisfied. Had we not seen some of the snow capped mountains from Lal Tabu, we would not have forgotton our sorrow easily. The nature healed us fast and we decided to move ahead.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    4
    0
    7
See reviews for
17
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

i have been there for 3 months as a tour escort..... good hotel , with best location on end of MALL ROAD, hilly view, nice air flow, good and attentive staff, nice meal. cost worthy............. best bedrooms.......... it jst awesome........

Room Tip: choose valley view on 4th floor.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for 2n/3d.

Pros:
Location: Bang next to Picture Palace Entry Point. Ample Parking Space. Some rooms have good view of the valley (Room 315)
Rooms: Stayed in the new wing and rooms were Ok, but had damp walls (which i guess is expected due to rainy season)
Room Service: Food good and rates reasonable
Hot Water in Bathroom: Ample despite of roaring rains

Cons:
Breakfast: Service Sleepy and not much choice
Restaurant: Come evening and this place turned into a Gamblers Den. People smoking (which is prohibited by law), Drinking and playing cards with huge wands of cash.
Linen: Had ink stains on the bedsheet and quilt, but bed was comfy.
Activity: None at the hotel

Overall stay was enjoyable. But would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile


Awesom place to have a stay in whole mussoorie , enjoyble location excellent staff nice food all u need in your relaxing zone so those who have visited brentwood this year they feel proud including me and others dont miss chance next time . Have fun

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Everything is too good ! Centrally located ,beautiful rooms ,ambience too good, nice view!! Do try it out of this world!! The new section of the hotel is amazing it's beautiful !! XO XO XO nothin like it !?!?

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It was such a wonderful stay with the new Brentwood with excellent food, courteous staff and lovely new rooms. Breathtaking view from the valley facing rooms, nice open area - a breadth of fresh air in Mussoorie.

Room Tip: Valley facing rooms are a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

stayed here very recently .. I opted for ths hotel only because of the fact tht ths hotel hs got good reviews in here.. bt sadly it didn't trun up the way it has been portrayed ovr here by many .. we were group of four families & stayed in brentwood for 2 nights .. we opted for rooms in the old block .. which seems pretty neglected by the hotel administrations .. the rooms wre indeed huge in size, yet the bed sheet was not that clean.. water was constantly leaking from the wash basin's drainage pipe.. the tap itself was hard leaking .. don't think the carpets are vacuumed.. anyways the hotel staff/ppl were nice & service was good .. food was also Ok.. but the hotel needs to work a hell lot ovr the dinning area.. as of now it completely lacks any kind of ambiance & gives a very dull & unwelcoming look .. better to have ur food inside ur room only .. ;-)

Room Tip: hotel's focus is completly over their new block so better get a room in there elseopt for valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brentwood

Address: Picture Palace, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brentwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.