We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managed , but not worth its price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brentwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Brentwood to your Saves list
Hotel Brentwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Picture Palace, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Mussoorie
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Managed , but not worth its price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My cousin along with his and my family landed at about 8 PM in Mussourie. The road to the hotel passes by the Mall road, where traffic is blocked from morning 7 AM to night 10 PM. We were not informed of the same. Thus, while we tried getting out of our vehicle, to understand how we manage the luggage etc, we created a small traffic snarl. We got out of the road and asked our driver to move ahead, but 3 locals who claims themselves to be volunteer started beating up the driver for stopping in the road. We asked for the police, standing by for help, but they did not even bother to move an inch. Thus the journey started on a bad note.

The temperature outside was 4 C and we somehow reached our hotel. We took the help of the manager who got us 2 porters who would carry our luggage, 200 mtrs from the parking stand and back, We were also reminded that the same process need to be followed while going back. Gosh, it was tough trekking in that terrain and we were panting for breath. I dont think we expected this kind of check in and reception.

The room was average and not at all in line with the price. It can also be due to New year rush. The bathroom was cold and damp and it took real courage to take a bath. Thankfuly the blanket, quilts were good enough to bit the cold. However, we expected at least a room heater, which was also not available, The free Wi Fi again did not possess the minimum bandwidth to work.

The only positive was probably the better than average food. We were also a part of the New year bash, which were filled with drunkards fighting for drink and purposelly slipping over ladies. Thus we decided to have ou dinner sharp at 10 on a new Year eve and were inside our rooms by 11 PM.

Overall, we were not at all satisfied. Had we not seen some of the snow capped mountains from Lal Tabu, we would not have forgotton our sorrow easily. The nature healed us fast and we decided to move ahead.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    5
    1
    9
See reviews for
38
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

i have been there for 3 months as a tour escort..... good hotel , with best location on end of MALL ROAD, hilly view, nice air flow, good and attentive staff, nice meal. cost worthy............. best bedrooms.......... it jst awesome........

Room Tip: choose valley view on 4th floor.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for 2n/3d.

Pros:
Location: Bang next to Picture Palace Entry Point. Ample Parking Space. Some rooms have good view of the valley (Room 315)
Rooms: Stayed in the new wing and rooms were Ok, but had damp walls (which i guess is expected due to rainy season)
Room Service: Food good and rates reasonable
Hot Water in Bathroom: Ample despite of roaring rains

Cons:
Breakfast: Service Sleepy and not much choice
Restaurant: Come evening and this place turned into a Gamblers Den. People smoking (which is prohibited by law), Drinking and playing cards with huge wands of cash.
Linen: Had ink stains on the bedsheet and quilt, but bed was comfy.
Activity: None at the hotel

Overall stay was enjoyable. But would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012


Awesom place to have a stay in whole mussoorie , enjoyble location excellent staff nice food all u need in your relaxing zone so those who have visited brentwood this year they feel proud including me and others dont miss chance next time . Have fun

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Everything is too good ! Centrally located ,beautiful rooms ,ambience too good, nice view!! Do try it out of this world!! The new section of the hotel is amazing it's beautiful !! XO XO XO nothin like it !?!?

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It was such a wonderful stay with the new Brentwood with excellent food, courteous staff and lovely new rooms. Breathtaking view from the valley facing rooms, nice open area - a breadth of fresh air in Mussoorie.

Room Tip: Valley facing rooms are a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

stayed here very recently .. I opted for ths hotel only because of the fact tht ths hotel hs got good reviews in here.. bt sadly it didn't trun up the way it has been portrayed ovr here by many .. we were group of four families & stayed in brentwood for 2 nights .. we opted for rooms in the old block .. which seems pretty neglected by the hotel administrations .. the rooms wre indeed huge in size, yet the bed sheet was not that clean.. water was constantly leaking from the wash basin's drainage pipe.. the tap itself was hard leaking .. don't think the carpets are vacuumed.. anyways the hotel staff/ppl were nice & service was good .. food was also Ok.. but the hotel needs to work a hell lot ovr the dinning area.. as of now it completely lacks any kind of ambiance & gives a very dull & unwelcoming look .. better to have ur food inside ur room only .. ;-)

Room Tip: hotel's focus is completly over their new block so better get a room in there elseopt for valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
Hotel Madhuban Highlands
#23 of 64 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Sylverton
0.4 mi away
The Pearl -  A Royal Residency
The Pearl - A Royal Residency
#38 of 64 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
1.0 mi away
Ilbert Manor
Ilbert Manor
#7 of 64 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#15 of 64 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brentwood

Address: Picture Palace, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brentwood Hotels and Resorts in Mussoorie, Uttarakhand, India has grown over the past 35 years from a 25 room hotel and a rocking resto-bar in 1973 to 3 hotels with 111 rooms 2 restaurants, conference halls, a camp resort and two swimming pools today. Brentwood's clientelle has been loyal to the company for the past 30 years and will book a full year ahead to ensure availability during the peak season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brentwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.