We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply worth it.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Padmini Nivas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Padmini Nivas to your Saves list
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Library, The Mall,, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply worth it.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Amazing view.. awesome food.. although i was craving for non-veg food...but no complaints...food & services were commendable...

Vikram and team are doing awesome job.. Keep it up...

Dog "Moti" so adorable. The panoramic view from the room with morning sip of tea is the best stress buster. Away from the city noise... We stayed for 02 nights. The lawn in front of the reception, one can sit there for hours and enjoy the view & at night makes you feel like travelling in galaxy of stars...

Will totally recommend...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
172
86
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is definitely value for money,good food,very courtacious staff.Overall good expierience.Ony
draw back is you have to climb very steep road to reach mall Road.This may be difficult for senior citizens to climb this nor it is adviseble.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Excellent heritage property at a TRUE value. Lovely location, splendid staff (Mr. Vikram was very courteous), fabulous food & marvelous MOTI. A must for every body who is nostalgic about the era gone by. We stayed for three nights and it was a peaceful, fulfilling, refreshing and satisfying experience. Hasan

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Padmini Nivas. We were looking for a hotel which had an entry from outside Mall Road and still close enough to Mall Road since we were planning to reach by the evening by when the Mall Road would have closed. We found Padmini Nivas and it suited our budget perfectly. We took the MAP package and had an excellent break. Thanks to Mr. Vikram (manager), Mr. Jain and Mr. Ankush for taking care of all our needs. Also a special thanks for Gyan Singh for serving us all meals and conveying our every small instruction back to the kitchen. The owner of the place (I didn't ask her name - we just called her Aunty) was always welcoming us with a smile and personally asked us a number of times if everything was okay.

Pros
- It is situated on the Mall Road with a parking from the lower side so even if you reach after 4 PM (when Mall Road is closed) you can conveniently park your car downstairs.
- Beautiful property. Has a nice garden and some slides for children.
- Food was excellent and homely.
- It is a Pure Vegetarian and Only eggs are available through a separate kitchen, so suited us perfectly since we are vegetarian.
- Gujarati Food items were outstanding. Do try it once on your trip.
- The bathrooms were very clean and provided a bucket and mug to bathe our toddler
- We were carrying some small things for our son, which required refrigeration and the hotel allowed us to keep it in the kitchen fridge and gave us round the clock access to the fridge.

Cons - Almost none.
- A small thing was that on one of the days the towels kept were a bit dirty but were promptly replaced with new ones.

Will definitely want to go back to Padmini Nivas for our next trip to Mussoorie

Room Tip: We stayed at Room #10. It had an excellent view and was very close to the hotel entrance so didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karwar, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed at Padmini Nivas for 2 nights, and left the hotel with beautiful memories...

150+ year old heritage hotel with beautiful view of Dehradun valley, spread over 5 acres of land. This hotel offers beautiful experience in terms of room quality, vegetarian food(serves eggs on demand) and overall excellent service. Staff are very polite and respond to your calls without any delay irrespective of the time of call.

If you are lucky to get the Room No:10, you can enjoy the beautiful view of valley sipping a cup of ginger tea from the room itself. If not at Room No:10 also, they had made arrangements to get the view from the garden.

Recommends this HERITAGE HOTEL for all groups, specially for family and couples.

Manojkumar
Karwar
Karnataka

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our 4 day stay( 26th March-30th March) at Padmini Nivas was peaceful, enjoyable and memorable indeed. This hotel offers a beautiful experience in terms of room quality, vegetarian food and overall excellent service. Had cups and cups of masala chai and ginger chai overlooking the Doon Valley. The hotel is situated right at the Mall, the most happening place at Mussoorie.
Felt good to meet Mrs Harshada Vohra(owner of the hotel),a warm and caring human being who gave helpful suggestions.Our special thanks to Mr Vikram,Mr Jay,Mr Ankush and each and every staff member who took care of us.
Borkar family,Goa

Room Tip: cottage-room no 11 is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our group took few rooms in this hotel which is located on a prime location in Mussoorie. This hotel is pricey but felt us wanting in many areas.

Hotel rooms are big and have decent view but are not as clean as you expect.
Far too many powercuts. We were given the reason that due to snowfall they have no control, but being a hotel in a hill station..you got to have solution for that.
Powercut cut meant loss of room heating and hot water, that left us in a lurch.

Food was good and staff was polite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worah, General Manager at Hotel Padmini Nivas, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for the comments and appreciate the fact that despite your discomfort with the electricity problem you had no problem with the services provided by us.

Regarding power cuts..it had snowed heavily in Mussoorie this year due to which many electric wires had come down and the electric department tried its best to restore. We on the other hand tried to make our guests as comfortable as possible under the circumstances.

We hope that next time when you are with us, we shall try and make your stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Padmini Nivas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Padmini Nivas

Address: Library, The Mall,, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Padmini Nivas is a heritage property on the Mall road. Located on a ridge it offers a spectacular view of the Doon valley and surrounding hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Padmini Nivas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Padmini Nivas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.