We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent heritage property with old world charm.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Padmini Nivas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Padmini Nivas to your Saves list
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Library, The Mall,, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent heritage property with old world charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great place to unwind, on the mall as well as away from the mall. Very well maintained heritage property.
Very friendly staff, going out of the way to help and make you feel at home. Rooms are well furnished and nicely decorated with fresh flowers.
Well maintained gardens and great view of the Doon valley ,With clouds coming to touch you.
Ample parking space. Play area for kids and indoor as well as outdoor games for adults.
Very relaxed atmosphere. Home cooked fresh and delicious food. Didn't feel like going back home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    113
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
172
85
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ranchi, Jharkhand, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We visited the property in the second week of june ,we stayed in the cottage no 11 .it gave a beautiful view of the hills .the food at the restaurant SURUCHI was the best in town .The staff was very co operative .We checked in the hotel at 8 am they gave us a room to freshen up till our cottage was ready .a special mention to Mr VIKRAM as he takes keen interest to maintain the property .I have visited MUSSOURIE six time in the past but this was the best.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NK2009
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and didn’t really want to go back home after that. As soon as you enter the hotel you get to see magnificent view of the mountains covered with clouds. Most rooms have fantastic views. The staff is very courteous and provides you with all the help you need. The hotel manager Mr. Vikram makes sure to be as accommodating as possible and goes an extra mile to make your stay memorable.
Food is great and if you are a vegetarian you cannot find a better place than this.
Complete value for money hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed in Padmini Niwas for 2 Nights from 21st May 2013 - 23rd May 2013 after going through the reviews in Tripadvisor. The location is great (very near to Mall road) and the rooms are spacious, nice and very well decorated. The garden is very well decorated with full of roses,. The food is delicious and you can get only vegetarian dishes. Though you can get egg but its from separate kitchen. We got everything from the menu whatever we ordered. The bathroom was neat and clean with all Jaguar fittings.The staff was polite, kind and helpful and the room service is exceptional. I would certainly like to visit again and strongly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with Garden facing in the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and 1 day. We had made the booking by Goibibo for 2N&3D, but due to certain issues we could reach there at 11 PM only. They have won our heart at the moment we stepped in. Since it was late so they did not ask for any formalities, we were given Room no.11,the cottage which we had requested them over phone. I do not know where to start from, the Hotel is located at mall road, a heritage property with beautiful flowers all around. The room service is excellent, food is good. Mr. Vikram is a very nice person with good sense of humour. Staffs are co-operative. Room no 11, the cottage , the most ideal for couple, complete privacy with private sit out area, huge room with a big bathroom, complete Maharaja/Maharani type feeling. Only one request, the cottage is awesome but has big windows and the curtains are quite old and smaller in size which is a matter of concern for privacy. We got little time to spent, so planning to visit again. Just loved it.

Room Tip: Go for room no 11-the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

i stayed at this hotel way back in june 2008 and must admit this is one of the best place to stay at mussorrie. the cottage suite in this hotelis just amazing. located at mall road this hotel gives some lovely view of the hills.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After going through all the good reviews, I booked a room for 3N stay in Padmini Nivas, 5 weeks in advance through Goibibo and paid full amount. Before the booking, I had called up the Padmini Nivas manager to confirm the room availability. On getting the confirmation, I booked through Goibibo as I was getting a 20% discount. After booking, I forwarded the automated hotel confirmation email received from Goibibo to Padmini Nivas. I did not got any response from them.

Just 1 week before my travel, I get a phone call from Goibibo informing that the hotel room is not available and they would try to accommodate me in some other hotel. I told them that I spent lot of time researching on the hotels before deciding on Padmini Nivas and I had also checked on room availability before booking. I wrote an email to Goibibo management about this. For next 2 days, Goibibo team and Padmini Nivas were working in background to resolve the matter. And finally I was told that Padmini Nivas has made a room available room. After reaching Padmini Nivas, I inquired about this issue. I was told that though I had made full payment to Goibibo during the booking, the same was not transferred to Padmini Nivas. Hence they did not confirmed my booking. Hence lesson learnt was when you book from online travel portals, you should get it confirmed from the hotel and do the same again before you start your journey.

Talking about the hotel. I stayed with my family in Padmini Nivas from 11th-14th May. Good things about the hotel:
Location: The location is such that one gets a complete view of the valley. Unfortunately, I was given a non-valley facing room hence could not get to view the same from room. They have nice seating arrangement in the garden area from where you can spend good time enjoying the valley view. It is situated just 50 meters from the mall road, 100 meters from camels back road and yet away from the crowd as it is not on the mall road.
Entry/Exit for Vehicles: They have a separate entry/exit for cars directly from the road that connects to mall road. Thereby saving the hassles and taxes of using the mall road. They have parking facility and drivers room.
Rooms: Rooms were pretty big in size. Hence very comfortable. Rooms were clean. Cleanliness in toilets/bathrooms should be improved.
Room Service: Room service was good. Things/food were delivered in reasonable time when asked for.
Food: They have a good old british style restaurant. I was little disappointed with food. They don't have a good variety, The same menu was repeated on 2nd day with just a 1-2 changes. Hence we did not eat food on 2nd and 3rd day in hotel. We went to mall road restaurants. Considering they charge almost 800-900 per day per person for 3 times food, they should keep a good variety. Pure gujarati vegetarians may like the food. Others will like it once only.
Medicine: We needed Moov cream. Hotel said they do not have first aid box. Luckily mall road was near. So I bought it from outside.

So apart from the initial booking hassle, overall stay was comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for valley facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Padmini Nivas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Padmini Nivas

Address: Library, The Mall,, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Padmini Nivas is a heritage property on the Mall road. Located on a ridge it offers a spectacular view of the Doon valley and surrounding hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Padmini Nivas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Padmini Nivas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.