We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay in a heritage resort....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Padmini Nivas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Library, The Mall,, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 62 hotels in Mussoorie
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent stay in a heritage resort....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went as 2 families for 3 nights/4 days between 29 Sept and 2 Oct. The resort is beautiful and has been maintained very well. There are all the modern day facilities like running hot water, TV etc etc...but despite all this, it has retained its quintessential charm of the era when it was built (during the Britishers). The staff is diligent, warm, friendly and very helpful. They will go an extra mile to keep their guests in comfort. The management, under the able guidance of Mrs. Worah and Mr. Vikram Zutshi, are friendly and interact with the guests and also recommend places of interest. The gardens spread across the entire area are absolutely breathtaking and neatly kept. We have been staying here for the past 12 years whenever we visit Mussorrie and are never disappointed!! The food, eventhough pure vegetarian, is fresh and piping hot and is delicious across all cuisines. The macaroni cheese is to die-for.....Overall, an excellent experience as always and good value for money!!! A home away from home...

Room Tip: try for room no.3 or 5.....excellent size..good value for money..opens into a garden overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    90
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
154
73
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at this place for 2 days with family and key motivation for booking this place well in advance was the positive feedback i saw on this forum.
But i felt extremely disappointed with my choice. This place does not stand anywhere near to reviews it has got. You must doom your expectation to hell to enjoy it.

Tidy noisy rooms lacking ventilation, bad service, use of children area as parking bay - there is no limit to the such illustrations.
The only silver lining was the food - Good Indeed.

Will NEVER-EVER go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Positive reviews at TripAdvisor made me choose Hotel Padmini Nivas for 1N stay with my spouse and kid. We checked in on Aug 13, 2012 and checked out the next day. As it was off season we got the booking at quite economical tariff.

We stayed in a deluxe room (No. 7) which was spacious enough for us. Our room was well kept and offered amazing view of Doon Valley. The sit out area near the main entrance is quite relaxing and have few rides and swings for kids to enjoy. Hotel has a Games room and Plant nursery which we couldn’t visit due to intermittent rains and our short stay.

Suruchi Restaurant of the hotel offers mouth watering food. As a tourist one misses homemade Tawa chappati but not when you are in this royal estate. Dinner was surprisingly good and for breakfast we were suggested ‘Dal Ka Chilla’ which was quite tasty and we would recommend it to all.

All the staffers at hotel are courteous and would go extra mile to make guests feel at home. We requested for a glass of milk for our kid at 6 AM and we got it at 6.15 AM although the kitchen opens at 7. This courtesy I have never experienced in any of the hotels I had stayed before. I would like to thank Mr. Vikram, Mr. Manish and their fellow staffers for the hospitality.

For our next visit we would like to stay at Hotel Padmini Nivas for a longer period but we will prefer to stay in some other room as with a small kid it’s difficult to climb stairs again and again.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe rooms having Doon Valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nyts 4 days. Overall it is good hotel. Old Property and well maintained. Services were excellent.. Staff was friendly and co-operating.
Nice Well maintained Garden.

We enjoyed our Stay and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was my second trip to mussoorie. The first time I had been there with family on the recommendation of a friend, but this time on my vaccation, it was practically this place that made me do that extra effort to come to Mussoorie. The garden is in full bloom... beautiful flowers and the decor of the rooms and the suite was exquisite and very tastefully done. Staff here is so warm and helpful.. they do recognize you and welcome you from their hearts. Money is well spent and efforts are worthwhile .... Love this place. Being from the State of the most lavish and exquisite holiday resorts Rajasthan.. Padmini Nivas is what I personally found to be just perfect for someone who enjoys and cherishes a quiet and serene time ... :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Heritage property near library mall road

Has more space around rooms, beautiful garden.

Location excellent

In mussorie noise pollution is everywhere

Buses,taxi,car sound till evening

Food is pure veg

Staff very co operative

Room Tip: Choose rooms with valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First view of the hotel might not overwhelm you but as you spend time here then you would realise the overall quality of the place and its surroundings.
As told in all the reviews, this is a heritage property. The Managers of the place are quite courteous. The food is excellent. The stuffed paranthas were great. The surroundings are very well mailtained. The facilities include an indoor play area, which can be used if needed. The hotel is easily accessible from the Main Mall road.
Also the view from the hotel is great. We went in the monsoon season hence there was not much oppurtunity for catching any good views however whatever we saw was very promising. Hotel website does not have booking capabilities however you can call them and get a confirmed booking by depositing an agreed amount in their account. They accept credit card for Room Rent only. Any expenses on food, etc would have to be settled in cash.
Definately a place where i would return...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Padmini Nivas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Padmini Nivas

Address: Library, The Mall,, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Padmini Nivas is a heritage property on the Mall road. Located on a ridge it offers a spectacular view of the Doon valley and surrounding hills. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Padmini Nivas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Padmini Nivas to your Saves list