We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashoka truly means "A shocker!!!".” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ashoka Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ashoka Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Ashoka Continental
Library, The Mall, Mussoorie 248 179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ashoka truly means "A shocker!!!".”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Ashoka for 4 nights in February 2011.

The only reason we did not move to another hotel is because I had already booked the hotel by credit card for 4 nights. We were so tired after travelling in India for 4 months and had too much luggage to move yet again with 2 children. Very disappointing, this was our last stay in India before our long trip home.

The name Ashoka truly means " A Shoka" eg. A shocker, if you are a western traveller you will definitely will not be happy. We have stayed in many hotels but this the worst.

A few bad points are listed below:

1. When we arrived the Manager was rude and unhelpful.

2. The television was unwatchable due to poor reception.
BUT even worse, there was no plug on the end of the power cord,
they just stuck the wires into the powerpoint, nice and safe for children.

3. The website said that it had a mini bar and a safe for valuables in the room, it had neither.
When I asked the manager if I could get both he said he replied very rudely and without eye contact
while he was sitting in the foyer with his mates "not possible, take it up with reservations".

4. The bed sheets were dirty and the blankets also. The towels were the colour white about 5 years ago.

5. The toilet window was covered up with news paper.

6. There was air conditioner, but the same as the tv, there was no power plug, only exposed wiring.
Also there was no power to the air conditioner between the hours of 6-9pm, I tested the powerpoint at 10.30pm and it still was not working.
I am so glad that it was cold in New Delhi at the time, but I need the power point as only the tv power point stayed on permanently.

7. Hot water was only available between 5am - 10am, we were offered a bucket of hot water,
but then someone came up to the room they said that it was "not possible".
I don't mind taking cold shower in summer, but it was very cold in Delhi when we were there.

8. We were charged for breakfast even though on the website is said that breakfast was included in the price (We even asked which breakfast was free and were told what we could order).
We were charged for five breakfasts even though we were only there for 3 mornings.
We were charged for two American breakfast which we did not order. What was really funny was that the American breakfasts
included fruit which was not available in the restaurant at the hotel.

9. Ordered a chi tea and the container was black from mould.

10. Paint was peeling of the walls.

11. The pictures on the website are actual, but must have been taken when the hotel was built 10 years ago. One regret is i did not take any photos to show how the room looked.

12. Light and fan switches were unique, If you turned on the light a fan would come on also,
and depending on which switch you turned on, would result in a different combination of lights and fans.

13. I wish I had read the review from the link below, before I proceeded to book the hotel, because it is exactly as it says.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g297689-d735943-r67546878-Hotel_Ashoka_Continental-Mussoorie_Uttarakhand.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

14. One positive, there were two young boys who were always ready to help carry luggage.

I hope this review helps.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Hotel building is look pretty old and not maintained properly. Cleaniness is very poor in hotel. No good feeling living there. The only plus point is location. Also staff is very cooperative.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I had very bad experience in this hotel. I was leading the student group of 40 from Durban. We have booked the hotel after watching its website. We visited this hotel on 23rd March 2010 for 02 Nights. The moment we entered the rooms, rooms were horrible, bed sheets were dirty, bathroom leakage, not properly painted walls, bad smelling carpets. Food quality was not even good. Televisions were not even properly working. Fellow group members were not even ready take breakfast. The owner mr. harcharan singh however committed us the well furnished rooms before our visit and recommended us that many foreigners visit our hotel.
The commitments were shattered. We hardly managed to stay there for 01 night only. Next day in the morning we left for another nearby hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANIPAT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Hotel Ashoka Continental, Mussoorie is located in the center of the city. In fact its location in addition with exclusive facilities and services make it one of the best economy hotels in Mussoorie. Here both business and pleasure travelers find immense relief and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikaspuri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

I stayed here with my wife and 5 yrs old kid. (14 to 16 March, 2010). Hotel is neat and clean, View from balcony is beautiful. Entry is from Mall Road and Hotel is almost ON the Mall Road. Entry point is really narrow, but my car passed from there easily. Hotel has ample Parking space. Staff is very decent and helpful. Food is good. I will stay there again when I visit Mussoorie again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Hotel is just situated on the mall at library side. Entry point of the hotel is narrow but any car can go inside and hotel has a spacious car parking at lobby level. Rooms are spacious, overall a good hotel to stay in mussoorie. Food served in hotel is good.

  • Liked — It's Location & Car Park
  • Disliked — s
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Hotel was on main mall.Entry was very narrow but with adequate parking space.Needs some renovation and some repair work in the hotel.Room was very cosy otherwise.Food was good and staff cordial.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ashoka Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ashoka Continental

Address: Library, The Mall, Mussoorie 248 179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ashoka Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ashoka Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.