We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is fantastic thats all we could say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune The Savoy

Save Saved
You added Fortune The Savoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortune The Savoy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Library Bazar, Gandhi Chowk, Mussoorie 248 179, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 62 hotels in Mussoorie
1 review
“It is fantastic thats all we could say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

if u want a typical british architecture experience u should go and stay at savoy it is amazingly good I loved the food loved the atmosphere there it was min boggling thats all Truly luxury experience thats allll

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep J, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr Anshul Chawla ,

Greetings from Fortune The Savoy..!
At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards,

Sandeep Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
18
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Of all the hotels I have been this is the best experience I have had..be it in terms of hospitality, the rooms, the ever smiling waiters and the food. When I had planned to stay in Savoy i wasnt sure that i would fall in love with the place. After arriving in the evening I was escorted to the room with a welcome drink, Trust me felt like a queen! The suite room had the ROYAL feel in it. Loved the ambiance where you can come and chill with your family and friends. The recreation room is a fun for those who want to play Pool, Air Hockey, Fooseball (just loved it) and many other games!
They Hi-Tea which they serve is just magnificent and delicious. There is a live singer at the dinner in the huge dining hall where one can go and place requests. (He sings too well..but you have to hear him to know what I mean)
The best thing I liked about the hotel is that the staffs are very courteous and ever smiling.
One more unique feature which i found here was one doesnt have to wait for hot water to come (like you have to switch on the geyser and wait for sometime). Just open the tap and warm water comes. Overall a mindblowing experience. A suggestion- Do stay to feel what exactly I have felt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep J, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Ms.Sneha

Greetings from Fortune The Savoy..!
At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards,

Sandeep Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roorkee, Uttarakhand, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It's a lovely Hotel situated at Mall Road end. Being Hills and that to congested with Small Roads & heavy crowd, it's entrance is very nice, just near to the Mall Road Chowk. Gives a superb sight seeing of Mussoorie Hills & Dehradun. The ambiance and Food is simply excellent. Rooms are well built with all the facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on down floor are more comfortable and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep J, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr.Kailash Bisht ,

Greetings from Fortune The Savoy..!
At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards,

Sandeep Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is huge Property now taken over by Foirtune Group. Though it was their first operational season, I understand that they must be facing some glitches. However stay was good except some issues in service. Location is much good than Jaypee. Spacious Rooms, Huge bar and coffee shop. Liked it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep J, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jatinder ji ,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice.

While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you that I am investigating the causes for me to personally address. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services.

At Fortune The Savoy it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.


Regards,

Sandeep Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

stayed in suite in this hotel with family for two nights. On 10 June 2013 morning there was no hot water in bathroom. At 10 PM there was no water at all in washroom. On complaining water service was restored in 40 minutes. Again there was no water at 4 AM and at 8AM on 11 June 2013.

It is not my nature to fight with management for discounts and refund. It was neither asked nor offered.

I can accept service flaws. However after paying Rs. 15,000 per night, no water in washroom cannot be accepted. Water in washroom in no luxury, it necessity and is provided by budget hotels also.

Room Tip: Recommended only for people having extraordinary capability to live without water in wash room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep J, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Nitin Narang ,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice. I am indeed distressed to know of your recent experience at
Fortune The Savoy.

While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services. The water supply problem was addressed and rectified and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.

It was a pleasure to speak with you on phone and at Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.


Regards,

Sandeep joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Many say that paradise does not exist on Earth. I however, beg to differ, as The Savoy is one such hotel which gives fruition to the fact that paradise does exist on Earth. Built in a English Gothic architecture, the hotel reminds you of the 1900s. And why not, because the hotel was built in 1902!This is a huge heritage hotel with acres of lawns and huge Deodar trees .Two of them are more than 300+years old.
The hotel has a lot of 1902 furniture still preserved, and the almirahs in the Suites are the same ones which were installed in the hotel in 1902.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in such a place. The hotel has a huge compound with lush green grass, and sculptures of women at the corners. It also has a Gym room, with state of the art machines like treadmills etc. There are three classes of rooms- the Chamber rooms (standard rooms), the Exclusive Rooms (bigger rooms with a better view of the valley), and the Suite Rooms (The biggest rooms, each comprising of four rooms- The living room, bedroom, the powder room and the washroom).
The spread of the buffet menu is amazingly sumptuous, and extraordinarily delicious. There are more than 14 varieties of dessert, and a wide array of Vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes. The spread is a combination of the typical Indian, American, European and Asian foods.
Talking about entertainment, the hotel has a dedicated room where there is a pool table, air hockey, table football, carrom boards, chess boards and a lot more. The whole hotel is centrally air conditioned, and the decor is amazingly well preserved, the staircases of wood dating back to 1902, but still looking as new as ever. There is a bar as well, for the connoisseurs of good alcohol. What's more, this bar is a favourite of Ruskin Bond, the author that you might have heard of! If you are lucky, you might actually see him sipping on some fine Red Wine inside the Nostradamus bar!
The only complaint that we have with the hotel is that there is no swimming pool. The hotel scores a 5 on 5 in every other area from my side.
Talking about value for money, the hotel does tend to be slightly on the higher side, as my stay in a suite room for 2nights 3 days days amounted to 42,000+ INR, though the services offered by the hotel made it absolutely worth it. My breakfast, high tea, and dinner buffet were included in the aforementioned price.

On the whole, if the cost is not a big deal for you, you should definitely stay here for a few days, as the stay is absolutely worth every single penny spent!

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep J, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Ms. Rima P ,

Greetings from Fortune The Savoy..!
At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards,

Sandeep Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visited the savoy recently with family. the moment you see it from the front you are in an awe ! It looks exactly ( I mean it) the same old n famous savoy except it has been reincarnated after 111 years in its present youthful charm, green lawns , blooming flowers, humming fountains , colonial furniture with all modern amenities centrally airconditioned, great views all around ! . Ever smiling staff that is happy to help always ! Great Dining experience in the grand dining hall. No wonder so many dignitories and celebrities have stayed here in the past. Go......... live an experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeep J, General Manager at Fortune The Savoy, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Bhuvnesh Gaur ,

Greetings from Fortune The Savoy..!
At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mussoorie.

I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.

At Fortune The Savoy, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Fortune The Savoy and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards,

Sandeep Joshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortune The Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune The Savoy

Address: Library Bazar, Gandhi Chowk, Mussoorie 248 179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune The Savoy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The British have always needed their summer holiday resorts, and Mussoorie, like other hill-stations in India, was almost entirely an invention of the British. While Shimla became the summer capital of British India, Mussoorie became its pleasure capital. Located 34 km from Dehradun at an altitude of 2500 metres above sea level in the beautiful Gharwal Hills, it is one of the most frequently visited hill stations in India as it provides the perfect getaway to those who want relief from the hot, sultry conditions of the plains, especially since it is close enough to the capital to make just a weekend trip.Swirled in the mist of time, Fortune The Savoy is an elegant and historic hotel that was opened by Cecil D. Lincoln, an Irish barrister, here in 1902. Built in English Gothic architecture style and spread over 11 acres, Fortune The Savoy is a wonderful mix of old world charm and new-age conveniences, and promises to give its guests an unparalleled experience. With a regal history of more than a hundred years, the hotel has been delighting famous dignitaries and royalties from India and abroad with its heart-warming services and all the appurtenances of luxury. It is a place that has inspired famous authors and playwrights. Its 'Writer's Bar' remained famous for many decades after the independence of India in 1947. In April 2001, the hotel hosted its first writer's retreat, followed by another one in 2002, which included writers, academics, film-makers and people from other walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fortune The Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune The Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.