We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carltons Plaisance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carltons Plaisance to your Saves list
Carltons Plaisance
Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy | Happy Valley Road, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Delhi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“terrible rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Charming Mrs Singh promised elegance, atmosphere, and personalized service over the phone but insisted on 100% advance. No wonder. Nobody who set foot in this place would stay if they didnt stand to lose a lot of money. The place may have been charming a hundred years ago, but not now. The garden is weedy, the living room with its good furniture and period pieces is locked, the rooms are freezing with inadequate tiny heaters produced grudgingly by the staff. Our group needed, and paid for four bedrooms. We found we had three bedrooms, all shabby, and one alcove that was part of the pantry screened off with a line of closets. And we had paid the same rate for this 'room.' One family left after a day, foregoing their money, so we got a proper room to sleep in on the second night but I was deeply deeply embarrassed for having chosen this place by trusting online reviews.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    9
    4
    17
See reviews for
51
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

I love it! First of all, the most available parking in all of Mussoorie! I hate having to park in the Mall, or the Library.
Second - its so relaxed and charming. No having to hear cars honking, music playing, all night long. If you want noise, its a 5-minute car ride, or 15 minute walk away. But if you want to come to Mussoorie to relax, I can't think of a better place.
Third - no kidding here, literally the best food I've had in two years! Everything was amazing!
Fourth - the rooms were huge, and I mean humongous! A normal hotel could have a full room in just their bathrooms. The place is 100 - 150 years old, so it isn't brand spanking new. But it is amazingly charming - the kind of feeling you want in a hillstation hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

This is a hard one...the Charlton Plaisance is a old Colonial family house, it has an old world feel with memories of the british time in this facinating Hill Top Station. I booked direct through their own website which was informative and gave an accurate description. I contacted the owners Mr and Mrs Anu Singh on several occasions by email, I cannot fault the help, advice, and friendliness in their replies. They arranged the taxi from Derha Dun, at a very good price, a meal on arrival, and great conversations with Mr Singh. It is fair to say that the Charlton Plaisance has seen better days, it is in need of maintenance. But the ambiance, charm and charisma of this quaint small hotel is perfect and clean. We stayed there in January 2007 for 4 nights. At night it was very cold and no heating. They was no hot shower water, a typical bucket to fill, but this is india. Mr Singh did warn me and advised us to bring plenty of warm clothes, every night firewood was supplied and lit by the two staff, and additional electric heaters, hot water bottles (at no extra cost) as there were no other guests they served dinner in our room next to the roaring fire, it was great.

The food was differant every night and very good, the meals were authentic home cooked Indian and tasted great. The two waiters/staff come handyman could not have been more attentive and helpful, every need was catered for. The owner, Mr Singh owns a beautiful St Bernard dog which played in the garden. We really enjoyed our stay at the Charlton Plaisance. Yes the place is abit tired but we could not fault the service, attentivness of the staff and the friendly conversation with Mr Singh. As with alot of places in India, look beyond the obvious faults and cracks and enjoy the place for what it is. The summer months when the garden is in full bloom must be beutiful, must go back and see.....Recommended wholeheartedly.

  • Liked — The friendly
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2006

I had a truly AMAZING stay at the Carlton's Plaisance! When I go to India, I want to see the old world charm, and experience history - both of which I got in spades at the Carlton.
The cooks are very, very good - talk to the owners about your taste preferences; you will be pleasantly surprised every meal.

The one thing I wished for was more rain - I went to experience an Indian Monsoon in the hills. Unfortunately, the rains came a bit later this year.

  • Liked — Amazing sense of history, huge rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the Bread Pudding for dessert!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

We have been travelling to mussorie quite often since last 3 yrs ..and this time in Septembe 2006 we thought to venture out of the city crwd and all the juggles..searching for a gud location , we zeored in on Carlton's plasainace ..and talked to the owner Ms Anu Singh...she assured us of all the best service and ambience and room..and going by her gentle words we paid advance and booked the hotel..

Although it was a shoulder season the Service was pathetic..infact terrible..the waiters were ill behaved..n didnt know any descency..to talk..they were rude infact...and you would be charged for even an extra chapati out of your package..i.t we had a EP plan package..Breakfast + Dinner..and for 2 of us the hotel served only 4 filthy parathas..and when we asked for 1 paratha more they added it to the bill..

The room is filled with spiders and other insects ..very unsafe for chilodren..and they would even charge heavily for the driver's rest room..

Its not worth staying a place..Loss for any money u spend at this property..very badly managed..
Advise NEVER to visit CARLTON"S PLASSAINCE ..

  • Liked — Nothing was good infact..there are better properties around this same place
  • Disliked — The Service,False Commitments, Food,Ambience,room Decor,Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Never visit this hotel..its a nightmarish eperience
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carltons Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carltons Plaisance

Address: Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy | Happy Valley Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Carltons Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carltons Plaisance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.