We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carltons Plaisance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Carltons Plaisance to your Saves list
Carltons Plaisance
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy | Happy Valley Road, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vintage holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is far away from the madness of Mussorrie and is beautiful and tranquil we loved our stay there and the owner Anu made us feel so much at home. Also loved the fact that we stayed in the main building so it was like living in someones house.

Room Tip: Choose the suite in the main section of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    8
    4
    15
See reviews for
47
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is one of finest places i have been to ,the place has a nice feel about it. The vintage style and royal architecture makes the place even better. Since my childhood i have been here so many times and it never stops to amaze me with its beauty. The staff people are really caring with nice service . The temple above the hotel is also really nice . The garden is too beautiful golden in summers and snow white in the winters . I remember each and every place of the hotel and it makes me smile .

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level are really nice as they face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous building. However the impression one gets it that the owners have decided get as much money out of it ,and have absolutely no interested in running it. My views

1. Poor upkeep and maintenance: Peeling paint, insects, open naked wires are some examples. The bed linen was bad, the sofas were stained with food, the carpet was threadbare in the room.

2. The service: They have around 7 people who do everything from cook the food to clean the room. No property manager seem to be around, The fabled personal touch( which has been talked of in the reviews) was not present, The only time I saw Ms Anu Singh was was 2 minutes , and all she wanted was a good tripadvisor review. It took ages to get anything done.

3. The Food. Terrible to taste. Overpriced( a watery panner palak for 210). They dont have a cook it seems, The same guys cleaning the rooms seem to be making the food,...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anuajit, Owner at Carltons Plaisance, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear IndianNike,
Thank you for your review.
We will use it to better ourselves.

As you may have noticed that the Carlton Plaisance is a heritage hotel and a building so old needs constant maintenance and repairs to keep it grand. I am sorry that you got the impression that the property was not been looked after. We give out only 9 rooms in the spacious property as we don't want to ruin the beauty of the building.

The time you stayed with us, we had just undergone a heavy spell of rains and as a result of the moisture, it is possible that there could be places where the paint swells and appears to be breaking, but this is repaired every year as a routine.

We have a 5 acre property, the largest flat land in Mussorie and with so many trees and foliage, you are bound to see insects, in addition to butterflies, and birds.

Our linen is one of the best offered in Mussorie and it is washed and air dried every 3 days, whether a room is occupied or not. The sofas are regularly cleaned, vaccumed and sunned to avoid any smells, stains and to check for tears whatsoever.

Carpets in the rooms are again taken care of and are expensive carpets that we change every 5 years, I do not know how you thought them to be threadbare. These are wall to wall carpets, with throw rugs to prevent the carpet from getting soiled with dirty shoes, during rainy season, which is when you visited us.

We are a boutique hotel and run on a smaller staff team as compared to a 5 star and that is one of the primary reason we are visited by all kinds of guests, from college students to honeymooners to foreigners.

Our staff is efficient and takes care of every need of our guests, and the staff when asked for something by the guest, try and provide the same. I suppose their earnestness of helping make your stay comfortable, you thought to be mismanaged staff.

I, Anu Singh, remember having a chat with you and your wife during your stay to ask you if you if you were comfortable and well looked after. We try and give our guests their privacy and space, while on vacation and so talk only minimal, giving them more time to themselves, something that is a luxury in todays world.

We are known for our food and people from as far as Dehradun come over to Plaisance, just to have a good meal. I don't know why you felt the food was not good. Our prices are clearly mentioned on our menus and every guest knows what they are ordering and how much for. How can a hotel run without a cook, its like saying we are flying a plane without a pilot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

carltrons plaisance gv me and my frnd a wounderful memory . and the hospitaily. no word .it takes u back in the vintage time. the room were so beautyful . the food wear osm .the owner have great care to preserve and display its antiques .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Carltons tucked away in the greenest part of Mussoorie with a beautiful vista and a panoramic view of the snow peaked Himalyas, is a home away from home. It has an old world charm befitting its heritage and the owners have taken great care to preserve and display its antiques in a warm and cheerful ambience.
The rooms are beautiful with old world furniture and spotless clean modern bathrooms. The garden is a riot of colours in the summer and in winters the snow give the place a charming hue.
The food is hearty and delicious- they cook to cater to your taste- whether it is continental or Awadhi, Carlton provides the best!!
it is a pleasure to wake up each morning to the chirping of birds and faint smell of pine trees. The couple who runs the Hotel like an extended family guest house are warm and caring and extremely sensitive to their guests needs. I rate the Carlton Excellent!!
Rajni Sekhri Sibal IAS

Room Tip: Select a room with a view- facing East, The morning tea in the veranda allows one to see the sun com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I write to thank the owners and entire staff of the Carltons Plaisance for the WONDERFUL STAY experienced by me and my two sons, John and Brian. To begin, the physical setting of the Hotel is lovely with good views, great walks in the foothills and just a short walk to the picturesque town of Mussoorie; no wonder the Carltons Plaisance and Mussoorie are a favorite of honeymooners! The decor and ample private rooms and baths and the public rooms at the Carlton give a sense of staying in a large "family home" rather than a "hotel." with that feeling complemented by the friendly and helpful attitude of the entire staff. (I especially liked the drawing room with the "trophies" and most especially the dining room with the large table that made all guests feel like we were a "family" enjoying our meals together. This atmosphere resulted in great group conversation, pen-pal friendships among guests and some trips together to northern India while we were there.) Likewise with the food: it was always great: authentic Indian dishes, ample servings, special requests at times. Everthing was reasonably priced for the value received. All in all, my boys and I hope to return to the Carltons Plaisance one day soon if we ever are fortunate again to visit India (we will bring other family and friends if they can join us). Again: thanks, thanks, thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Carlton Plaisance- On the Kempty Falls road..is an amazing place! A heady combination of old-world charm and grace, beautifully kept! A hospitable and friendly staff, and gracious owners..with spotlessly clean and comfortable suites- the resort is a must-visit place for everyone with a taste for classy comfort, historical charm , delicious cuisine and reasonable rates.

I was hooked from the very first time I stayed here and it has become my favourite place in all of Mussoorie! Both the continental cuisine and Indian curries and vegetables are mouth-watering and fresh. The beds are so soft..its like sleeping on clouds:-) I love the place!

Room Tip: "Ground floor suite of two bedrooms with a living 'n dining room is the best!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carltons Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carltons Plaisance

Address: Near the L.B.S.N.A Academy | Happy Valley Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carltons Plaisance 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Carltons Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carltons Plaisance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.