We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is what I call Vintage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokeby Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rokeby Manor to your Saves list
Rokeby Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Now this is what I call Vintage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me, my wife and kids had heard a lot of good things about this place, so we went there for dinner. I was surprised to see the finesse and standard of the whole property, right from the location, decor, courteous staff and that real home like feeling.
Zzzzzz Zzzzzz Zzzzzzz
Oh sorry I think I just dosed off n started dreaming of that cute little terrace where we had our one best meals. Food was of international standards and my compliments to the chef and the owners who managed to provide these recipes in so far fetched location, which many good restaurants in Delhi only dream of serving.
Well I was not able to get any reservations to stay so I wont be able to help you on that. But yes for sure its vintage and classy.

Room Tip: Check out pics on website to choose a room. All the rooms are unique in its own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and meal and we look forward to accommodate you next time you visit us.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    42
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
63
31
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I highly recommend staying at Rokeby Manor. I traveled to Mussoorie to meet up with friends. The hotel itself is beautiful, staff is friendly, and it is outside the chaos of the city. I use a manual wheelchair and the first floor Rose Suite worked out well (though not perfect). There are 1 to 2 inch bumps into the front entrance, the front door must be held open (not pushed through), the bed is about 30" high, and the hill leading up to the entrance would be a bear for the strongest chair user. But this is India, so you can't expect ADA facilities. The restaurant, Emily's, is on the second floor, but they were willing to deliver to the garden or the room (I was also also carried up the stairs three times). The food is wonderful and very reasonably priced. The roads in the area are paved, so pushing in the area is do-able. But Mussoorie is called a "hill station" for a reason. Taking a taxi is a must to go into town. Overall, I highly recommend staying at Rokeby Manor. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay wonderful!

Room Tip: Rose Suite is fairly wheelchair accessible, although more expensive than the other rooms on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will work on making at least one room wheelchair friendly.
We hope to see yo again soon.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the cabin with family as part of a larger group attending a wedding in the Highlands. Rooms were large,clean and beautiful. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Emily's was a great place to eat and the wait staff were attentive. Had a great barbecue in the courtyard of the cabin one evening with about 25 of the wedding guests. Food was great and it was a great place to have a party. Wedding and reception were beautiful. Kudos to the garden staff for helping us transform the wedding area into a flower garden. Thanks to all of the staff for being so helpful, especially Santhomjy (hope I spelled his name correctly) and making our stay in the mountains a once in a lifetime experience!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We were delighted to have you all stay with us and we are so glad that the wedding went so well and everyone enjoyed the event. We assure you that it was our duty and aim to attend to everyone's needs and comfort.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our trip, attending our daughters graduation from the Woodstock school. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the quality is excellent and the restaurant is fantastic. The staff work hard and the location is stunning. The ONLY gripe is how loud it is. Our room is right off the lobby, and we hear everything. There is a sitting area with a tv in the lobby and it is so loud. We have earplugs but despite that I have repeatedly had to ask both the staff and other guests to be more considerate late at night as we are trying to sleep. Perhaps at a less busy time if year or a different room, but I would have trouble staying here again because of the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Congratulations to your daughter on her graduation!

We appreciate your review and comments. You stayed with us when the manor was completely full and it tends to get loud sometimes, although it sounds like it was much louder than usual from your description. We shall look into how we can control this aspect and make it less noisy.

Warm regards from all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fantastic aesthetics, felt as if I was in Europe. The trip to mussorie can't be complete without visiting Rokeby Manor. Must be the best hotel I visited in India, no useless extravangance... just perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
So glad you enjoyed Rokeby as much as we do. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for a day at Rokeby Manor. I can summarize my experience as follows:

Good Points:
1. Peaceful place with some great views of the valley below
2. The ambience was great and staff was helpful
3. The rooms were cozy
4. Breakfast was a feast. The person who served breakfast carried a smile all the time and that is always comforting for a tourist.

Improvements:
1. The rooms were a little stale
2. Price was higher than what I have seen in similar places around the world. We were planning to extend our trip but did not because of the price

Room Tip: We stayed in Rustic cabins. Room no. 8 was better than the one adjacent to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your honesty. In the future, we can always work out a more affordable deal for your stay.

Best wishes till we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyd
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Rokeby hit us a surprise. We had booked the hotel through reading reviews but were not too optimistic. It was love at first sight. We loved it immediately for its ambiance, decor and comfortable setting. The room given to us was very homely yet had everything luxurious. The lounge area was our favourite and we loved it so much that we did not feel like going out in boring Mussorie. It had a huge collection of books which made us glued to that place. Emily's their restaurant was exceptional. Its lasagne as well as Indian food were relished by my entire family. We wanted to sit in every corner of Emily's and enjoy the experience. Beautiful colours and lovely decor made every meal a pleasure. The service at front desk was very polite and helpful.If we ever return to Mussorie it will be only for a stay at Rokeby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rokeby and we look forward to have you with us again.

Warm regards from all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rokeby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokeby Manor

Address: Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rokeby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rokeby was built in 1840 by Captain G.N. Cauthy and is one of the landmarks of Landour. The house and two acre estate are situated slightly above and to the east of St. Paul's Church and the old cantonment parade ground, which is now Char Dukan. Like many houses in Mussoorie, its name is taken from the writings of Sir Walter Scott, whose book-length poem describes heroic battles near the original Rokeby Castle in England. Methodist missionaries continued to operate the property as a guest house throughout the rest of the 20th century. Today, Rokeby has been carefully restored to its original glory. This heritage building is resplendent with character in its elaborate brick arches and niches, intricate stone walls, real wood floors and beams, and cosy fireplaces. Nestled in the foothills of the Himalayas, the traditions of bygone years – where colonial officers, renegade soldiers of fortune and pious miss saibs lived under one roof – can still be felt. An air of mystery beckons visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rokeby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokeby Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.