We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic experience !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rokeby Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rokeby Manor to your Saves list
Rokeby Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

we went there to have dinner to celebrate a relative's birthday..the place is so beautiful!..hard to express in words ! beautiful interiors,great rooms,and also the quality of food was perfect(must try the nachos with salsa dip!)..its a great place to go with family..!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Your review is much appreciated and we shall continue to work on making every experience a memorable one. Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    46
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
70
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were a party of 8 who climbed up to Rokeby's for lunch. The location is beautiful . We were starved after the long climb up. The service for lunch was very slow . Nobody seemed very concerned and many things on the menu were not available. The food, when it finally did come, was rather average. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We always value our guest’s reviews and opinions, be it negative or positive, and we deeply believe that the feedback we get can only help us become better.

The service might have been slow due to the place being busy at the time that you were served lunch and we do apologize for any inconvenience caused. As for the point that many items were not available, our belief is that only one item was not available that day and that was the desert you chose to order. Our deserts are freshly prepared on daily basis in our own kitchen and sometimes we do run out of a certain item if the number of guests exceeds our projections for that particular day.

Although, our Chef attended to your table in person … no negative comments about the food were made to him at the time in order to rectify.

In all cases, we shall strive to give you a much better experience the next time you visit us and I encourage you to communicate with the management at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The owner normally takes the place over and although he opens it up for business starting Jan 3, 2013, he and his own guests think they own the place while the paying guest have to watch for themselves.

For example, the owner and his guests can order Tea in the main lounge area in front of the fire place but when I ordered a Tea there they said they dont serve hotel guests in that area.

All in all not equipped for service and food freshness quality for off peak times like January 2013

Room Tip: dont get the rooms on the ground floor. Too much staff noises and motor bike sounds from the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Let me assure you that all our guests are valuable to us whether they are friends, repeat guests or first timers. It is true that the hotel was fully booked for a private group over the Christmas and New Year’s holidays and a few of the group members stayed till the 5th of January overlapping your stay with us.
When any group fully books the entire hotel we do serve F&B in the Lounge and Tea Garden etc, but not when there are other guests in the hotel... as it can inconvenience others, as it did to you. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.
As for our food... it is the pride of Rokeby and I’d like to assure you that irrespective of the time of year... all our produce is fresh and we never compromise on raw materials.
We appreciate your views and encourage you and all our guests to take up any matter of inconvenience directly with the management. You will find us lenient and very understanding of our guest’s comfort and needs.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We made a short trip to Dehradun and Mussoorie on 21st December and after spending 1 night in Dehradun , planned to stay in Mussoorie next day. I had heard a lot about Rokeby Manor in Landor and decided to visit the place for lunch . It was a fabulous day with bright sun shine and driving towards Landor was a majestic experience . We had a fantastic view of snow peaks of Dauladhar range , pine trees and so much peace ! Upon reaching Landor , decided to walk around a bit to build up the appetite and made a short trip to famous Prakash store to do a little shopping for homemade jams and marmalades . Lunch at Rokeby Manor turned out to ne highlight of the trip. Everything about the hotel was exciting and welcoming. Christmas decoartions done up in a creative way inside the hotel at various places added to the festive spirit. Took a table on the outside terrace and enjoyed the great views , crisp cold weather and delicious food. Came back with a satisfied feeling and in my next trip to Mussoorie , would love to spend 1 night at this hotel . Kudos to the management and entire team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Rokeby Manor and its restaurant, Emily’s, strive to give the Landour visitors an unforgettable experience, be it an overnight stay or just enjoying a wholesome meal.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcome you again.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is on a winding road just off the bazaar at mussorie. At some point on the winding road you wonder if you are lost and then suddenly you see the hotel signage. But that location becomes its strength if you like peace and quiet and you avoid all the crowds.The property is a little gem done up like an English manor.We loved it from the time we stepped into the drawing room.They have put up little quotations around the property that make you smile.The rooms are small but daintily done up. The food is good-mix of Indian and continental.Their restaurant Emilys on the first floor has a lovely sitout where you can have coffee and see the world go by.Staff are attentive.Highly recommended if you want to be off beaten track and chill out

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your review which encourages us to work harder to keep Rokeby the unique place it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I used to live in Mussoorie and returned this year with my parents for a holiday. We stayed in the Rose Suite and loved it! The Rokeby is a fantastic holiday getaway in Mussoorie. It feels as though you have stepped out of India and into a beautiful mountain wonderland. My parents just loved it. They were so relaxed! The food is wonderful and safe. We ate a plethora of meals there, as well as at Char Dukan, a little ways down the mountain with the locals. The Rokeby is expensive, but for what it is, we thought it was worth it. The rooms are great, always power and hot water (not always the case in Mussoorie!) and the workers are friendly and always accommodating. We wholeheartedly recommend staying there! And we will be back with more family!

Room Tip: The Rose Suite is great, and if you are staying for more than a few days, ask if there is a discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that Rokeby was able to take you back to relive your fond memories of Mussoorie.
We look forward to welcoming you to experience the Rokeby charm again and we are always ready to provide you with the best offer to make your stay as feasible and comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had lunch at Rokeby Manor recently. The hotel has a cozy feel and had broken out the Christmas decorations in November! They have a comfortable lounge done up in bright red upholstry that gave it a festive look. The restaurant wasnt bad. The clear chicken soup felt warm and hearty after a cold walk around Lal Tibba. We had the fried fish (one of the portions was a little undercooked but the others were great) and some chicken with a tangy sauce which was excellent. Their dessert (we all shared a chocolaty cake) was yummy and the espresso coffee was aromatic and delicious.

The hotel rooms look welcoming and comfortable and the whole place has a charming old world air about it. Definetely worth a visit and stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rokeby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokeby Manor

Address: Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rokeby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rokeby was built in 1840 by Captain G.N. Cauthy and is one of the landmarks of Landour. The house and two acre estate are situated slightly above and to the east of St. Paul's Church and the old cantonment parade ground, which is now Char Dukan. Like many houses in Mussoorie, its name is taken from the writings of Sir Walter Scott, whose book-length poem describes heroic battles near the original Rokeby Castle in England. Methodist missionaries continued to operate the property as a guest house throughout the rest of the 20th century. Today, Rokeby has been carefully restored to its original glory. This heritage building is resplendent with character in its elaborate brick arches and niches, intricate stone walls, real wood floors and beams, and cosy fireplaces. Nestled in the foothills of the Himalayas, the traditions of bygone years – where colonial officers, renegade soldiers of fortune and pious miss saibs lived under one roof – can still be felt. An air of mystery beckons visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rokeby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokeby Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.