We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem located off the beaten track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokeby Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rokeby Manor to your Saves list
Rokeby Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Mumbai India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“gem located off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is on a winding road just off the bazaar at mussorie. At some point on the winding road you wonder if you are lost and then suddenly you see the hotel signage. But that location becomes its strength if you like peace and quiet and you avoid all the crowds.The property is a little gem done up like an English manor.We loved it from the time we stepped into the drawing room.They have put up little quotations around the property that make you smile.The rooms are small but daintily done up. The food is good-mix of Indian and continental.Their restaurant Emilys on the first floor has a lovely sitout where you can have coffee and see the world go by.Staff are attentive.Highly recommended if you want to be off beaten track and chill out

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your review which encourages us to work harder to keep Rokeby the unique place it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I used to live in Mussoorie and returned this year with my parents for a holiday. We stayed in the Rose Suite and loved it! The Rokeby is a fantastic holiday getaway in Mussoorie. It feels as though you have stepped out of India and into a beautiful mountain wonderland. My parents just loved it. They were so relaxed! The food is wonderful and safe. We ate a plethora of meals there, as well as at Char Dukan, a little ways down the mountain with the locals. The Rokeby is expensive, but for what it is, we thought it was worth it. The rooms are great, always power and hot water (not always the case in Mussoorie!) and the workers are friendly and always accommodating. We wholeheartedly recommend staying there! And we will be back with more family!

Room Tip: The Rose Suite is great, and if you are staying for more than a few days, ask if there is a discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that Rokeby was able to take you back to relive your fond memories of Mussoorie.
We look forward to welcoming you to experience the Rokeby charm again and we are always ready to provide you with the best offer to make your stay as feasible and comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had lunch at Rokeby Manor recently. The hotel has a cozy feel and had broken out the Christmas decorations in November! They have a comfortable lounge done up in bright red upholstry that gave it a festive look. The restaurant wasnt bad. The clear chicken soup felt warm and hearty after a cold walk around Lal Tibba. We had the fried fish (one of the portions was a little undercooked but the others were great) and some chicken with a tangy sauce which was excellent. Their dessert (we all shared a chocolaty cake) was yummy and the espresso coffee was aromatic and delicious.

The hotel rooms look welcoming and comfortable and the whole place has a charming old world air about it. Definetely worth a visit and stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rokeby Manor is a small, compact, cosy hotel with a period flavor. It synchronizes perfectly with Landour environs and culture. Rokeby in Landour is a great place to relax, walk through the forest and hills and enjoy outdoor games like croquet or badminton with close ones. Glancing through the stock of interesting books on local history, culture, travel in the Himalayas and writings of widely acclaimed local authors is a great pleasure and joy. Rokeby Manor retains the spirit of the Raj with all modern lifestyle facilities available for the inmates. The Rokeby experience is to be nibbled over a time and cherished for ever.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west have the sun-rays entering the room thereby making it more comforting in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very very beautiful small boutique hotel,
Old world charm rooms,
Absolutely peaceful surroundings,
Good restaurant, they served us breakfast up to the hilt of our desire.
Hospitable staff but no smiles, NO one smiles , not even at the reception desk.
I would like to specifically mention the name of the only person who served us with a smile in the complete 4 days trip, Mr Suresh. He served us breakfast in the morning for 2 days & said no to nothing, every thing was a yes with a smile. If this review goes to the management, please do promote this person in some way.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little small with low roofs, some rooms have very small bath rooms so request for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldeyan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Firstly, getting to Rokeby is a huge effort. The drive is extremely narrow, very steep with no directions or signage. I had to repeatedly call the manager at the hotel for directions. So, on your first day you MUST reach Rokeby before sun down. Then there isn't sufficient parking inside the compound & there is no accommodation for drivers.
We stayed in the rose suite for 2 nights. It's NOT a suite by any standard, just a small elongated room. The image of the suite on the website gives an impression that the sofa area is a separate seating area, but it isn't. It is a passage taken inside the room.
The property otherwise is nice, the food though is very good. For the price, I'd say it's daylight robbery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family and I went on a trip to Landour to study Hindi. We stayed in Rokeby Manor, where they were extremely helpful. As we were there for 5 weeks, we needed the hotel we were staying in to be comfy, as well as understanding with our long stay. Rokeby were just that, they helped us with laundry (which there were vast amounts of..) and the food at Emily's was just exquisite. As we were not used to the more spicy foods, the chef made them less spicy so that we could eat it. The atmosphere in the 'Tea Garden' was also fantastic, a perfect place for us to study when the room was too loud. Our room was great for us, as we were a group of 5. We stayed in 'The Cabins', a dormitory style room which had 4 smaller partitioned rooms, each complete with a desk and wardrobe, with a large bathroom at the end of the 'Cabins'. The feel of the entire hotel was fantastic, the 'come on up' on the stairs creating an atmosphere of easiness and calamity.
To make it even better, the hotel is just a 5 minute walk away from the Landour Language School where we were studying. Overall, an absolute fantastic stay that is completely faultless. We will most definitely be returning!

Room Tip: For a group of 4, the Cabins would be ideal. There is some noise from people walking up the stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rokeby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokeby Manor

Address: Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rokeby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rokeby was built in 1840 by Captain G.N. Cauthy and is one of the landmarks of Landour. The house and two acre estate are situated slightly above and to the east of St. Paul's Church and the old cantonment parade ground, which is now Char Dukan. Like many houses in Mussoorie, its name is taken from the writings of Sir Walter Scott, whose book-length poem describes heroic battles near the original Rokeby Castle in England. Methodist missionaries continued to operate the property as a guest house throughout the rest of the 20th century. Today, Rokeby has been carefully restored to its original glory. This heritage building is resplendent with character in its elaborate brick arches and niches, intricate stone walls, real wood floors and beams, and cosy fireplaces. Nestled in the foothills of the Himalayas, the traditions of bygone years – where colonial officers, renegade soldiers of fortune and pious miss saibs lived under one roof – can still be felt. An air of mystery beckons visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Rokeby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokeby Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.