We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Himalayas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Bethany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Villa Bethany to your Saves list
La Villa Bethany
Near Kellogg Memorial Church | Landour, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
“A Gem in the Himalayas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

La Villa Bethany was the perfect getaway for the family. Clean, comfortable rooms, fantastic food, and above all outstanding hosts. Sunita and Amarjeet made us feel right at home from the first minute. Felt we had been to Bethany many times before. The surroundings are really serene, with fresh mountain air. Great value for money as well. Would really recommend it.

Room Tip: New Log Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunitakudle, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sandeep & Divya,

Thank you for choosing us to spend precious moments of your family time with. Being professionals ourselves, we do understand how rare and important these moments are.

We look forward to welcoming you into our Home once again and yes this time it will be the Log Cabin for you!!

warm regards
Sunita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
40
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

La Villa Bethany was the first place I stayed when I came to India, and never found anything was wonderful afterwards. The rooms were big, clean, had wi-fi, but more importantly, it was a home. We were invited to family dinner every night, I played with the owner's daughter often, read books from the bookshelves, and really felt like part of the family. I could not recommend La Villa Bethany any higher!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunitakudle, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review for your "Home". There can't be a bigger delight for us then when someone who is new to India feels right at "Home" here.

We can't wait to welcome you Home again!

Warm regards
Sunita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thanks to a friend's recommendation we chanced upon this quaint home stay. We were made very welcome and we enjoyed ourselves a lot. It was like a home away from home. The kids are planning to go back again in December to stay in the new log hut they are making. The hosts Amarjeet and Sunita with their precocious little daughter and Nani seemed like long lost friends. Landour is probably the cleanest hill station we have ever seen. 'Char Dukan' was delightful and the sneak peak at the snow capped ranges from 'Laal Tila' was fun! Happy to recommend the B&B to all our friends. All the best.

Room Tip: The whole community is oriented towards maintaining the eco-balance at Landour so don't expect g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunitakudle, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Vasu,

It was wonderful to have you and the family spend time with us. In all our eco endeavors we are encourage and inspired to do more when we get a response such as yours! Thank you once again.

We look forward to welcoming you and the boys back home and yes, this time in the Log Cabin!

warm regards
Sunita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

It is a very lovely property......the best part of the homestay is everybody from different nationalities can interact with each other.....We stayed in a lovely suite called Everest suite.......It was an awsome stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunitakudle, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Rohan,

Thank you for taking out the time to review us. We always take feedback from our guests and it was one such suggestion which has turned out to be a big highlight at LVB. All guests, irrespective of nationalities and backgrounds, sit together and break bread like one family. This not only makes the dinner conversations that much more lively but it gives us great thrill to see the bonds that are formed on our table!

Thank you for appreciating this and we look forward to welcoming you home soon!

warm regards
Sunita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Sometimes you stumble upon a place so beautiful, so hospitable & so amazing, it takes your breath away. That is exactly what Villa Bethany and Landour overall are about.
This property is hidden away & for a very good reason...it is far from the madding crowds & makes for a wonderful getaway. The hosts Amarjeet, Sunita, Shrushti (their lovely 6 year old daughter) and Naniji have combined homely hospitality with modern amenities to achieve a perfect balance. Our 4 year old daughter had the most wonderful time with Shrushti in the playarea which included swings & a slide, painted a birdhouse thoughtfully made for her by Amarjeet & wolfed down the "khichdi" made for her by Sunita on the night she was ill.
The rooms are cozy, clean & well maintained. The views are to die for. Hearty English breakfasts made for a perfect start and delicious (optional) dinners completed what was the best holiday we have experienced as a family.
Another plus for us was the interesting company we shared at our meals - everyone sits together to enjoy the food & exchange their experiences. The Landour Language School is located just opposite the Villa Bethany entrance & is ideal for long stay students of this school.
There is also a well stocked library with free wifi access for those that would like to stay "connected". This is an eco-friendly property that uses solar heated water, locally grown/sourced organic produce, employs staff from the local community & gives back to them in so many ways (check out the handcrafted quilts, cushion covers, soaps, etc. in your room).
For someone experiencing their first B&B in India, LVB sets the bar extremely high!

Room Tip: The Bedell & Shaw suites are spacious & have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunitakudle, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Praveen,

Thank you for taking out the time to write such a fantastic review. It is not us but people like you, Malini and Savannah who come and make LVB their Home and make it Lovely, Vibrant and Beautiful! I can't thank God enough for his blessings!!

The birdhouse painted by Savannah now has a pride of place in the tree near the reception where she always played with Shrushti.

We now look forward to welcoming you Home again with the rest of the family, take care and God Bless!

warm regards
Sunita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Several times we have wanted to stay here, but it never worked out. We FINALLY got a room and we couldn't be more pleased. This place is flawless. Incredible view. Extremely clean. Caters very well to Westerners. Beautiful decor. Awesome service. And, you feel like you are part of the family. We have stayed or visited at just about every place up on the mountain, and there really isn't any place that competes with LaVilla Bethany. Also, if you have kids, it is extremely kid friendly. They have a reading room for kids. Sometimes there are crafts. There is a play area. And there are usually other friends close by. The free breakfast is more than you can eat and very good. My family also loved the dinner! Only complaint is that we only stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Call the owners and they will do a good job finding what is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunitakudle, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking out the time to leave such a great review! I am glad that all three generations of your family enjoyed here.

We now look forward to welcoming you Home soon!

warm regards
Sunita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had always wanted to stay at La Bethany, ever since I heard that my dear friend Sunita and her husband were now "in-charge"... Well to be honest, I was quite aware of the hospitality that I would get knowing Sunita from our Mumbai days... but the place was a big WOW for me.
The ride up to the place was tough and difficult as we went the wrong way, but by the time we reached the Sister bazaar road, we knew we were in for a great treat.
The minute me and my brother, walked down the first few steps leading to the Villa, there was Sunita standing, with a big smile, like always... and we knew it was the right choice.
We both were guided to the Everest Suite which was indeed exactly what I was hoping it to be. Simple and yet having everything that I needed in my room.
Before we could settle in, we were treated to an amazing lemon-ginger tea... and that was so refreshing especially after a 10 hours tedious drive from Delhi.
We were visiting Mussoorie for our school - Wynberg Allen's 125 Founder's Day Celebrations and just like the occasion, our stay at La Villa Bethany was equally amazing.
The one thing that I truly like about this place is its simplicity and the feeling that you are never too far away from home. Its a place where none of the rooms have any number, instead each room has a name. Thats indeed interesting...
Sunita herself making breakfast in the morning for all the guests was simply, great. And her daughter Shristhi, sitting besides us telling us about the number of students in her class while trying to finish her sandwich, reminded me of my kids and how they would mumble with food in their mouth... trying to narrate an interesting episode in their school.
Yes, I am convinced that if ever I get a chance to visit Mussoorie again, I will stay with the Kundle family, at La Villa Bethany...
Thanks Amarjeet and Sunita and everyone at Bethany for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunitakudle, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Sanjeev,

I am glad you finally made it to LVB and it matched your expectations! Thank you for taking out the time to write this review. Such feedback from peers and friends reinforces that you are on the right path and encourages us to strive for excellence always.

I now look forward to welcoming the rest of the family home.

warm regards
Sunita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Bethany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Bethany

Address: Near Kellogg Memorial Church | Landour, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Bethany is a multi award winning, socially & environmentally responsible, boutique homestay at an old English Cottage which has been renovated & restored to its former glory. We are committed to maintaining the pristine environment of Landour at the same time offer our guests, old world hospitality, warmth of a home and joys of a simple country life away from the madness of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Villa Bethany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Bethany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.