We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Era Manor House with Stunning Views of Mussoorie & Himalayas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilbert Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ilbert Manor to your Saves list
Ilbert Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duggal Villa Road, Library End, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Colonial Era Manor House with Stunning Views of Mussoorie & Himalayas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived after an exciting drive up the mountain from Dehradun! The access to the hotel from The Mall - the main retail thoroughfare in Mussoorie - is underwhelming as you turn down a side road that is only just wide enough to take a small car! But do not be put off as the views are worth it!
The hotel has great history to it and the staff make the hotel, being attentive and willing to help you enjoy your stay, advise on walks and sightseeing etc.
As this is a remote hillstation do not expect five star, slick service that you would expect in Delhi, Mumbai or other major cities. However, the team all try their best and will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is comfortable.
The rooms are generously sized, with clean bathrooms and a large shower area.
Food was excellent and not at all expensive.
There is no alchohol available at the hotel, hence no cosy bar to sit in. However, they will arrange for beer or other alchoholic drinks to be bought locally and served to you at lunch/dinner.
If you enjoy your wine, then we would recommend you bring your own from Delhi or elsewhere as none of the liquor stores there stock it!
All in all, a great experience, very good value and worth the effort!

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, but worth asking for one that has uninterrupted views of either the Doon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    38
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
71
42
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Last month we had a trip to Mussoorie, where we opted for hotel Ilbert Manor for accommodation. Trust me, staying at Ilbert Manor was like resting in the lap of nature. It was a grand treat! The hospitality and ambiance of the hotel made me choose the same venue for this year too! Certainly, my first choice for all my visits to Mussorie!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed there for a day , it was one of the most incredible experience , the hospitality was fabulous. Vikas pardeshi, pyar singh,vikas and the entire team was just amazing .They simply made our stay unforgettable thank you guys. The hotel has a delightful ambiance , the food is great . I would any day choose Ilbert over any other hotel in mussoorie. The terrace view at night is outstanding , it just makes you fall in love with it , no noise no thoughts the world just stops and its a beautiful place. Its worth every Penny , the luxury they provide the atmosphere the warmth it made our one day stay absolutely Mesmerizing. :)

Room Tip: Room no 205 , is spacious , the view from that room is just awesome , drawback it does not have a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Generally, you see palaces and heritage buildings, but you don't live in it now a days, unless you are a Governor or a Collector kind. Ilbert Manor is a small but nicely renovated heritage property, provides you to live and feel what it is, if you have interest. I stayed from April 21st to 25th,2013 in room no. 205, Fanny Parkes, and a few things that atracted me are as follows. This property has 14 rooms, 9 in the first floor which has grand corridor with wooden flooring and a red carpet spread, and the rooms have excellent views of the Himalayan range. All rooms are named after some great people like: Proby Cautley, who conceived and supervised the execution of Ganges canal, and John Lang who successfully pleaded legal battle for Rani of Jhansi. There is a beautiful library with some good books, and a small but beautiful chandelier, and some rare but excellents prints of olden days Ganesh Salli's collection, like the 'Memsahibs of rickshaw', and the photo of the Library building donated by the Maharaja of Kapurthala.
The food they serve is satisfactory, but I suggest they should include mutton and fish in non-veg section, and try a better spread in soups, deserts,fruits and juices. They should think of going for a swimming pool,and plan for vehicle provision 24 hrs to anywhere in the Mall road, as the access road is too steep.
As a heritage lover, I must say, my stay in Ilbert is unforgettable.

Room Tip: Fanny Parkes for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwalior, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Reached on 19 afternoon, stayed for a day & checked out on 20. Reception was very good, but i wish during booking you would inform the guests if arriving by own vehicle about paid parking and pick up point by the hotel vehicle, it would save unnecessary hassle which at arrival is extremely irritating & puts you off. The rooms are cosy but at 6500+ there needs to be more cleanliness in the bathrooms and whiteness in the bed sheets and towels. The lunch was just average and the breakfast was horrible. The best thing about the breakfast was the egg & toast, extremely limited menu, if i have to come to a hotel which charges me an amount equivalent to a 5 * & i have to eat a limited menu i think there is something wrong here. Ambiance was just okay with limited view from the rooms and outside. Staff hospitality was good but then i guess it could not compensate for the deficiencies mentioned above. I personally would not stay for a second time in the place and look for other alternatives. The administration could learn a thing or two from the hotels (like Radisson, Clark Shiraz etc) in places like Agra which at the same price offer you a much much better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your feedback. We apologize for forgetting to reimburse the parking ticket (which we do for all our guests). We would like to take this opportunity to confirm that we are a heritage boutique hotel, which is also mentioned on our website. We have never claimed to be 5 star business hotel. The charges for a 5 start hotel in Mussoorie start from INR 10,000/- per night upto 28,000/- per night on only room rent basis. These rates can be double checked by searching on google.

We would like to clarify that our concept is completely different from that of a 5 start business hotel. We have successfully created a niche market for our property, where the guests enjoy going back in the Victorian era with all modern facilities. Our guests understand the historical importance of the property and enjoy the warmth of our hospitality. As expressed by you, we thank you for appreciating the efficiency of our services and staff hospitality. We have been constantly appreciated by our regular and new guests that they find full worth of the money spent at Ilbert Manor. We work very hard to maintain standards set by our management. We appreciate your feedback as this is the only way for us to grow.

We do find it heartbreaking that you were looking forward for a 5 star business hotel experience and not a boutique personalized heritage experience.

We wish that you find full worth in your future travels and find a life full of happiness and joy.


Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was a family reunion. We were a group of 5 adults and a child. We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights.
We had researched for this property from our home in Toronto, Canada and were delighted to find everything as expected and more. I was particularly impressed by the hospitality and warmth of the staff.
The place is very clean, safe and has modern facilities in rooms and wash...good for western travellers
The approach to the property is not very obvious from the Mall road (main st. in Mussoorie)
and its a steep climb. However, the hotel management tries best to help by providing shuttle service back and forth from Mall Rd.
We also took breakfast and dinner at the hotel which was also clean and healthy i.e. not oily or spicy
The hotel management was also very helpful in providing us tips and helped us in planning our day trips in and around Mussoorie

Room Tip: All rooms are good, have hardwood floor, modern washroom. Colonial suite is good for 4 adults and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were a group of 36 people at ilbert manor for 3 days & 2 nites. Good ambience, fantastic food, great place & fabulous hospitality....pyar singh, vineet, vikas & the entire team, u guys where absolutely fantastic. We had also stayed after that at a place called amber vermont for 1 nite... that place had more facilities & ambience except for grumpy faces from almost all the staff out there...will definitely choose ilbert any day to amber....

Room Tip: all rooms are good...should go for the colonial suite if u are a family with 2 grown up kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie!

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilbert Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilbert Manor

Address: Duggal Villa Road, Library End, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilbert Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilbert Manor is a 180 year old unique heritage boutique hotel nestled amidst oak trees and semi wild forest. The Manor has been painstakingly restored over a period of seven years and offers 14 well appointed and elegant rooms. Each guest room has been named to reflect the original history capturing the nostalgia of the pioneers who discovered the magical hills of Mussoorie. Rudyard Kipling, General Frederick Young and Jim Corbett are a few such names. The Ilbert Manor team focuses to offer personalized services to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilbert Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilbert Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.