We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the mountains!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Mussoorie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Mussoorie to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Mussoorie
Rockcliff Estate,Hill Top, Mussoorie 248179, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Hilltop Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 71 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back to the mountains!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The resort offers a very good view of Dehradun especially at night. They offer good cab service up and down to mall road. The restaurant staff is very friendly, especially the female staff. But the resort needs to upgrade itself to match Club Mahindra standards....there was no welcoming which is the usual ritual at CM. We were told that some renovations were being done at the kitchen end....so there were some problems as far as variety of snacks served in rooms. But this was compensated by the warm staff and they tried their best to help us. The breakfast and the quality and taste of food was very good. We stayed at the lower levels which was the best thing to do.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Mussoorie. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the resort and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
59
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

First I was given a Room next to the public toilet which was stinking. Then I was offered an extremely musty room, which probably had not seen the sun-light for a long time.
The mattress was hard as rock & I had to fight for half the night to get it replaced to a soft one.
I was not told that the resort is under renovation & most of the rooms & Bar will be unaccessible.
The breakfast was vegetarian with just one non veg dish.
I had to check out 4 days early & instead of a free vacation, I had to pay heavily for my remaining stay at Dehradun since my flight was 4 days later.
The remaining days of my vacation were not credited back to my Account. Nobody from Club Mahindra has bothered to call me till date to ask why I had cut my vacation short.

Room Tip: Avoid the Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Amogh,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited in last week of October 2013. The hotel is located on gun hill. The view from our room was very good. It is close to mall road and thus location wise good. The activity conducted were good. The staff is courteous. Our room was near the reception and hence not much climbing. Some of the rooms are very far and so members were complaining for the steep climb to room.

Room Tip: Choose room close to reception so you dont have to climb. If you are club mahindra member even the H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Mussoorie resort. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balangir
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Looking for decent accommodation has been a challenge for me in Mussoorie. The good ones are rather pricey and the average hotels are quite shady. I happened to travel with my friend who has a membership of Club Mahindra resorts. The hotel is okay and is built more like a holiday sharing property with kitchen and stuff. I wonder how many people use the kitchen during a vacation! The property is quite big and if you choose the suite you'd need to do a bit of climbing. The hotel as such is located on top of a hill but they have adequate arrangements to pick you up from the Mall or even drop you to your room.. Heating is not enough and food is average. They have a pool table which I think is a big plus if you can play a few shots. Considering that there's not much to be done in the evening at Mussoorie. There are few insects around the premises which is probably due to the hill and trees. My take on the property , go there if you're a member.

Room Tip: get a room near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visited in Oct 2012 with family. The resort is om a hill and approach is from mall. The slope of approach road is very steep though it is about 500 mtrs and difficult to negotiate. The resort is having pick up facility from mall which is very costly. But there is no option as entry of taxis restricted on mall.

The resort is a bit congested and having too many cottages / rooms. Those at lower level do not provide a good view but for higher ones again you have to climb up the slope/stairs.

The room are neat and well maintained but those which are near to walkways or stairs of the resort have less privacy.

Resort offers a number of activities but it is for those who wish to stay at resort.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms / apartments which are at lower level and on right of the entry. The rooms near stairs m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Me & wife visited for a break we have been wanting for long!
And what a break indeed we had!
Amazing location of the hotel and amazing service by the staff at this Club Mahindra property made our vacation just great!
While booking the holiday I had passingly mentioned to give us a great view and what a view we had from the grand balcony of our studio apartment!
Great service by the housekeeping, great food at the restaurant, supportive staff at the restaurant made it amazing!
But yes! They do no have elevators due to some odd government rule. So be prepared for walking up and down big and many stairs!
Club Mahindra members should go for the food combos where they provide buffets at discounted rates.
Ask for the best view, however I am sure the location of the resort is such that you would get the best view from any room. However, we had the studio 17A, which definitely has the finest view as it is located right in the middle of the elevation.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Shashwat,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Mussoorie resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at Club Mahindra, Mussorie ( earlier known as Avalon) in April 2013. We were totally 6 adults and 3 kids. The resort is located on a hilltop and is within walking distance of the Gun Hill Point. The climb to the resort from the Mall road is quite steep. However the resort has pickup/drop facility from the mall road to the resort ( you have to pay for each trip).
The staff is courteous, efficient and very helpful. We got rooms with amazing view! It was sheer pleasure to sit in the open space in the morning with a cup of coffee and enjoy the nature.
The rooms are very excellent - a nice living/dining room, a small kitchenette and a spacious bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom/toilet was clean and neat but the water was not getting drained properly.
The resort has fun zone where kids could enjoy lot of activities.The staff ( cannot recollect his name but a special thanks to him) at the fun zone was extremely helpful and gave us lot of information about places to visit (or avoid ) in mussorie.
We utilized room service for most of our meals.We were very happy with the quality of food. The food was delivered within reasonable time and we did not have to wait for too long.
We had a great time at this lovely resort and will definitely recommend to others!

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms closer to the reception/restaurant. Though the rooms right at the top have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted with your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Mussoorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Mussoorie

Address: Rockcliff Estate,Hill Top, Mussoorie 248179, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Hilltop Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Mahindra Mussoorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Hilltop Resort, Avalon Hotel Mussoorie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Mussoorie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.