We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Small Balcony in the Hills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karma Vilas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karma Vilas Resort to your Saves list
Karma Vilas Resort
Claire Villa Estate | Claire Villa Estate, Big Bend, Balahisar, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Quiet Small Balcony in the Hills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel during the "Off-Season" and found it very quiet and serene. There was just two of us and another couple staying here, so probably that added to the quiteness. Only two front viewing rooms are facing the valley and therefore have a good view. The other rooms are at the back with no view. The place is very small and could get crowded if fully occupied. The staff was almost non-existent. You will have to notify the staff in the morning if you feel like having dinner. The breakfast was basic but was tasteful. The place is away from the mall road and walking to or from the mall road could be dangerous due to speeding vehicles and naughty monkeys.

I guess the place is good only for off-seasons and if you get the graden facing rooms that are just 2 in number and if you strike a good deal. We shelled out 6000 for one night and half a day (48 hours).

Room Tip: Get the graden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
62
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

First thing, it was little difficult to find the hotel.... we took the correct route for the hotel, but unfortunately lights on the hotel board was not working properly and we have not noticed the hotel and finally reached out the hotel... once we reached the hotel it was pleasant welcome by hotel guys and he took us straight to room since we had kids and we were totally tied of almost 8 hours travel.... once we settled in the room, then i completed all the formality.....KARMA VILAS has only 12 room and well decorated and maintained room ..... one big disadvantage i faced was , we didn't get food after 10.30 PM in the night.... hotel management have to think of maintaining their kitchen/services for 24 hrs atleast during the peak seasson time.
Overall , it was a pleasant stay ......

Room Tip: Room near to the lawn is the best view rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I booked this place online for 4 nights by paying 20%. Due to my meeting in Dehradun Max Hospital I had to check out after two nights only but I was made to pay for an extra night ,which I think was a rip off. Moreover They do not accept any kind of cards and I had to run around looking for ATM in a taxi as there is nothing at walking distance from this place. Here are some pros and cons of this place

Pros :- Far from the hustle and bustle of town so may be good for people looking for secluded holidays.
Breakfast Parathas tastes good.
Wifi near to the manager's office which is adequate for occasional downloading of mails.

Cons/Negatives:-


Grossly overpriced as the rooms are just average with wrought iron furniture which is mildly rusted.
Not adequate staff, in fact there is no staff besides manager but few boys doing the chores.
there is about 3-4 kilometers hike to mall road and there is nothing else around.
there is just geysers for hot water and hot water is not adequate in bathrooms
choice of food is extremely limited.
As i had to pay for extra night even though I did not stay so looks like they are ripping off people.
Need to be cautious about monkeys as we had one entering our room while the door was left accidently opened for a short while.
Toiletteries supplied are not adequate and of not good quality.

Room Tip: families should avoid as children would feel extremely bored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

this resort was a bit difficult to find, and this is the reason it is more popular among the locals rather than tourists. we headed to this resort as it was recommended by a good family friend. i would particularly mention a quiet relaxed atmosphere, and almost non-existing service staff (which in our case was rather an advantage, compared with other indian hotels where personnel is following your every step to ask if they can help you). the food was ok, the room was quite spacious, decorated in an attempt to copy victorian style (if i am not mistaken), however i am not a fan of metal furniture, especially if it is a bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

no words for such bad experience we have had at KARMA VILAS RESORT.. its a shame on them to fool people.. they say they have a multi cuisine restaurant agni but what will u get in breakfast is omellete, boiled egg nd poori bhaji to choose from.. hhaaha... no electricity, POOR service.
moreover staff doesnt have manner to speak to a guest. very pathetic service. the funny past is if u order food in your room they'll charge u 20% extra for that but u eat in agni they wont charge u extra.. agni is merely 15 ppl sitting area full of smell coz they dont keep the washroom clean.
only one server, so pls forget ur meal for half an hr even if u order a bread omellete..
its more like a hostel u have to inform them that u'll come late to hotel coz they dont have guard for 24 hrs who can ipen a gate for u.. call them so that they can unlock or lock for u.. pathetic.
dirty curtains, dirty bedsheets nd quiltcover all stained. all washroom had some sort of pokish smell.
manager over there named Mr. Malik was the rudest have come across. We really felt we are trapped in some hostel and have to ask for everything to do or not..
the whole experience was horrible with such bad staff and poor service
no good services were provided as committed by gaurav tomar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmavilas, Manager at Karma Vilas Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. However we have rechecked our records and are unable to trace your stay with us. Kindly advise us the dates of your stay as well as the name of the room occupied by you. Please do let us know if you were accompanied by a friend/family member and their name.
It has always been our endeavour to give all our esteemed guests a one of a kind experience and inputs would help us better this place.
We are awaiting your response as to when you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The moment you enter in you get a feeling that you have spent 4 times the money this guest house deserves.
Don't go by the hotel website, it is completely misleading. Forget about barbecue etc. etc. they just can't even serve you food outside your rooms.

The So called restaurant AGNI is nothing but a room in a basement with 2 or 3 tables with a dirty cloth on them which is changed once a Month. And a single waiter and numerous flies are always there to greet you. And you are supposed to eat what the cook wants and not what your wife :-).

The waiter gets annoyed if you get too demanding and never hesitates to say ---'' Madam kitchen band ho chuka hai''

Some rules of the Resort
1. Order dinner before 5 PM. If you come back to your hotel after 5 you will only get water and no food, I mean thats your punishment you should not stay outside so long.

2. You should be back by 10 PM otherwise the gates are closed and the watchman goes home. So guys be prepared for a hostel like experience and mind you the food is much better in a Hostel Mess than AGNI the grand restaurant at KARMA VILAS -- Relive the PRAJA (the opposite of Raj)Experience

The lawn is only for viewing you are not allowed to have a drink there, tell me than for what is the lawn for ?????

No Lunch
No Snacks except 2-3 standard items for that also you have say please dedo bachcha bhuka hai......
Dinner not from the menu but from a list of dishes which are conveyed to you over the phone and that too you have to order before 5.

Rooms were ok and clean but not above average.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nestled amidst green deodar forest but just 1.5 km from Musoorie ,this place gives you opportunity to experience the contrast of quietness with the vibrancy that Musoorie offers . We liked the calm place very much.The small lawn in front overlooks the whole Doon valley. The beauty enhances at night immensely.But snow view as was depicted in the hotel site was more than over exaggeration.Still we liked the stay in this quiet place. Service was good.Walking uphill to the mall and coming downhill in the evening gave us feeling a different world.I would suggest you should visit the place in winter as we did.But be aware of monkeys...if you are careless it can be disastrous.

Room Tip: should book the lawn facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karma Vilas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Vilas Resort

Address: Claire Villa Estate | Claire Villa Estate, Big Bend, Balahisar, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mussoorie
#14 Family Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma Vilas Resort, Mussoorie is steeped in the allure of an era bygone. The 19th-century Victorian-style villa is nestled amidst oak and pine trees on a 6.5-acre estate. Karma Vilas Resort, Mussoorie is rated amongst the best heritage resorts in Uttarakhand India. At an altitude of 6000 feet, Karma Vilas Resort, Mussoorie is strategically located. One kilometer from the city centre, it is easily accessible from, both the Mussoorie-Delhi highway and the Mussoorie-Dhanaulti highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Karma Vilas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Vilas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karma Vilas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.