We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Shilton to your Saves list
Hotel Shilton
Main Mall Road | Library Chowk, Mussoorie 248 179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Pune
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent view and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is just next to the Library. Fantastic view of the Dehradoon Valley.
I stayed with my family and parents. The food is awesome, a must try is the Murgh Malai Tikka. Stay away from Chinese food though.

The hospitality is great for a hotel of this kind, rooms are clean and housekeeping services great.

Overall great place to stay, if you are not looking for 5 star comforts....

Govind was one guy I will not forget to mention..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went to mussoorie with my family yesterday with wife and two kids, Though I was about to stay at The Amber Vermont which I booked from Delhi and cancelled it once I reached mussoorie as there was no scenic view from their rooms. The only thing you see is fences and its very far away from the mall road. When we tried to look for other options we came across Hotel Shilton (The name looked funny Hilton < Shilton) but I tried to check as the location was very good. When they showed me the rooms, I was impressed with the view you get to see from the balcony of their rooms. YOU SEE THE ENTIRE VALLEY. The service was good...AC, TV, Gyser were perfect, Food was OK..THE TARRIF IS FAIR, It costed us around INR 3500 for a single day unlike Amber Vermont or ITC Fortune which charge INR 6K to 8k for a single day. I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: I would suggest to take any room with a view of entire valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

i stayed here for 2 nights.The property was good and the view was facing the valley.First,when i saw the hotel's interior,i thought the service would be good.But i was disappointed by the service.The staff was polite,but the service was not up to the mark.the gadgets were not working properly like the geyser and the AC and the rooms were very small.

Room Tip: try to get the room on -4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The first impression of the hotel was that of a fun place only because of the multicolored neon sign on top. We reached the queen of hills at around 8pm and were tired. Good thing was that the hotel was at the entrance of the hill station on the library side. Since it was December, it was off season. I was traveling with my parents and wife with a 8 months old kid. Rooms were discounted due to offseason. We took 2 rooms facing the valley. Checkin was quick, may be because of lack of guests. Rooms were OK, small in size, decent bed, but the decor was cheap to say the least with bright blue and red mix. Small balcony did not impress. Ordered food and were tired retired early. The small balcony really changed early in the morning with a beautiful sun rise view. It was one of the most magnificent moment of our stay seeing Sun rising from behind the mountains. Spendid!!. Gym was ok...Sauna was good but temperature control was lacking and was a bit small. But enjoyed the same. The mall road is ban in front of the hotel so we were not required to walk much as we took a cycle rickshaw. It was a mistake as we realised the other day. Walk on the mall road is the best. Overall the stay was satisfactory for the price we paid due to off season. Would have liked better room decor and better furnishing including feather bed etc. Decent budget hotel.

Room Tip: Always take valley view rooms on higher floors with balcony facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I with my wife & daughter, noticed this beatiful property right at the start of the city, which was an advantage, since this hillstation dosent allow all vehicles to ply inside. Apart from convienient location, the rooms have been so designed that they actually peep inside the valley giving you a real feel of the place. Food served at the inhouse restaurant was good & staff courteous. The hotel is really clean & well maintained. Since we were there in the month of December, we were provided with room heaters, which made our stay warm & fun!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is a very good place to stay in Mussorie. It is located right at the Library end of the Mall Road.

The rooms are comfortable, though small in size. Window air-conditioners are also installed in the rooms, probably for use in summer months when it may get hot. The bathrooms are spacious and clean. We had stayed in the valley-facing rooms which have great views of the Doon valley. We had also booked the President suite (ours was a large group) and it was very spacious & luxurious.

The staff is friendly and the service is prompt. The hotel has indoor facilities like pool table, gym, health club with steam, sauna, etc, though we did not have time to use any of it.

The hotel tariffs are very reasonable and they don't bargain on rates. Overall, it offers excellent value considering the hotel's location, standard and upkeep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel and it was the worst hotel in India.
We were going to stay here for two days. However the standard was that bad we had to leave the next day. Constant noise no heating and bad manner was just the start. We had two babies with us and we asked for heater and the staff said just get under the blankets. The next day we saw the manager who was not interested and said nothing he could do. He was lazy. He did not care. Dont stay at this hotel even as a last resort you will be upset. You will not enjoy the accommodation. The noise was loud from constant building work. The hotel had no hot water. We used two other rooms and they were the same.
Waste of money.
Stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shilton

Address: Main Mall Road | Library Chowk, Mussoorie 248 179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Shilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.