We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust Me Top Notch Location...Good Service...Try For Sure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shilton

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Shilton
Save Saved
You added Hotel Shilton to your Saves list
Main Mall Road | Library Chowk, Mussoorie 248 179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Delhi
1 review
“Trust Me Top Notch Location...Good Service...Try For Sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went to mussoorie with my family yesterday with wife and two kids, Though I was about to stay at The Amber Vermont which I booked from Delhi and cancelled it once I reached mussoorie as there was no scenic view from their rooms. The only thing you see is fences and its very far away from the mall road. When we tried to look for other options we came across Hotel Shilton (The name looked funny Hilton < Shilton) but I tried to check as the location was very good. When they showed me the rooms, I was impressed with the view you get to see from the balcony of their rooms. YOU SEE THE ENTIRE VALLEY. The service was good...AC, TV, Gyser were perfect, Food was OK..THE TARRIF IS FAIR, It costed us around INR 3500 for a single day unlike Amber Vermont or ITC Fortune which charge INR 6K to 8k for a single day. I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: I would suggest to take any room with a view of entire valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

i stayed here for 2 nights.The property was good and the view was facing the valley.First,when i saw the hotel's interior,i thought the service would be good.But i was disappointed by the service.The staff was polite,but the service was not up to the mark.the gadgets were not working properly like the geyser and the AC and the rooms were very small.

Room Tip: try to get the room on -4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The first impression of the hotel was that of a fun place only because of the multicolored neon sign on top. We reached the queen of hills at around 8pm and were tired. Good thing was that the hotel was at the entrance of the hill station on the library side. Since it was December, it was off season. I was traveling with my parents and wife with a 8 months old kid. Rooms were discounted due to offseason. We took 2 rooms facing the valley. Checkin was quick, may be because of lack of guests. Rooms were OK, small in size, decent bed, but the decor was cheap to say the least with bright blue and red mix. Small balcony did not impress. Ordered food and were tired retired early. The small balcony really changed early in the morning with a beautiful sun rise view. It was one of the most magnificent moment of our stay seeing Sun rising from behind the mountains. Spendid!!. Gym was ok...Sauna was good but temperature control was lacking and was a bit small. But enjoyed the same. The mall road is ban in front of the hotel so we were not required to walk much as we took a cycle rickshaw. It was a mistake as we realised the other day. Walk on the mall road is the best. Overall the stay was satisfactory for the price we paid due to off season. Would have liked better room decor and better furnishing including feather bed etc. Decent budget hotel.

Room Tip: Always take valley view rooms on higher floors with balcony facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I with my wife & daughter, noticed this beatiful property right at the start of the city, which was an advantage, since this hillstation dosent allow all vehicles to ply inside. Apart from convienient location, the rooms have been so designed that they actually peep inside the valley giving you a real feel of the place. Food served at the inhouse restaurant was good & staff courteous. The hotel is really clean & well maintained. Since we were there in the month of December, we were provided with room heaters, which made our stay warm & fun!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is a very good place to stay in Mussorie. It is located right at the Library end of the Mall Road.

The rooms are comfortable, though small in size. Window air-conditioners are also installed in the rooms, probably for use in summer months when it may get hot. The bathrooms are spacious and clean. We had stayed in the valley-facing rooms which have great views of the Doon valley. We had also booked the President suite (ours was a large group) and it was very spacious & luxurious.

The staff is friendly and the service is prompt. The hotel has indoor facilities like pool table, gym, health club with steam, sauna, etc, though we did not have time to use any of it.

The hotel tariffs are very reasonable and they don't bargain on rates. Overall, it offers excellent value considering the hotel's location, standard and upkeep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel and it was the worst hotel in India.
We were going to stay here for two days. However the standard was that bad we had to leave the next day. Constant noise no heating and bad manner was just the start. We had two babies with us and we asked for heater and the staff said just get under the blankets. The next day we saw the manager who was not interested and said nothing he could do. He was lazy. He did not care. Dont stay at this hotel even as a last resort you will be upset. You will not enjoy the accommodation. The noise was loud from constant building work. The hotel had no hot water. We used two other rooms and they were the same.
Waste of money.
Stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

Thanks to my Bro-in-Law who booked it for us, we stayed in Hotel Shilton this time in Mussoorie. It is just at the Library Chowk, Mall Road, so is a perfect location for a relaxed stay. Easy to reach without really searching around.
We had 2 rooms booked, 1 with balcony, 1 without ( which we opted for) .Very nice and comfortable rooms, opt for the rooms with balcony because of the awesome view. Nice clean and well-kept rooms, efficient staff.
Hotel has a Gym, Billiard - room and Spa too, no extra charges for them. and Oh Yes, their food is really excellent.
Rates were pretty reasonable, INR.2600/- for balcony room, 1800/- for the other room (no view), inclusive of taxes, in peak season.
I felt even the other rooms were good enough as we hardly went out to the balcony ; you can savor the views from the parking lot of the hotel too. ( Imagine--parking lot is on the roof of the hotels )
We spent a relaxing 2 days there, with easy walks down the mall road, could even buy snacks for my kids after 9 pm as the shops were so nearby.( Mussoorie goes to bed after 8pm, but some shops do stay open late).

  • Liked — Location, Food, Gym
  • Disliked — 1 huge spider in the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shilton

Address: Main Mall Road | Library Chowk, Mussoorie 248 179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.