We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie to your Saves list
Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Picture Palace Road | Tara Hall Estate, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I had visited Mussoorie long back in the 90's during summer vacation. It was one the most memorable trips we had embarked on. Mussoorie has become quite commercialized and crowded now. Back then, it was an ideal location to escape the heat of Delhi. The weather in May was heavenly, to say the least, and the location of and the view from this hotel was just an added bonus. The hotel has been built like a fort and ensures complete royal treatment for all visitors. The rooms are quite spacious, the staff is warm and courteous, the food is quite delectable and what we loved the most was the outdoor banquet space...the view from here is simply breath-taking. If you are traveling to Mussoorie, then this is where you must stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRORM, General Manager at Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Royal Orchid Fort Resort Mussoorie

Hospitality for the Royal Orchid Fort Resort means making our guests feel at home. Thank you for your
recent stay with us and for your heartening feedback. We are extremely happy to note that we could

create some wonderful moments for you during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to continue
providing you with our services in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Royal Orchid Fort Resort in the definite future.

Regards

Amit Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    86
    15
    11
    13
See reviews for
118
44
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent Property. The hotel interior is really good, with excellent food & staff is really good.The view from room is just Wow, which you will not be able to forget. Prefer Premium Room with Terrace to enjoy excellent view. You can say complete package

Room Tip: Premium Room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRORM, General Manager at Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Ms Ashmita

Greetings from Royal Orchid Fort Resort Mussoorie

Hospitality for the Royal Orchid Fort Resort means making our guests feel at home. Thank you for your
recent stay with us and for your heartening feedback. We are extremely happy to note that we could
create some wonderful moments for you during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to continue
providing you with our services in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Royal Orchid Fort Resort in the definite future.

Regards

Amit Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent property for a family trip, spa was very good, play area for children was excellent, food quality was very very good , room are amazing with ac. Over all property was very good , I really enjoyed the property, every room has its class .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRORM, General Manager at Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mr Rakshit,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Fort Resort Mussoorie

Hospitality for the Royal Orchid Fort Resort means making our guests feel at home. Thank you for your
recent stay with us and for your heartening feedback. We are extremely happy to note that we could
create some wonderful moments for you during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to continue
providing you with our services in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Royal Orchid Fort Resort in the definite future.

Regards

Amit Gupta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamunanagar, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Excellent property, Educated staff, beautiful room interiors with a nicely decorated lobby at seventh floor. Food quality(both veg & non veg.) with a very unique taste & perfectly presented. All in all a very well maintained property in all the senses(must visit)

Room Tip: Corner suites are large & sunny on seventh floor with a beautiful lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRORM, General Manager at Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mr Lalit

Greetings from Royal Orchid Fort Resort Mussoorie

Hospitality for the Royal Orchid Fort Resort means making our guests feel at home. Thank you for your
recent stay with us and for your heartening feedback. We are extremely happy to note that we could
create some wonderful moments for you during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to continue
providing you with our services in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Royal Orchid Fort Resort in the definite future.

Regards

Amit Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

the best of the best part for this property is the location... much away from the glits bits of mall road ..this property offer you a very quite location for a peaceful vacation!! this is a very well maintained property which is well managed.
the staff is good especially the spa service. For the one's who have a knack of personal wellbeing..the spa facilities is must visit and not to be missed.. especially there theripist.
overall a very good experience to stay on with family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRORM, General Manager at Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mr Vineet,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Fort Resort Mussoorie

Hospitality for the Royal Orchid Fort Resort means making our guests feel at home. Thank you for your
recent stay with us and for your heartening feedback. We are extremely happy to note that we could
create some wonderful moments for you during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to continue
providing you with our services in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Royal Orchid Fort Resort in the definite future.

Regards

Amit Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I visited mussoorie with my family and in laws from 9/8/13 - 11/8/13 . we took 3 double rooms packages including breakfast , evening tea with snacks and dinner.
first of all rooms allotted to us were not up to the mark . we were allotted rooms in their old wing where as the new wings had better located rooms with valley view.
after paying 21000/- for 2 nights package and still getting rooms with parking view ?????
not only this their restaurant in charge was so arrogant that initially he refused to serve us the evening tea without even confirming that it is included in our package.
once he was convinced that it is included in our package , he served the tea and snacks with condition that we have to order in one go and he wont be taking orders again.
his attitude made us feel that we are beggars and he is giving us free food.
during dinner time there were other guest who were making lot of noise and nuisance and using abusive languages after drinking ...
as we were accompained with kids it made us uncomfortable .
but their restaurant manager made no efforts in maintaining the decorum of this 4 star property.
it was looking like we were staying in some cheap lodge.
the hotel had arranged a singer ( Lawrence),who made it sure to sing only for those who were offering him tips and rewards.
he did not had any fear of complains ...
when he refused to sing our request and on telling that we will complain to management, he replied to go ahead and he did not care about this..
not only this their stewards were busy serving only those guest who were offering them tips,
for rest it was like self service.
we booked this property as we had an excellent experience with their Jaipur resort, but after getting through all this , we have decided to never visit royal orchid property again.
its better to spend few thousands more and enjoy property like jaypee, claridges. or savoy.

Room Tip: if you can tolerate the arrogant behavior of their staff then only visit royal orchid, and ask them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRORM, General Manager at Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for having stayed at Royal Orchid Fort Resort Mussoorie.
I would like to thank you for taking timeout to share your concerns with us about your stay

We have studied your feedback and have conducted a through investigation on the whole series of events. Please be rest assured that all corrective actions have already been initiated so as to ensure these do not reoccur again.

It is through valuable feedback like yours that we strive to improve our services and exceed customer expectations.

We once again apologize for any inconvenience faced by you and assure you that this is a one off incident and is not a reflection of our services.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again and assure you of best of services

Warm Regards

Amit Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

When we visited this place in June this year the place was undergoing some renovation work. We arrived here after a tiresome journey from Delhi by Shatabdi express and then an uphill taxi ride from Dehradun.
Upon arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe room with terrace. The decor of the hotel is pleasing and has small little artificial plants everywhere.. some with orchids. Each floor has a common area with pleasantly done interiors. Rooms are little cramped but I guess that is how the rooms are in hills.
The restaurant and the buffet area are very good with both open air and closed seating options. The view of the valley is good at night. We were lucky to have rains in June heat and the nice weather made the place very comfortable.
Staff is good and courteous and room service prompt. Though I would have appreciated a better food basket and timely delivery of cake in our package. The food is fresh and the buffet spread was decent. There is a play area for both the elder and the younger kids. Playstation, karoke and outdoor games and cycling keeps them busy.
Karoke was good too as people enjoyed to use their bathroom singing skills. The night bonfire is good but was washed away due to rain on the first night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRORM, General Manager at Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Fort Resort Mussoorie

Hospitality for the Royal Orchid Fort Resort means making our guests feel at home. Thank you for your
recent stay with us and for your heartening feedback. We are extremely happy to note that we could
create some wonderful moments for you during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to continue
providing you with our services in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Royal Orchid Fort Resort in the definite future.

Regards

Amit Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie

Address: Picture Palace Road | Tara Hall Estate, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie assures you of royal treatment in The Queen of Hill Stations. Nestled amidst rich, lush green surroundings and boasting of the most exclusive views of the snow capped mountains and the Doon Valley , Fort Resorts is easily accessible from Dehradun by road & is well connected to Delhi by Train/Air. This majestic edifice of grace and grandeur has preserved the natural beauty of the legendary 6-acre Tara Hall Estate and is a tribute to modern architecture. Built like an ancient fort, Royal Orchid Fort Resort guarantees you both the pleasures of Royalty as well as the leisure of Family with its array of facilities like tastefully done rooms, a multi cuisine restaurant, 24-hour room service, satellite television, Banquet and Conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.