We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT AT ALL WORTH THE PRICE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silver Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silver Rock to your Saves list
Hotel Silver Rock
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Library, The Mall Road, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Panchkula, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NOT AT ALL WORTH THE PRICE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I booked the Hotel through a popular trip website however during the stay discovered that they were giving similar rooms at cheaper price than what I got through the website. I booked a 'Super deluxe' room & was not at all worth its price at about 4K per night.
I requested to change my room to higher floor for privacy & better view reasons but hotel was falsely reported as house full.
The access to parking is very risky & unavoidably damaging to the underside of cars as they have an unusual slope on the ramp which ends abruptly causing contact. Even their drivers are unable to avoid it. The rooms are pretty old, stuffy, no proper ventilation etc. They claim good ventilation by opening windows but with no wire mesh in windows & the rooms being at ground floor, it is a big risk taken & invasion of privacy to keep them open at night.
The toilets are equally bad, with only visible arrangements for exhaust but even keeping it on 24 hours there is foul smell.
There was a fresh air cooler fitted in the room but its mains were kept off, even after request to their Chief Manager, they refused to switch it on to keep the rooms supplied with fresh air & advised to keep windows open.

Although they charge extra for each kid (>2 yr old) but no additional bed or any other amenity is given.


I would not recommend anybody to try their stale food as well, even if it means avoiding the free breakfast.

There are many such hotels there giving better view/services at cheaper price.

Room Tip: "Higher floor room facing Mall will be a little better".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked the standard rooms through online portal. The rooms were not worth Rs 500. I had no other option but to upgrade the rooms by paying other Rs 1200 per day for deluxe rooms. The deluxe rooms have wooden work which looks ages old. The table lamp was out of order. The bathroom shower was not working. The management was keen to extract extra money for kids sharing the same room with parents. The room was not properly cleaned when we checked in. There was foul smell coming out of the bathrooms. There is no LCD in the rooms. You have to pay extra Rs100 at the mall entry for parking the car in hotel. The check out time is 10 am which is very inconvenient. By the time you get up , you start getting calls to vacate the rooms. The hotel looks very good from outside but rooms are very old style with no value for money. I’ll never stay in this hotel in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSilverRock, General Manager at Hotel Silver Rock, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Our response to the Guest feedback is as under:

1. The guests were provide very warm Check-in in the Hotel and were allotted the room as per the booking. But later the Hotel upgraded the Room due to following reasons.
2. The actual booking was for 2 Adults & 1 Kid (5 Years) but the no. of persons were actually 3 Adults & 1 Kid above 8 years.
3. Since the actual no. of Guests were 4, the Guest humbly requested to upgrade the room from Standard to Super Deluxe with assurance of making payment for Room upgrade charge and Extra Person. The Guest was not willing to pay for Extra person (third adult) as it was out of his budget. But later on check-out the Guest made payment only for 1 day for Room upgrade and 1 Extra person and left the Hotel by saying the balance payment of Rs. 1700/- will be made by the Travel Agent who booked the room.
4. On leaving the Hotel the Guest made a remark in our Suggestion / Feedback Book “GOOD SERVICE”
5. The points mentioned by the Guest in the his review are unaccceptable. We maintain our Standard and quality in terms of services we provide to the Guest. All our rooms are very neat & clean good room with complete view of Himalayas / Doon Valley.
6. The Guest had no complaints of what-so-ever nature during his stay. Moreover, Guest also not made any complaints to the Travel Agent during his stay. If any Hotel Guests have any complaints during their stay they are always resolved with our best efforts and we always ensure that the Guest should feel at home.
7. The Guest’s poor feedback about the Hotel on Trip advisor now after writing a “GOOD SERVICE” in the Hotel Feedback is not justified and is unacceptable.
8. As regards the Checkout time 10:00 am, we are having a Peak Season in Mussoorie and the all Hotels in Mussoorie has same Check-out time. The Checkout time is same for all Guests. We allow a late Checkout only in off-seasons. The Hotel is located at a very prime Location on Main Mall Road, the Mall Road entry fee is just Rs. 100/- which is collected by the Local Government Body of Mussoorie and not by the Hotel.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had booked the Booking of Hotel as well as Bus Journey through make my trip.com, Make my trip has recently tied up with Bus operators. The Booking was made by me for my parents both senior citizens. The Bus Operator CITY HEART TRAVELS, are just Horrible people, behavior wise as well their Business dealing, Make my trip it appears is only concerned with their commission hardly any control over the services offered. My parents were made to suffer tortured virtually the entire night.

SILVERROCK is good place to stay, biggest advantage as informed by my Father being the location, the property is very strategically located with good view and Food was reaonably good and overall a satisfactory experiance as far as Hotel is concerned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Friends awesome place to stay i would say best place........classy rooms.......budget wise superb.....food awesome.......worth for money......amazinng place for couples........rooms have superb lightings awesome wood work......i simply dont have words to describe this place...........i recommend all to visit there..........

Room Tip: any view is best bcz u wount feel like looking out as rooms r so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good a far as views of mountains are concerned but you need to walk a lot to reach proper mall shopping area. Also everything is. Ice about hotel just the staff is too less for as compared to other good hotels. Still if you get 50% discount in off season then no regrets as anything like this below 2000/- won't be offered anywhere

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I with my family travelled from Guwahati to Mussoorie via Delhi, Kathgodam, Haridwar and Dehradun and checked in at Hotel Silver Rock at about 4:30 pm on 21th June 2012. I picked my luggage myself from library to the Hotel which was a very tough treat. The reception staff was not very cordial. Nothing Complementary. The room was very spacious. I took a jacuzzi Bathroom and paid extra for it but it did not work well. My children were upset. The bathroom was well made but they were less bothered to clean the same properly.The bed was OK. The sleep in the hotel was good. The cleanliness overall was average. The ambience inside the hotel was average. The hotel staff’s etiquette was average. If you are not going by your personal car it is very difficult to get there with your luggage. The most horrible of all was that at the time of check-out they asked me to search and call the coolie for myself for carrying my luggage from Hotel to the Car being parked at library. I requested them to call a coolie and I will pay for him but they refused. Good property with less management. I checked out on 23rd June 2012 The hotel overall is not worth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in for one day in the month of march. I booked the hotel from make my trip. It was recommended by makemy trip as well. The cost was 3200 for a royal classic room. And it was marked as a 3 star hotel. But after my stay i did not feel any features of a 3 star. I was comparing it with Hotel classic in Nainital, which was a awesome. This room were small, washroom was not good, no balcony, the room was worth not more than 2000. No LCD, No room heater. will not recommend at all. Location is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silver Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Rock

Address: Library, The Mall Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silver Rock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Silver Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silver Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.