We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD, IF YOU WANT TO STAY AWAY FROM MALL ROAD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Save Saved
You added Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Radha Bhawan Estate, Circular Road, Mussoorie 248179, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 62 hotels in Mussoorie
delhi
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GOOD, IF YOU WANT TO STAY AWAY FROM MALL ROAD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

ROOMS WERE GOOD. BIG SIZE ROOMS WITH BALCONY OVERLOOKING DOON VALLEY. BREAKFAST WAS OK. THEY GIVE FOOD MASTI PACKAGE FOR MEMBERS WHICH IS GOOD BUT DINNER WAS NOT GOOD. IF YOU WANT TO STAY AWAY FROM THE MALL THIS HOTEL IS GOOD. TAXI CHARGE Rs. 200 for one way transfer to and from mall road. not up to the standard of 3 star hotel. they dnt hv lift facility. you have to climb minimum 50 stairs to reach reception from the rooms.they serve food in a ugly utensil of steel which was too old and dirty. poor presentation of food while serving room service..

Room Tip: valley view studios are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! Thank you for taking the time to let us know your views. Thank you for your positive feedback on our rooms and views from the rooms. On the other hand, we understand that you were not happy with our F&B service. We will take appropriate action in this regard.

We would like to thank you for your feedback as it would help us in our constant strive for betterment.

We assure you that your next experience will be one that meets your standards. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Member Relations - Sterling Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    24
    5
    10
See reviews for
38
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a hotel with a great potential ruined by the hundreds of steps you have to climb and rude management. Following are the good and bad points

Good points
1) View from rooms is amazing. The rooms themselves are spacious and clean.
2) Food is decent, but nothing to rave about. Service in the restaurant is amazing.
3) Room service is good and so are the amenities and complimentary toiletries.

Bad Points
1) You have to climb hundreds of steps to get from your room to the lobby and the road.
DO NOT GO if you are travelling with children, elderly or disabled. Even healthy people will find it exhausting. The lowest rooms are a heart attack inducing 300+ steps.

2) Food from the ala carte menu is terribly over priced. So opt for the package instead,
3) Management is rude and un-accommodating. They did not give us our choice of rooms despite them being available. We had to literally fight and yell at them to give us good rooms. They were also unwilling to give us discount on food package as we were referred guests of members. We had to fight and point that it is written on the brochure before they acceded.
4) it is situated 2.5 km from the town, so you have to spend at least 600 per car for a round journey every time you need to go to the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our rooms, F&B and room service. However, we regret the inconveniences caused during your stay with us. We would like to let you know that we have made note of all your feedback. We assure you that we will look into it and take the necessary actions.

We thank you for taking the time to let us know your views and please be assured that we are making the changes that will showcase our property in a way that earns your appreciation. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Member Relations - Sterling Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Resort is little away but the wak is nice, I stayed twice, didnot use room service but the view and the place is beauty. Would to hold a cottage for ever. Only problem is rooms starts after 60 steps. They have shop also which has titbits

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

One of the worst and non-co-operative staff. Recently we went on office trip and the experience was disheartning. They did not even provide water even after asking for it several times. WORST.Bathroom drain was choked, tap was broken and housekeeping did not bother to change the towels and linens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are deeply concerned about your experience with our Staff and also note your disappointment with the maintenance. We would like to assure you that we have looked into the issues raised by you and taken corrective measures.

We value our customers’ feedback immensely and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Member Relations - Sterling Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Large Property, and fully equipped. Lots of games for all ages and a very co-operative & supporting staff team. Rooms are about 10yrs old but spacious. Few of them are already under renovation, hence some more time & maybe quite a bit is going to be upgraded. You need to have stamina to walk in and out of your room, anything between 2 to 5 floors. Phew. hence visit to my room was only once a day. Although am informed that an elevator is already under negotiation.
Wonderful team of adventure activity co-coordinators.

Room Tip: Higher floor till they install an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Its a great place to relax after a tiring work week. spacious rooms with beautiful view. Maintenance could be a notch better. Reaching can be difficult as the approach is very steep, but most cars wont have a problem, specially SUVs. The food is good and there are taxis to take you to the Mall at minimal cost. Overall, a very rejuvinating experience.

Room Tip: choose the view carefully, but you have to take the steps for most of them, but its a good walk!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The good:

1. Excellent views of the valley from the room (may depend on the room you choose).

2. Far from the crowd, and hence lots of privacy. This means it's good for couples seeking privacy.

3. Quiet, and pleasat through the day and night.

4. The resort is full of beautiful and fragrant flowers - especially wild roses.

5. The hotel is located in the part of the valley is not heavily crowded, and as a result, one gets views of mountains that are largely uninhabited. This is a huge plus.

The bad:

1. The resort is situated about 2.5 kilo meters away from the main market, but the resort does not provide any kind of transportation for free. Worse yet, the travel desk loots the guests by overcharging them unreasonably. NEVER use their travel desk.

2. One needs to shell out Rs. 300/- just to go out to the market.

3. Breakfast buffet and dinner buffet is very OK for the money they charge. The idlis they serve in the breakfast are the worst I've had in my life.

4. The a-la-carte menu is overpriced like there's no tomorrow to steal. The food was bad in most occasions.

5. The staff in the reception can be exceptionally rude and unhelpful at times. The staff in travel desk were too busy playing pool to answer any of our queries properly.

6. The water was stinky, and at times looked whitish. We were scared to use the tap water. There's simply no excuse for them to supply water of this quality.

7. The geyser did not work efficiently, and this was a major drawback, given that it's a hill station.

8. The bed in the room felt like it had no structural support through it's center. Upon examination, it looked like they had joined two single beds and had put a double bed upon them. The single beds had rollers and they moved away from each other, creating a gap. I had to take the mattress away, push the beds closer, and lock the wheels with the help of several pieces of paper.

9. The window panes were rattling all night because of the wind. Upon examination, it appeard to have completely worn away. I had to adjust those with the help of papers. Same goes for the door which leads to the balcony.

10. The paint and coatings in the wall had marred away.

11. The linens were torn, and had holes in them.

12. The bigegst problem of them all is that rooms are located far away from the restaurant and reception area. If one wants to go to the restaurant, the only way is to climb something like a 100 steps. This wasn't easy, considering we need to get out at least thrice a day for the meals.

This would have been a 1 star, if not for the beautiful views of the valleys and the exotic flowers. Not recommended, unless Sterling does a major overhaul to renovate everything.

If you're going there, make sure that you take your car. They'll rip you off for transportation otherwise.

Room Tip: Pick a room which can be accessed relatively easy, and not via several hundreds of stairs. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Radha Bhawan Estate, Circular Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread over 5 acres, Sterling Holidays Pine Hill offers great views of the splendid Doon Valley. It is 2.5 kms from the Mussoorie town, on a patch of hillside land which is combed by 300 steps that connect various parts of the resort. Most rooms overlook the alluring Doon valley and every room has a balcony or a sit-out to enjoy the view with a local brew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussoorie - Pine Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.