We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Redstone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dehradun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Redstone
Save
You added Camp Redstone to your Saves list
Village Mahindrapur, Dehradun 248001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Dehradun
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bird watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's such a good place for birding and cut - off stay.
Food was excellent. Service was too good. Mr. Shoab the in charge is v.good person.
Over all its a good place to stay particularly for birders.
They have huge land full of jungle and lot of rare birds come there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mohali, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

a very good camp worth visiting, in the lap of nature,with good facilities and tracks and great food, Shoaib is doing an excellent job with good staff,worth visiting,not a place to be missed.we were actually on our off roading weekends but eventually ended up in the evening in Dehradun and we checked on the website and decided to put up for the night.We had a very pleasant surprise,especially in the morning after getting up in the lap of mother nature.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hi,

My name is Ashish Kanojia. I have been to Camp Redstone twice.

The place is really good. The facilities available are also good and they really ensure that cleanliness is there. Food is something for which I can rate them 5 out of 5.
However, the activities that are currently available in the camp should be more adventurous. Apart from this, my experience with the running water lake that is there would have been awesome if they can start a process of cleaning the lake as well.

Overall, I would say that it was a good experience being there at Camp Redstone, Mahenderpur!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited Camp Redstone in Jan'13 for "The Battleground". The location is ideal for a thrilling adventurous trip. It offers everything that a camper needs such as; Nice & Clean Tents, Hygienic & Tasty food, Valley, River, Canals etc. The staff is courteous and helpful. Seldom you'll get signals in your mobile handsets. Be there for 2 nights and explore the surroundings on foot or bicycle. What adds to fun is their natural lake like swimming pool. Ideally you should travel by train to Dehradun and its just 45 min away by road. We are going there again in April'13.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampRedstone, Guest Relations Manager at Camp Redstone, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Camp. We are glad you had a great time at Camp Redstone. We would be looking forward to having you visit our Camp again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Camp Redstone is an ideal destination, when you want to escape Delhi and yet don't want a long road journey. Went in September last year for a short weekend trip, the camp had its own charm. We loved the location and the food was the best part, we were actually quite surprised by the variety in their meals (I guess we underestimated the arrangements possible at a camp). In terms of activities they have scope of adding more adventure activities, however I must add the cave exploration trek near the camp was an ultimate experience (unlike anything I saw anywhere else, a must visit for all the adventure junkies). We loved the river alongside the camp, one can just sit there for hours, doing nothing and just enjoying nature. Not to forget the camp staff, service was nice and they were a helpful bunch, the camp was kept tidy and hygienic at all times.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Camp Redstone is a nice little place in case anyone is planning a weekend getaway from Delhi. I went there in a group of friends during monsoons last year. The place was heavenly after the rains. The river is just a 2 minute walk from the camp and just standing there listening to the roaring water will make you feel very close to nature.
Activities like shooting, flying fox and cycling were fun. Liked the lounge a lot. With charpoys and cushions available, its a nice place to catch up on some leisurely afternoon reading or even a nap. Swimming pool can be improved though.
Sulphur cave is one of its kind. Looks a little scary at first with the small entrance and all but once you're inside what you see is straight out of Discovery Channel.
Looking forward to going there again with a bigger group!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Leaving early on Friday, a comfortable six hours drive saw us at the destination of our choice. What struck us first was the wide open spaces with the interesting gravel floored lounge open from the sides and…classy wooden furniture!!!...Who keeps classy wooden furniture in a camp!!!

I was already beginning to like this place. And…then the kids saw the rope bridge and the water stream and started freaking out. The wife saw the plush interiors of the tents, the teakwood beds, the 4 inch foam mattresses and the fibre rajai. For crying out loud!…they even had toiletries baskets in the tents complete with towel, moisturizer and shampoo.

Camp Redstone was made to order. The vegetarian portion of the lunch was good but the non-veg was divine. Bellies full, the kids decided to get wet in the stream and the wife and self settled into the comfortable lounge chairs with a beer…this is Jannatabad! Evening comes with a nip in the air and I start daydreaming about the bottle of whisky I’m carrying. Soon enough the exceptionally thoughtful and helpful camp staff read my mind and a bonfire is crackling away merrily in the crisp chill as the night sets in.

The tree-men revert to their normal corporate non-office attire and I can see a private bar-be-cue happening – Whoa! A full goat! This is the movies!! Saturday morning starts lazily with a hot cuppa mountain cha and unfolds equally lazily with a morning visit to the secret cave – amazing!

We crawl in on all fours wading through an inch of water before standing up to behold a chapel of live stalactites and stalagmites…different colours telling tales of what mineral deposits the water flowed through before painting these hues onto this ethereal vista.

  • Liked — staff and location
  • Disliked — road
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp Redstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Redstone

Address: Village Mahindrapur, Dehradun 248001, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Dehradun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Redstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.