We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Divya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Divya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Divya
B.1/101, A-B ASSI, | Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 53 hotels in Varanasi
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I arrived Varanasi late at night but the staff at the hotel still be nice and helful. The location is the best because this is quiet place and you can reach here by taxi while the other may not. The staff is ready to help and give you any information you want. Nice hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
7
19
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

A great place to stay in the Assi Ghat area. The rooms are reasonably priced, clean and the staff are very accommodating. It is just around the corner from the site of a small evening aartie and places to rent a boat for a sunrise ride on the Ganges. The restaurant is great too. The staff very patiently helped us to learn some Hindi. We really enjoyed staying there and will certainly stay there again during our next trip to Varanasi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The Hotel got a good web designer!! But they should spend the money on other things!!

The position of the hotel is good, because is at the end of the ghats and there is less stress, but the hotel is surrounded by two streets, so it is always nosey.

Plus:
- Near a good ghat
- internet in the hotel
- blackout save energy

Minus:
- Blood spots on the sheet
- The knobs on the AC are gone..... GRRRRRRRRR
- very nosy because the streets are around the hotel
- to expensive for what they deliver
-15% service charge on the restaurant!
- laundry very expensive

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night as they were fully booked.The room was very clean and spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the front of the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and attentive.
Food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

I had been travelling in India,with a friend, for 6 weeks before arriving in Varanasi alone as a single female traveler.I decided to check into Hotel Divya, after falling sick, as it looked a lot cleaner than many of the surrounding hotels/guesthouses.
The reception staff were more than helpful, not only giving me a slightly cheaper rate on my room, but calling a Doctor out to the hotel for me whenever i needed it (which turned out to be around 5 times over the next 6 days). They were also prepared to get items,such as prescriptions for me, book train tickets and answer any questions i had.

The rooms have clean linens and the bathrooms have hot water and decent water pressure most of the time.They also have tv's with a couple of western channels on and 24 hour room service (over my time there i used the restaurant service,housekeeping and reception direct to my room, and all were fine).

Overall i would recommend Hotel Divya to friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

It's a nice and clean Hotel at Assi Ghat. The rooms are well maintained, the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Excellent location but:
- Room was not so clean
- Morning boat ride booking: first the agreement was 80 rupees per person, after the ride the admin tried to scam me into paying 80 rupees per hour which I did not. They have successfully scammed 2 other people who were with me on the boat though.
- Shabby restaurant

I think the reason the admin won't make an effort to improve they're standards is because they are listed on lonely planet. The guidebook says it is run by a woman but it isn't... the administration must have changed, but the review in the guidebook has not.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Divya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Divya

Address: B.1/101, A-B ASSI, | Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Divya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divya Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Divya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.