We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel we stayed in in India. moved after 1st night.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vaibhav

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vaibhav to your Saves list
Hotel Vaibhav
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Patel Nagar,Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst hotel we stayed in in India. moved after 1st night.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by a travel agent and didn't read reviews before hand. We had the darkest room with only a small window that looked out on a dumpster. We had to ask for new sheets because ours were stained. The bathroom was so small that the shower got everything wet, including toilet paper, towels, toiletry bag. We aske4d to move to a different room and were shown one that was only marginally better. The staff were not even cordial, they were passive and verging on rude.

This hotel is also located in the new town which is classic indian urban sprawl. Dirt, traffic, smog and chaos. If you are a tourist there is no value staying in this area over staying in the old town where all the charm and sights are.

We were supposed to stay two nights but only stayed one and then moved to a new hotel.

Room Tip: Get a window and make sure it is clean before accepting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    19
    20
    23
See reviews for
23
17
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of our Explore tour of Northern India. Our first impression was not good with a poor breakfast and a musty smell in the reception area when we arrived. Our room (111) was very nice and clean with integrated AC and a ceiling fan and was probably the best room we have had during our tour, but other people on the tour said that they were not so lucky and that they were very disappointed with there rooms, especially on the 4th floor. No wifi available, there is a bar in the cellar which is opened until mid-night. It is located on the outskirts of the city but 150RS gets you to the old city and the tourist spots.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agra
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

booked after seeing their rooms on the net. The room given was not on the net. A very ordinary room. Intercom was not working. Half hour after my arrival was wasted in repair of intercom and for that I had to walk to the reception three times. Then AC was not available during power cut which is very frequent. From 12.30 to 5.00 there was no power. They told me it will not hurt during night. It was not there at 9.00 PM. I packed up and asked them to allow me to change hotel. Then they arranged some connection of power back up to my room AC. Otherwise they were cheating?

They talk of 24 hour service. At 6.30 in the morning I ranged the room service for a cup of tea. The man there lifted the receiver and put it down without talking. Reception told me they will talk only after 7.00 AM.

I took a taxi from them. It went out of work while coming back. They did not send a substitute vehicle. I had to make my own arrangement. I asked them to clear the taxi bill in the night itself but they preferred to add the whole amount to my bill without any deduction for failure of their vehicle. No shame. They thought in the morning I will be in a hurry and will pay the amount to avoid a tussle. This again is cheating.

What more? In all, my trip to varanasi was spoiled by these cheaters.

Dr.G.P.Agarwal
gpagarwal@gmail.com

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Rooms were OK: clean enough, working AC, decent bathroom (shower head was kind of moldy)
However, in every corridor there's a desk where some staff is sitting all day (apparently not doing anything) and their phone is ringing constantly.
There's working internet downstairs - you have to pay for it though, around 60 INR/hour.
Location is in the hotel district: that's a bit far away from the city, so if location is key for you, you're in a bad spot

We booked a trip there with a boat ride at sunrise - we figured going to the Ganges itself would be to much of a hassle because of the touts.
We would have to pay around 300 INR per person, which would provide us with a guide, taxi ride from and to the hotel, and the boat ride itself.
Our taxi was too late, so we missed the sunset, and when we arrived at Varanasi we didn't even get a guide from the hotel - we had to pay that guy ourselves. Also, there was no boat ride: no boats were allowed to sail the Ganges because of the current (it had been raining excessively the last few days).

We can live with this: after all, [--] happens. We did refuse to pay though, because we didn't get what was promised: they agreed to that, but then tried to recuperate their losses by charging way to much for the cab fare. We offered the following: if they would give us a discount on the cab fare to the train station, we would still pay for the cab fare to Varanasi. They bluntly refused this: they preferred NOT to get paid instead of giving us what we wantend. In the end, we went to the hotel next door to get our cab fare to the train station.

Get a different hotel, you can get better for this price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were travelling on a budget, but this one was by far the most expensive one we chose, expecting it to be the best also. Wrong!
For a start, people at the reception were not nice at all, like if they were mad at all because we arrived to their hotel.
Then, our room was in front of the "towel collection table" or something like that. There were two or three guys sitting there all the time and the phone was ringing constantly.
Food was expensive, although not bad. Bottled water was super expensive.
The room itself was average, with A/C and TV.
Finally, too far from where the fun is in Varanasi (i.e. Mother Ganga).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I see there have been a few bad reviews... thankfully, my experience was a good one. My friend and I had originally booked at another hotel. We were so desperate for a good place to say that we went to a 4-star hotel, where we were taken care great of. Although they were fully booked, they made all the arrangements at Hotel Vaibhav for us.

I'm pretty sure they got us a special deal, because my friend and I got to stay in one of the suites on the top floor. It was very neat and clean. We enjoyed our meal in the restaurant and had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed. The pillow cover was clean but the pillow itself looked like it was a pretty interesting colour. We had come to expect this, however, so didn't think too much of it.

ONE thing that spooked us a little was that the key system was one where you had to put the key into a holder to be able to turn lights on and off. We got the feeling someone had been in our room, as the light switches where in the opposite position to what we had left them in when we came back from dinner. We rang reception and they said no one had been up. Nothing was missing and as far as we could tell, our belongings hadn't been touched. We figured it was just one of those things that can't be explained, but we were a bit uneasy for a while afterwards.

All in all, a good stay! Varanasi was generally terrible for us, and staying here helped us enjoy ourselves a that much more.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The property is nice and new looking from the front and located in one of the less congested area of varanasi,very near to railway station. Lobby has the look of a 3 star hotel.Tthe rooms are ok but not ventillated.Power back up does not support AC or TV and power cuts are frequent and for reasonably longer period.Room service is good and food is excellent. I had lots of praise for the decor and ambiance of gazal restaurent,but it is a bit ove rpriced. Staff at the counter are kind enough to help .I wanted to visit the varanasi ghats and they arranged a private auto with a local guide for me for a reasonable price.All i all a good hotel with nice food and service but high priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vaibhav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaibhav

Address: 56 Patel Nagar,Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vaibhav 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vaibhav reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaibhav Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vaibhav, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.