We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiva Ganges View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shiva Ganges View to your Saves list
Shiva Ganges View
B-14/24 Mansarovar Ghat | Near Andhra Ashram, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Heavy Discount !!
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Lahore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I enjoyed a lot my stay at Shiva Ganges View, due to the perfect location of the guest house and the outstanding view from the balcony.
At walking distance from all the main places of interest and busy areas, it is, at the same time, a very peaceful place from sunset to sunrise.
I should also add that services were good and very punctual.
The only negative point was the price: that's why I'm only giving 4 stars. Even if it is probably justified for someone staying for only one or two nights, using the AC full time, I would like to suggest the owner to offer a more attractive package for long stays, or in winter when air-conditioning is not required.

Room Tip: Rooms located at mid-floor, facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    20
    10
    12
See reviews for
17
57
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little better than decent, but priced at a luxury level. After staying in many hotels around India, this is priced 50% more than it's worth.

The rooms are adequate, with a nice coat of paint but little else. Futon type mattress, no available electrical plugs, lizards on the walls, and tons of bugs in the bathroom. Various unpleasant surprises, like maid service in the morning only.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Airport pick-up very smooth despite our late arrival and driver very friendly.

Lovely, characterful hotel with friendly staff. And after spending several days wondering up and down the ghats, we felt that the location was perfect. Right on the waterfront and lots of bustling activity on the ghat during the day but very quiet at night (whilst being easy walking distance away from the ghats that are busier at night).

We splashed out on one of the posher rooms and it was very nice and characterful with a great view of nearby rooftops (with occasional monkey antics to watch), the ghat below (great for people watching), and, of course, the Ganges.

The staff were friendly and helpful (the housekeeper, maire de, and driver were all great) and Tandon Jee (the owner) was very solicitous and keen to please. We had the impression that Tandon Jee has taken on board previous comments on Tripadvisor about his being a little pushy and now makes a point of explaining to guests that while he can get them boatmen, guide, etc. they are also very welcome to do their own thing. Certainly, we didn’t find ourselves being pushed into anything and when we did book a boat ride through the hotel, we found the price very reasonable.

Breakfasts on our private balcony were good. We did get ill on the day we were leaving Varanasi but didn’t necessarily pick up whatever it was at the hotel, as we’d also eaten elsewhere. Varanasi is pretty dirty and hygiene standards are poor, so it’s worth avoiding pre-cut fruit, salad, and dairy (that said, you must make an exception for a lassi from Blue Lassi – about a 15 min wonder from the hotel. They do a roaring trade and if you go you’ll find out why).

Varanasi is and extraordinary place (definitely a highlight of our time in India) and this hotel was a perfect base for seeing it. We’d definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had one of the more expensive rooms on one of the upper floors with a private balcony and Ganges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

specially the owner and the staff were very helpfull in any situation. they are very well connected in varanasi and are always ready to arrange taxis, flighttickets, toures, laundry etc.

Its a nice place to relax in the colourefull and hectic atmosphare in varanasi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a very good experience here. We were grateful they could accommodate our last minute booking and that someone was there to collect us from the train before sunrise. Location right on the river is fantastic! Also right next door to the awesome lotus lounge. Food is quite good at the guesthouse itself too and you can eat on the roof while you watch boys fly kites on the river. We had one the cheaper rooms on the ground floor, spacious and clean (by indian standards). It can be loud in the morning as pilgrims gather as the top of the ghat, monkeys wrestle, locals hang out at the silk shop just as cross the way - I loved the soundscape but my boyfriend would have preferred to sleep. The owner and son will invite you to sit at the desk and give you the sell - they can connect you with boats, silk merchants, massages, etc. This can be somewhat intimidating but you'll be reassured that they want to make sure you have a great time and will relent eventually if you're clear and polite! We did accept their help with some things and were very pleased with prices & experiences. Would discourage you from having laundry done here - they said it was washed in a machine but it sure smells like the river!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The manager is a little overbearing selling extra services . His assistant Getindra and the rest of the staff are courteous and helpful. Nice views of the Ganges but rooms are 3500 to 6000. Still a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

You could spend all day just sitting on your balcony looking at all the activities nearby the Ganges. We got a free upgrade of our room. We stayed in a beautiful room on the first floor with own balcony, on which breakfast was served. The room has high ceilings, is niceley decorated and clean. The location is perfect in the middle of the main burning ghat and Assi ghat.
The manager must have read the comment in the Lonely Planet about his behaviour, because he was really friendly. He only suggested a boattrip twice and did not insist after refusing his proposal.
Nextdoor is really nice rooftop restaurant Lotus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shiva Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Ganges View

Address: B-14/24 Mansarovar Ghat | Near Andhra Ashram, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Shiva Ganges View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Ganges View Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiva Ganges View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.