We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but over price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ganpati Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ganpati Guest House to your Saves list
Ganpati Guest House
D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good location but over price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our rooms with Balcony and side river view are 2500-3500 rupees, but the rooms are very small and the restaurant is just in front of our rooms so Late night and early morning are very noisy.
The best of Ganpati GH is location, just in the middle of all attraction places.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    516
    96
    26
    34
See reviews for
102
454
215
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a non AC , non TV room (in March) and it was good value, the overhead fan perfectly adequate. Only issue was that our room had a thin wooden shared wall and we could hear everything from next door.
Restaurant is good and has lovely view of river.
If you are arriving for the first time you must get a transfer. Taxis can't get to within 200m of the hotel and you'll never find it without help! (Unless you walk along the ghats which is hardly practical with luggage.)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Ganpati with friends. Hotel is best located to watch all the activity on the Ganges River from the roof top and easy to walk to . It is clean,safe, comfortable with nice common areas and a great rooftop where we had very good food . The staff is very nice and helpful. We chose the pick up from Varanasi Airport with them since we heard it is hard to find, it was easy and efficient, the staff will help you with your luggage for a short walk from main road .
We definetely recommend this place to anybody

Room Tip: Try to book the larger rooms with Gange views. if not , the small ones downstairs are comfortable an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Although we had already booked in another hotel, we decided to change to Ganpati Guest House. Ir was the best choice; it is not only at very short distance from every place, but it is clean, nice, confy, has hot water & great rooftop restaurant (best view of the river in the city). It also has free wifi both in the room and in the common places. Very easy to find. 100% recommended, #valueformoney

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Ganpati and enjoyed our stay. Varanasi was a bit crazy with it being the weekend before Holi with boys throwing water bombs etc. We spent time sitting in the common area by reception and at the roof restaurant enjoying the view of Ganges River and life along it during breakfast and dinner in the evenings. We had a more basic A/C room in the main courtyard so could hear everything but it was always relatively quiet in the evenings and our room was comfortable and very clean and had nice decoration. The guesthouse also arranged for our train tickets to Jodhpur(he only books online if there is availability) and charged us 100 INR commission per ticket which we felt was very reasonable. He also arranged for Autorickshaw pickup(which is free) from the train station but beware that no vehicles can go into the old city so you will need to walk with your luggage for 15 minutes through the narrow/busy streets and alleys to the guesthouse once the Autorickshaw drops you off. We had a guide leading us to the guesthouse and backpacks so we were fine with the walk but it is not for anyone with large, awkward luggage that can not be easily carried(this is true for any guesthouse in the Old City). The entrance to the guesthouse is nothing to look at(looks like a dark alleyway entrance but opens up to a very nice courtyard on the inside. The front reception looks very professional as are the staff though their orange outfits look like what the prisoners wear in the U.S. TV shows. The restaurant is also reasonable in price and serves good vegetarian food as well as breakfast. A large pot of coffee is only 50 rupees which is cheap and good for 3-4 people.

Ganpati also has their own AC taxi service and it costs 300INR to Varanasi Junction train station but you will have to walk to the taxi stand (15 minutes). The guesthouse will arrange one or two staff to help carry your luggage as they lead you to the taxi stand.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found it to be a small oasis from day to day life in Varanasi and the craziness that makes it unique.

The only criticism I would make is that the staff seemed very quiet and did not smile alot so we did not feel extremely welcome though everyone was professional and service was good and the place was kept very clean.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge a bit, get one on a higher level and not in the main courtyard as that is whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I loved this place.

It ticked so many boxes for me. I was travelling with my 9 year old son and I wanted him to really soak up Varanasi with all his senses.

This place is practically in the ganges. You can sit here and watch it ALL going on. The view will knock your socks off and if it doesn't you're probably not wearing any! The sights, sounds, smells..... Its all here.

I loved the slightly ramshackle, don't give a damn attitude to decor, it's gaudy paint colours, its roof top concrete restaurant with views of the river & rooftops with kids flying kites, monkeys jumping from wall to wall and women hanging our washing.

I loved the little maze of alleys you needed to navigate to get there, i loved the guide they sent to greet us at the airport (ask for him, his name is Sunil and he became our new best friend for 3 days, such a lovely smart guy), & I loved the cheeky monkeys that hang out on your terrace & watching the sun rise up over the river right there from your balcony. .

This is the place to stay if you want the full experience. Its a little rough around the edges but diamonds are in their raw state.

I don't believe there is a better view in the whole of Varanasi.

Thanks for having us, we will be back!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Very good location. We were able to get a suite with a private balcony overlooking Ganga river. Right in the middle of the ghats and old city which was ideal. Restaurant average food (Sheenu).

Taxi pickup from airport was waiting when we arrived despite being 1 hour late.

Now, a note of caution in regards to the guide (Daleep/Daleeb) who was sent by the hotel to collect us from the airport. Although attentive and reasonably good English, his information was somewhat average. He took us on some walking tours of the ghats and city but did not warn us of any scams and actually led us directly into one at the burning Ghat. I'd recommend not taking a closer look with the "priest" who claims to be working with the charity and the hospices. You're encouraged heavily to donate to 2 older women who are also allegedly working with the hospices. The donation is meant to pay for firewood used to fuel the pyres. The price quoted to us was 650rupees per kilo. The actual price is 2-3 rupees per kilo as quoted to us days later by a government certified guide. Yes, naive on our part, but I want to make sure no one else is taken advantage of. My recommendation is to NOT use Daleep/Daleeb as a guide. He is not certified by the government and I doubt heavily that he is a medical student as he claims. It is unfortunate that the hotel is associated with this "guide".

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ganpati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganpati Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.