We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, very polite, very good view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ganpati Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ganpati Guest House to your Saves list
Ganpati Guest House
D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very clean, very polite, very good view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We staid 2 nights at Ganpati Guesthouse and it was just perfect. Nice and big room at a good price, big rooftop with restaurant and amazing view of the Ganges and surroundings, nice staff and very clean for indian circumstances. We recommended this hotel to other backpackers as well.

Furthermore it's located in the middle of the old town, which means, you're in the very center and from there you can easily explore the city and "real India"...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    553
    104
    28
    35
See reviews for
111
508
235
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I've been making my way across the top of India, staying in hotels/havelis that have averaged around $20 CDN a night. But I knew I would be spending a few days in Varanasi so I splurged a bit and booked a superior room at Ganpati. Good call. The room was was smallish, but lovely: nicely painted, nice details, and sparkling clean. And best of all, it had a long private balcony with a wonderful view of the Ganges (room 14 if you're interested). I could have sat out there all day.

The guest house is located right on the river, deep in the old part of the city. (I would recommend having them pick you up at the train station because it's something of a maze.) You can walk to the main shopping street easily enough, various ghats, and restaurants. Ganpati itself has a restaurant on the roof which is just fine and has great views.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. I had a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The stay at Ganpati helped me to closely experiernce Banaras.Overlooking the Ganges,it has an ideal location, as its close to the ghat and major bazaars as well.Though The winding alleys could surprise you at every corner .The rooms were simple but tastefuly designed.Reasonably priced.The service and food is really average and laid back.The place has a very cosmo vibe to it.I was able to explore the colorful bazaars.I took a single room(Rs 1000) so I had the bathroom attached.The dorms have common bathroom area.Good for in young group

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Ganpati Guest House served me very well, with a fine rooftop restaurant to boot. It overlooks the Ganges River, perfect for romantic escapades and happy humble journey's. Close to what you will need to see. Ask for Lalit as your tour guide because he knows the way, he is India through and through and will provide you with the best advice you need to hear throughout your journey. Top notch. 5 stars.

Room Tip: Should you want a humbling experience, go for a room without the view. It will be a more valuable j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The best guest house in Varanasi. Nice garden, big and clean rooms with AC. Not so expensive. Wifi, laundry...everything you need! Staff efficient and sympathic. There is another building which is less beautiful but very close to the main building. We really enjoyed the Ganpati guest house.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The view is great, service is ok. The rooms are comfortable but not for the best. It's strange that there are many Chinese traveller which you cannot find in other hotel. It's not easy to find the place but they send people to lead us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was the only hotel on the trip where we were actually met at the station as arranged, just as well as the downside to the magnificent riverside location is that there is no vehicle access and you have a 10 minute walk through alleys, the galis of the old city to get there, which would have been very stressful without a guide. We had a room with balcony, 'best view' which was delightful and had a bathroom which worked well. Rooftop terrace cafe is a good place to relax. Good location for boat trips and riverside action. Would choose again.

Room Tip: Go for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ganpati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganpati Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.