We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Restaurant - really good !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hindusthan International Varanasi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hindusthan International Varanasi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hindusthan International Varanasi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C-21/3, Maldahiya, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 53 hotels in Varanasi
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant - really good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I attended a wedding in Varanasi and dined here a few days later on the way back to the town my husband's family is from. I have read the other reviews and all I can say is that I loved the feel of the place from the moment I stepped into the cool and serene lobby with its impressive atrium and comfortable sitting areas. My husband and his family went to arrange for a table in the restaurant with all the wood panelling and glass ( there are two restaurants and I don't recall the names). This was the more formal of the two and I found that it did not disappoint. We had a constant "parade" of dishes that pleased the palate ; especially the chilli chicken and Chinese noodle ( chow mein) type dishes were awesome. Eggplant and other vegetarian dishes were also wonderful. White table cloths and attentive service complemented the overall "starched" experience - which was quite welcome to me ! A great place to eat and freshen up while staying in Varanasi or en route elsewhere ! We are now considering hosting the next family wedding here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    46
    34
    30
See reviews for
49
39
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Tipperary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for two days. The hotel was not too bad, but we were put into a single room, so the room was very small. It was central to everything. Food was not brilliant, however as I was not very well I spent most of the two days in bed. One redeeeming factor for my husband was that one of the bars allowed smoking! Would we stay here again, probably not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Location was fairly central for the Ganges and other attractions and friendly staff and the size of the rooms were good. There is lot of opportunity to improve the service quality and type of food offered in buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What can I say. Definately the worst hotel we stayed in during our 18 days in India. Initially our room was filthy, dirty finger prints around the electrical fittings and a window you couldn't see out of, plus the room stunk of smoke. Eventually we were offered another room. This had only one light working in the bathroom and the fridge was broken. We asked the Deputy Manager about this and he promised to get it fixed. Over the course of two days we asked a further three times about fixing these and each time received profuse apologies and 'it will be fixed in five minutes', but nothing happened. When we dined in the restaurant on our last night my biryiani took an age to prepare, guess they don;t know how to prepare such an unfamiliar dish, and when it arrived it was chicken, not the mutton I had ordered. When I pointed this out to the waiter he took my fork, pushed it through the food on my plate and to his surprise came up with a drumstick! The previous day it had taken 45 minutes to prepare cheese on toast in an empty restaurant. Final straw when we went to leave they had mis-placed one of my signed receipts yet wanted me to settle their bill without all the dockets. Took them almost half an hour to locate this from their accounts department. Their level of incompetance was raised to new highs, what with lies, surley staff and my only advice to anyone rash enough to consider staying here is....NO, don't do it.
But then was it all our fault, after all the room we were transfered to was 101!

Room Tip: Another hotel, any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed this hotel April 6th and I fill really disappointment.

First, washroom is totally dirty. I can't shower because room was so dirty. Really sucks...

Second, breakfirst was really sucks. All cups are broken and food quality was sucks... And there are so many dirt on coffee machine but no one try to clean. really like trash.

Third, really terrable hotel front. I call taxi from hotel but taxi driver don't want to go because I'm the only passenger, even I pay more then 10 times higher than local taxi.

Please.. if you don't want to hasitate your travel, never stay this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Really helpful friendly staff and the size of the rooms were good. Location was fairly central for the Ganges and other attractions. Two major problems however: the room was really hot and the a/c was terrible. The fan on the ceiling cooled it down but was noisy enough to prevent sleep. The other issue we had was the traffic noise which was again very loud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is located very centrally, especially for those who are visiting the temple and the ghats. At Rs.5000 a night for a standard double, the rooms were spacious, well equipped, modern decor with wooden flooring, comfortable beds, and all the elements that go into making a room comfortable. Service was consistently good. The bad - you would get hot water sometimes and barely warm water most of the times; the AC did not have independent control in the room - you either turned it on or off! For a hotel at this level, these were serious lapses that hopefully they will fix.

I made the mistake of using the travel desk at the hotel for car hire. Apart from the exorbitant charges, the car's AC could not cool even when the outside temp was just 29 degrees C. They charge Rs.1200 for an airport drop (about 23 kms to the airport one-way). Unfortunately the travel desk seriously compromised our hotel experience. While giving the hotel a rating of 4, I have ignored my unhappiness with the Travel Desk.

Room Tip: DO NOT use the travel desk at the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hindusthan International Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hindusthan International Varanasi

Address: C-21/3, Maldahiya, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hindusthan International Varanasi 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hindusthan International Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hhi Varanasi Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hindusthan International Varanasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.