We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House to your Saves list
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
D, 16/28-A | Dasaswamedh, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
free pick upward
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food,Great view of river Ganga from rooms !
Just love this hotel for its location.
Just 1 min walk to the Ganga.
Very well decorated and furnished rooms,it has very good roof top restaurant with a variety of delicious food,very helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    167
    92
    35
    31
See reviews for
59
190
78
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

stayed here several times. Yes, rooms are small, electricity can be unreliable, there R a lot of stairs and the location is not extremely quiet but this is the standard for all accommodations along the Ganges and in the old city of Varanasi. Having said this, Rashmi provides excellent service and value for your money all things considered. You won't do better than this. The staff are extremely helpful and the food in the restaurant is very good, hygienic and service is good. If you visit Varanasi give this place a try.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

A rickety fan threatens to fall on my brother and I any second. We had a tv, but no wires, cable box, nothing. Useless. The a/c, if left on, will short circuit and you have to wait 10-15 mins before turning it on again, unless you use only mild a/c. One night, my brother turned on his bed reading light and the light bulb exploded, filament out and burning hot bulb leaving a burn mark on his sheets. Fortunately, he was up when it exploded, not on his bed where serious injury could have occurred. Hot water heater didn't work, but luckily we were there during the monsoon season so it didn't matter much anyways. The faucet handles are turned different ways to reach full blast or off, and it also needs to be turned further than expected --after washing my clothes in the faucet I figured the couple of drips would soon go off as they were slowly subsiding. Well, I was wrong because it kept dripping while I ate dinner and flooded the bathroom. After asking the front desk for Wi-fi, we were told they were fixing it, or something like that. No in-room wifi but it works if you sit next to the front desk all the way on the ground floor. I know the afore seem like good enough reasons to avoid it, but there's more. Right next door is a unesco world heritage site containing astronomical instruments, sundials, etc. created in the mid 1600's. Unfortunately, most instruments have been deemed useless by the inappropriate guesthouse. The ones that do work only work at certain times of day when the bulky rashmi guesthouse's shadow is not cast over it. One reason the hotel was built and has not yet been destroyed is because it is owned by and funds the local mafia. I don't usually write reviews, but I wanted to spread the word and tear down this structure by lowering it's review score so that it will suffer financially, and hopefully go bankrupt.

Thank you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Rashmi Guest House -- the room was small but clean, and the bathroom was OK, nothing special. Despite its claims, it had no WiFi, and I didn't want to pay to use the (probably virus-infested) PC's. However, the upside to being offline was that I could immerse myself in all that was marvelous and magical about being in the holy city of Varanasi. Through the air vents, I could hear the bells and chants give way to the adhan (Islamic call to prayer) before dawn, and then in reverse at dusk. It was a bit of a trudge to get up and down the stairs, but the view of the Ganges from my window was incomparable. On the rooftop restaurant, the view was even more spectacular, as you could see the boats on the river, the faithful doing their morning ablutions, the activity at the ghats, and hear but not see the din of the traffic beyond the narrow shop-lined streets of this most ancient of cities. Indian breakfasts (coffee, poori with aloo bhaji) were delicious; dinners were good, too. Location was excellent -- very close to the main Dashashwamegh ghat where the spectacular nightly pooja ceremonies are held. All things considered, I think this was a good value, and very much in keeping with the spirit of this place, which eschews luxury and modernity out of respect for the history and spiritual significance of one of the world's most ancient living cities.

Room Tip: Must get a room facing the River Ganges -- priceless view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Because this was my first time in India, I did not know how to find another hotel, get my money back for the other nights, etc. There are open wires hanging out below the mirror in the bathrooms, tvs useless- with no cable to even attach to the wall, an exploding light bulb above our bed and a faucet in the bathroom that occasionally loosened causing water to flow. We heard that the building was built through bribes as it is an illegal location; It overshadows an ancient astronomical observatory, thus rendering it useless. Also, the power goes out regularly and the wifi is intermittent. I did not know that you could reset the a/c yourself so spent a long sweaty night there. The kitchen for the restaurant was between the stairs and the diners; it was a bit disconcerting as you saw flames shooting up and hoped they could douse them. I could not wait to get out of this place.

Room Tip: my tip is don't go here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One thing was important fo me : location.
It is really outstanding, close to the river, in the middle of te ghats.
restaurant on top, simple but not expensive
free Wifi.
small rooms but very clean. Hot water.
Pick up and drop service. very important because the guest-house is in the middle of the old town, not reacheable by car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

During January 2013 a friend and I arrived at Varanasi. There we met Pappu - a wonderful Tour Guide.
Pappu took and guided us to all the holy and important places in Varanasi.
During our tour we encountered unique sites between the mysterious alleys of the city.
Pappu has tremendous knowledge and to each place we arrived he knew the special historical story or the myth hiding behind it.

Our tour was extremely exciting and enjoyable due to Pappu's guidance - we would've never been able to reach and comprehend these locations without him.

I highly recommend Pappu to guide your visit in Varanasi - i promise you'll have an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House

Address: D, 16/28-A | Dasaswamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Palace on River (Rashmi Guest House) is a newly opened hotel on the edge of the River Ganges. We are located at Manmandir Ghatt, Varanasi adjacent to Raja Mansingh's Observatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Palace On The River, Rashmi Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.