We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I had been in the U.S. I would have changed hotels” 2 of 5 stars
Review of A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House to your Saves list
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
D, 16/28-A | Dasaswamedh, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“If I had been in the U.S. I would have changed hotels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Because this was my first time in India, I did not know how to find another hotel, get my money back for the other nights, etc. There are open wires hanging out below the mirror in the bathrooms, tvs useless- with no cable to even attach to the wall, an exploding light bulb above our bed and a faucet in the bathroom that occasionally loosened causing water to flow. We heard that the building was built through bribes as it is an illegal location; It overshadows an ancient astronomical observatory, thus rendering it useless. Also, the power goes out regularly and the wifi is intermittent. I did not know that you could reset the a/c yourself so spent a long sweaty night there. The kitchen for the restaurant was between the stairs and the diners; it was a bit disconcerting as you saw flames shooting up and hoped they could douse them. I could not wait to get out of this place.

Room Tip: my tip is don't go here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    187
    97
    36
    33
See reviews for
68
199
85
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One thing was important fo me : location.
It is really outstanding, close to the river, in the middle of te ghats.
restaurant on top, simple but not expensive
free Wifi.
small rooms but very clean. Hot water.
Pick up and drop service. very important because the guest-house is in the middle of the old town, not reacheable by car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

During January 2013 a friend and I arrived at Varanasi. There we met Pappu - a wonderful Tour Guide.
Pappu took and guided us to all the holy and important places in Varanasi.
During our tour we encountered unique sites between the mysterious alleys of the city.
Pappu has tremendous knowledge and to each place we arrived he knew the special historical story or the myth hiding behind it.

Our tour was extremely exciting and enjoyable due to Pappu's guidance - we would've never been able to reach and comprehend these locations without him.

I highly recommend Pappu to guide your visit in Varanasi - i promise you'll have an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in the old part of the city in the heart of the old market, the ghats and the cacophony that makes Varanasi the city it is. The location makes it easy to access the ghats and the ceremonies but also to be in the midst of the touts, sanitation challenges and general chaos. We enjoyed the mayhem but the hotel wasn't the highlight. We found the staff less than helpful when asking for help or when dining. The restaurant servers were ambivalent and bored on being rude. Service came only when prodded. While the rooms are very small, we appreciated the AC and fans when the power was on.

If you want a reasonably comfortable room with AC , access to the ghatts and a good view of the river - this works fine but just don't expect much more. If you can navigate the old city there are lots of other places to find food and friendliness.

Room Tip: A room with a view is well worth it during the hot months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Rashmi is an oasis of calm and good food in the sometimes disorienting city of Varanasi. Yet it is right in the center of things so you never have to drive if your intention is to stay on the river, shop near to it, and, of course, visit the ghats. The Rashmi has a Hotel's usual compliment of touts seeking to show the city and its jewels to the tourists. We hooked up with Pappu who delivered us to a sandalwood dealer for malas, Babaji's ashram for some meditation, and Shree Anandamayee Ma's ashram for the same, and to buy some books. We enjoyed lovely river trips and learned the back 'roads' (walking) with Pappu. He was a good friend. I love the Rashmi. I have been there twice and would return.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the Ganga
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've stayed here several times. Yes, rooms are small, electricity can be unreliable, there R a lot of stairs and the location is not extremely quiet but this is the standard for all accommodations along the Ganges and in the old city of Varanasi. Having said this, Rashmi provides excellent service and value for your money all things considered. You won't do better than this. The staff are extremely helpful and the food in the restaurant is very good, hygienic and service is good. If you visit Varanasi give this place a try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It's our second time here. Ramesh was nice enough to reserve a room for us even though we only booked one day before. This time we were given a 'new' room, and we felt better than last time we were here.

At the main ghat, easy access to everything, rooftop restaurant, everything is fine, but we just thought maybe it was a bit overpriced.

The next day they had no vacancy, so we were referred to another guest house, Shivakashi Guest House, which belongs to the same owner, later we found out, a budget one, not too close to the main ghat, only 10-min walk, but with a warmer manager, and we liked it much better there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House

Address: D, 16/28-A | Dasaswamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Palace on River (Rashmi Guest House) is a newly opened hotel on the edge of the River Ganges. We are located at Manmandir Ghatt, Varanasi adjacent to Raja Mansingh's Observatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Palace On The River, Rashmi Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.