We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shiva Kashi - Pleasent place & very fiendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shivakashi Guest House

Save Saved
You added Shivakashi Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivakashi Guest House
D22 / 4, Chausatti Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 137 Varanasi B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shiva Kashi - Pleasent place & very fiendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Shiva Kashi Guest house is an excellent place to stay in Varanasi. I have been several times to this city and it can be very hectic and so a calm and friendly place to stay is very important and this hotel provides this. The rooms are cosy and I have stayed in both the attached and non attached rooms on different trips and both types are great value with clean lime green walls and places to hang mosquito nets and shelves to put your stuff. The hotel manager as mentioned in other reviews is very friendly and helpful and a mine of information about India and Varanasi. I have stayed at several guest houses in Varanasi but Shiva Kashi is one i would definably recommend.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget, attached or non attached are fine as only a few room share each bathroom. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivakashiguesthouse, Manager at Shivakashi Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for review, I will try to maintain my service in more better way that guest should feel that they are at home .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

By far the most hospitable place that my partner and I have stayed in India. It was difficult to find, but once you have your bearings it is in a fabulous location, about 30 seconds walk from the Ganges. Sanju, the manager, is very friendly and incredibly helpful! The shower wasn't very hot but apart from that, the rooms are clean and comfy. All round a fantastic stay, largely due to the hospitality and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivakashiguesthouse, Manager at Shivakashi Guest House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for review, I will try to give more better service to my guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This place really rocks. Clean, tidy but most of all a place with a perfect staff. They provided for almost everything, providing transport, tourguides and even helping us out with traintickets. And yes, without ripping us off. So this place comes highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivakashiguesthouse, Manager at Shivakashi Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for review, I would like to give best service to my guest that they feel like there own home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hostel is an absolute nightmare to find, defiantly worth paying locals to show you the way. Lovely staff, family very kind and helpful.
The room was very small but cosy had its own shower which actually had hot water! Very lucky in India. The bathroom was mouldy and dirty but for the price it's what you expect. Be careful with bottled water in the hostel I brought a sealed bottle (and drank some) and it had the top cut off and glued back on. Examine your bottles more than you think you need to!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivakashiguesthouse, Manager at Shivakashi Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for review, I would like to give best service to my guest that they feel like there own home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It's the best places i have stayed in India. good location with nice view rooftop, especially sitting at the rooftop in the evening and early morning which is amazing.

the manager Sanjeev is so nice and kind. i tried to find a nice saree in market but did not make it. i was so disappointed back to hotel since i will leave for agra next day. Sanjeev helped me to make a dream come true --- bought a beautiful saree and weared it took a nice picture at Taj Mahal.

BTW Sanjeev is still single man! haha

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivakashiguesthouse, Owner at Shivakashi Guest House, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I am very thankful to all my guest who send there reviews to trip ad visor and I hope to give more better service in future.Thanks again to all my guest .
Sanju
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at Shivakashi. The manager is very kind and gentle. It was so lovely to have such a relaxed atmosphere to return to from the hectic streets of Varanasi. The location is great and rooms were well priced, spacious and clean.
An all round good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivakashiguesthouse, Manager at Shivakashi Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for review, I would like to give best service to my guest that they feel like there own home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

One of the best places I have stayed in India. Good location, nice rooms, and the service is great. Very welcoming and the manager is a beautiful man with beautiful energy. It's very clean and tidy. If I ever come back I will definitely stay here again. 10/10!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivakashiguesthouse, Manager at Shivakashi Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for review, I would like to give best service to my guest that they feel like there own home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shivakashi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivakashi Guest House

Address: D22 / 4, Chausatti Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Stayalok Lahiri Mahashays Asram, 1 minute walk to Ganga (river), 5 minute walk to main ghat, 10 minute walking distance to main road. It's in the heart of the city, nice rooftop to see the full Ganga view, 15 minutes walking distance to Golden Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Shivakashi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shivakashi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.