We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big thumbs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi to your Saves list
International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi
C-32/4, Vidyapeeth Road | Landmark: The Alley Opposite to Gate #2 of Vidyapeeth University, Varanasi 221002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What goes for hostels, International Travelers’ Hostel is the best one I have stayed in during my time in India.

The rooms are light and clean. What is very important for me is that the bed sheds was clean as well. Having traveled India for a while it was a delight to sleep in a good soft bed! The common area is a light and colorful area as well where you can sit and relax after a day in the busy Varanasi.
The staff and the owner are very friendly and take good care of you! I got sick while staying in Varanasi and the owner and his family took so good care of me, provided me with whatever I needed to get better!

The hostel is located 5-10 minutes from the railway station so you don’t need to take an auto in order to reach it. Still it is easy, and fast, to reach the old city. It is located in a quiet area of Varanasi which for me weighs a lot!

If I go back to Varanasi I will definitely stay at International Travelers’ Hostel and will recommend everybody else to do the same!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Josefine, it is our responsibility to take care of all our guests, and especially so in case of sickness. It was splendid to see you recover and be back up on your feet!

I would also like to thank you a ton for your propitious words! There is nothing like witnessing a guest smile :)

Looking forward to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, very clean hostel. Close to the trainstation and fairly easy to get to the ganges river and the main ghats. Definitely recommendable to any traveller! Probably the best hostel in varanasi for solo travellers

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful words! Your delight is what we aim for, and it is an absolute pleasure to know that we were able to make your travel experience a little bit better. In anticipation of serving you again in the future, we vow to constantly work towards improving our standards even further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This little guesthouse is the best place to stay after a day in the crowded city. It's clean, quit and the hosting family is very nice. The owner, Aschish, is a +-30 year old ex traveller who knows what backpackers want. We went to a bar together, he gives good advice for restaurants and cares about any of our needs. There is even a washing machine. It's not close to the crowded city but close to the train station. A 40 rupee cycle richaw takes you to the old city and the Ganges. The food you can order here is good, I advise you the pizza. The athmosphere was great because of the setting. It was the place where I felt the best in India.

Room Tip: The 5 persons dorm is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It is said that we need to put ourselves in the shoes of others in order to truly understand what they need. We try to do just that! We put together every effort to make you feel home and to make your travel experience rather better. It is thrilling to know that we could earn your appreciations. Thank you so much for the opportunity to let us serve you! Hopeful to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I staid in Varanasi for 4 nights. the hostel is quit new. but very clean, good organised, very friendly people. specially the owner. Internet is perfect. they always ask you if everything is fine and if you need some help. the warm shower is awesome. I really recommend this hostel. maybe the distance to the ghats are not so good but for around 30 Rupie you get a tuk tuk. the distance to the railway station is just 5 minutes walk. stay there and relax;)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are thrilled to know that you had a pleasant & relaxing stay with us, Merlin. Your wonderful words are the fuel for us to keep going - "You smile, we smile".

We are constantly working on improving our facilities and service standards even further. Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very nice people, very clean, helpful and smiling.
It is not in the total city center, but here you will get a good and friendly service where you do not have to worry about the price or safetyness.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
"We're all smiles when you smile."

It is an absolute pleasure for us to know that we could earn the honour of your recommendation. Appreciation and trust is what we thrive on! Your invaluable words will certainly help keep us motivated to constantly improve on our standards.

Hoping to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here in ITH. Ashish the owner has travelled quite a bit himself and keeps the place in order. Amidst all the confusion and dirt on the roads in Varanasi it was a real relief to stay in a place that was clean and welcoming and cheap. There's home cooked food and also free wifi. Ashish took us to a lovely little lounge that we never imagined we could find in Varanasi. If I do come back to visit Varanasi, I would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, Ebbie. Travel is about creating & sharing amazing experiences as we go along. It is only to our absolute delight if we did add-on a bit to yours. Hoping to cross paths with you again someday.

If I ever hit the road as adventurously as you, I would certainly let you know about it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the best places I've ever stayed in India. I felt myself so comfortable like at home. It's clean and quiet inside with peaceful and beautidul terrace. Good location: footwalk from the railway station from which we came and it's also good place to take tuc-tuc to the airport or anywhere we went. Ashish and his family were very polite (which is more european feature not indian, let's be honest). It's a really great place to stay and if I do go back to Varanasi, then I will certainly stay there again :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish V, Owner at International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, Radmila. It was an absolute pleasure for us to host and share our lives with you. Our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities, and we are glad you felt that way with us. Hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi

Address: C-32/4, Vidyapeeth Road | Landmark: The Alley Opposite to Gate #2 of Vidyapeeth University, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
P.S. Free Breakfast with our Luxury Private Double Bedroom only International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, now also featuring ITH Bistro, is tucked in a silent alleyway of what is also known as the world's oldest living city. ITH has been thoughtfully tailored for Travellers from all across the world - both traditional Backpackers and contemporary Flashpackers. Ranging from a basic Tent to air-conditioned Dorms to a gorgeous Luxury Private Double Bedroom - there's something for everyone! Our homely accommodation and unmatched hospitality offers you experiences that are priceless. We are working continuously to provide you with a value for money, safe, clean, peaceful and friendly accommodation - a perfect place to come back to after a long & tiring day out in the intense old city of Varanasi. Our family-run hostel is located in our historical house owned by our family for over 5 generations. Once serving as the summer house of the Queen of Nepal, it later fell under British reign, to be eventually auctioned off to one of our great grandfathers. Today this multicultural home is a modern Youth Hostel offering you a beautiful relaxing space and an opportunity to meet other travellers. We offer a gorgeous Luxury Private Double Bedroom with en-suite bathroom and garden view, spacious air-conditioned Deluxe Mixed & Female Dorms featuring single beds, a Standard Mixed Dorm with bunk beds and a Tent for 2 Persons which includes yoga mats & pillows for sleeping. In order to offer you a comfortable stay we provide a whole array of facilities like free Wi-Fi (on all floors), unlimited supply of free purified drinking water, a fully-equipped modern kitchen, bathrooms with 24x7 hot & cold showers, washing machine, lockers (coming soon!), A cozy common room with TV, DVDs, iPod dock, books, card & board games, a desktop computer and elegant Bistro seating areas to chill & enjoy your meals. There is also a beautiful green garden with outdoor furniture and a swing, as well as a huge rooftop to enjoy our peaceful location. For the love of your taste buds we also offer a healthy and diverse 'ITH Bistro' food & drinks menu (Indian and western) catering from early morning till late at night. We prepare almost everything fresh with ingredients from the local market. Our recipes are toned-down to meet the "non-Indian" taste buds, but of course we can spice things up for your real India adventure ;) Our latest addition is the Muesli Bar - eat a bowlful or as much as you can of your favourite cereals & fruits. Our aim is to facilitate your time in India by offering you the little things that make all the big differences on a trip. We want to offer you something that lasts longer than a mere journey - we want you to have everlasting experiences! We are looking forward to welcome you in the world's oldest living city! Namaste! Important distances: • 5-7 minutes walk from Varanasi Junction Railway Station (the station also has a very helpful Tourist Office) • 4.1 Km from Manduadih Railway Station • 18.6 Km from Mughal Sarai Junction Railway Station • 10 minutes walk from Varanasi Bus Station • 8 minutes walk from Varanasi Junction Taxi Stand • 5-7 minutes walk from Bharat Mata Temple • 10 minutes walk from the nearest Shopping Mall • 2.9 Km walk and 3.4 Km drive from Godowlia (Downtown) • 3.4 Km walk and 3.9 Km drive from Dashashwamedh Ghat / Main Ghat (Riverside) • 5.3 Km from Assi Ghat • 23 km from the Airport • 2 km walk and 3.1 Km drive from the Head Post Office Rickshaws and auto-rickshaws (tuk-tuks) easily available out on the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Travellers' Hostel, Varanasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.