We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in varanasi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rivatas by Ideal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rivatas by Ideal to your Saves list
Hotel Rivatas by Ideal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall Road | Cantonment Varanas, Varanasi 221002 , India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best in varanasi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised with such a nice hotel in Varanasi. It is a brand new hotel with great interiors and decor. This is the only hotel in varanasi where you can stay for days. Rooms are big, spanking clean and comfortable. Food was simply wow.Thanks for making my stay in India a memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    89
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
68
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went for a two day stay from Delhi to Varanasi expecting a little tiny hotel at some corner of the city.. i was surprised by this luxurious hotel.. I had a wonderful stay, especially the food was awesome.. I never thought I would get such facility in Varanasi.. th staff was very polite and was there netime of the day.. It was nice to have a good big shopping mall aslo nearby.. the restaurant 'grill by the ocean' had awesome food, the non-veg (especially the kebabs) is to die.. I think my stay was worth the price..as it was not very expensive... The rooms are very spacious and clean.. the beds are alos bery comfortable.. i would suggest anyone who is plannin a trip to this city of temples.. to stay in rivatas.. thumbs up.. !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently visited Rivatas this year and i have to admit it was a fab experience. The ambiance, the service the over all tidiness is excellent. It really came as a surprise that Banaras has a hotel to this standard. The rooms are clean, big sized and grand size beds.The restaurant-Grill by ocean is absolutely new concept and is a must visit. The food is awesome and is reasonably priced. Over all a very nice experience and all at a great price. MUST VISIT!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Me and my family enjoyed the meal on this sunday at grill by the ocean(GBTO) , a restaurant with a new concept for the city. Honestly, we have not had such an excellent biryani & kebabs in this city. This new hotel has come out as a boon to the city and specially for the non-veg lovers. I also had a look at the rooms which are very spacious & the feeling of luxury comes automatically. I would like to thank Mr Philip for taking so good care of us during our dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would like to comment on their new restaurant Grill by the Ocean. The name is slightly misleading in that the Ocean is their coffee shop!! There is niether an ocean in Varanasi nor is it a fish restaurant though they do serve a very nice fish koiivadi. The menu is fixed for each day and very reasonably priced. You can eat as much as you want ( Kabab factory style both veg or nonveg ) with a twist in that the skewers are placed on heat sources on the table itself and makes it more interesting. Meal for the hungry and please have a look at the main course and the deserts before you get carried away and eat too much of the five starters like I did. Recommended for those who enjoy eating. Nice ambience. Very friendly and effecient service. Visited the rooms and they are large well furnished and well lit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My buddy and I were expecting a simple, even grotty, hotel in this pilgrimage city, so the cool, modern Rivatas was a very pleasant surprise. The travel agent, Ashoka, had booked it. Our room was a very good size, grand big beds, good bathroom, pleasant decor, great breakfast. The lobby is a bit bare, and the pool is nothing to write home about, but at least they have one. Only jarring note was the fellow guests making a racket in the hallway in the wee hours, but my friend soon sorted them out! I suppose it was one of the places where we felt a bit bad about enjoying such surroundings which aren't the norm for the locals - but we managed to deal with that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Originally we were booked into the Ramada Plaza in Varanansi but due to a double booking our agent put us into the new Hotel Rivatas. We looked at the hotel website and decided it offered everything we wanted so decided to go for it. The hotel has been built next door to an older hotel The Tower which I believe is in the same group. The rooms are spacious as is the bathroom with a huge shower cubical. Both were spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. There was a writing desk with a nice swivel chair to use a PC on and there was a small area with two comfortable chairs and a table to relax and have drinks . The housekeeping was very obliging but seemed to come at odd times when you needed the room.
The buffet breakfast in the Ocean restaurant was more than adequate with a good choice of both European and Indian food.We also ate there ala carte a couple of times in the evening. There were both light meals and heavier ones if you needed them.
We took a look at the main Grill by The Ocean restaurant which offered a Shabu Shabu grill your own food at the table but decided it was a bit too heavy for what we needed.
Free Wi fi was only available in the lobby with an access code provided by the front desk. The speed was the best I have experienced anywhere.
The Spa centre was a bit odd although they give out a brochure with the name of the hotel printed on it they operated quite separately
When it came to paying the Spa by credit card as agreed there were complications and difficulties and I had to end up by paying in cash. The cleanliness of the massage booths was a bit dubious and I got the feeling that the towels on the beds were not changed for every client. I had a back massage and my wife took a full body massage. I was not too impressed by the massage which seemed to consist of a monotonous squeezing technique however the shoulder muscle pain that I had been suffering with for the last couple of days disappeared and has not returned since. My wife was not over impressed with her full body massage nor the cleanliness either. The Spa staff seemed more interested in the payment for the massage than providing a quality service
The swimming pool is actually part of next doors Tower hotel. The pool looks ok but the fact that the local pigeon population used it as a drinking source didn’t inspire me to try the water. The surrounding area was good for sunbathing but you had to dig somebody out of the hotel to provide towels for the sun lounger. Drinks are available by the pool but again service was intermittent.
The Rivatas web site features a health club under the entertainments sections but this didn’t exist and we were told it was planned for the future. We ended up going next door to The Radisson hotel and for a fee used theirs.
All in all a nice clean and well run what I would call a boutique type hotel but if you are looking for the extras such as pool and spa and fitness centre these are not well organized and fall below the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rivatas by Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivatas by Ideal

Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment Varanas, Varanasi 221002 , India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rivatas by Ideal 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rivatas by Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rivatas by Ideal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.