We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varanassi Short Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Heritage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Heritage Inn
B-3/26-A, Shivala | near Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Varanassi Short Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

On a two night stay in Varanasi found this hotel ideal. Downside was lack of a lift, as our room was two or three floors up, and the rooftop restaurant two more floors. Food there was good, and service excellent. Easy access to centre of town by Tuk Tuk or taxi. Helpful staff and travel desk.

Room Tip: Not user friendly for disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    66
    24
    9
    12
See reviews for
28
63
33
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is within 10minutes walking distance of the Assi and Shivala ghats, and well connected to the popular sights of the city such as Kashi Vishwanath temple, BHU, Ramgarh and Sarnath. Though the lane in which the hotel is looks small at best, the interiors of the hotel are quite tastefully done. All in all, it is good value for money, and at a great location for travelers on a leisure trip for 4-5 days. I'm listing the Pros/Cons point-wise as that makes it very reader-friendly according to me :-

First the Pros
===========
- Great Location
- Amazing chef!! Makes the best dishes (all vegetarian except eggs); soups deserve a special mention as they make excellent comfort food at the end of the day mostly spent of foot
- Clean and spacious rooms
- Spacious and clean toilets (there is a reason for the change in order of words)
- Friendly staff
- The staff no longer bothers you with details of their in-house site-seeing tours beyond once. This is a change from the older reviews, so please note.
- Hot water, AC, Beer in the restaurant
- Quiet rooms

The Cons
========
- Slow service! This is true for the restaurant and housekeeping whom you need to call to turn the AC and geysers on
- No lift which can be a bummer for a 5 floor tall building
- No hooks in the toilet to hang clothes (hope the hotel is reading as this is easy to fix)
- Hand towel should be provided in the washroom
- The in-house tour is expensive. If you are enterprising, you can manage it for half the cost by availing the local shared transport.
- Linen could be cleaner

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location, room quality (at the price point), and food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean, modern and decorated with taste, all facilities in perfect orded (room 11 on top floor). Restaurant was one of the best we had in India (this was our 3rd trip to india and we love indian flavours and spicies). The chef is excellent and so is the staff in the restaurant who was very helful when we had special request, special thanks to Ashim.
We just cross our fingers that the boss will not get all blown up and forget humbleness.
R&E

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It is a great place to stay in Varanasi, slightly away (2 km) from the main town center and close to Aasi ghat. Hotel offers good clean rooms with decent bathrooms. Roof top restaurant is also has a nice ambience. Service is on slower side and it takes 35-40 mins to get a meal. I suggest you order all you need in one go and tell the server how you want it served or you may get some nasty surprises. The hotel can arrange all sort of travel activities for you, but they charge lot of premium. They quoted 2500 for a day trip in a taxi, which i managed to get outside in 1100 Rs. They also try and hard sell the tour packages to you, which can be annoying. I will suggest to stay with them, but plan your own travel. Overall a good place to stay and i will surely return to stay with them again if i visit Varanasi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is further away from the hustle and bustle of the Dashaswamedh area. It's located along a quiet smaller alley in middle of many very small mosques you can observe from the rooftop terrace during muslim prayer times.

Room was clean and well maintained altough very basic. The minibar was useful to keep your own drinks ice-cold. The bathroom with shower showed some wear. Maybe the sink and toilet seat had spent a few years next to a highway before being installed. Bed linens and towels were fresh and squeaky clean. There was a TV but I didn't even turn it on. I had more exciting things to watch in India.

The front desk staff was very polite and always happy to help during my entire stay of few nights. When I arrived they gave me an ice-cold mango juice (Maaza) and bottle of water for my thirst which I think they could tell from my face.

They also checked the train timetables for me and gave me useful information about the surrounding area and which is the quickest route to the riverfront.

Breakfast was very simple: cereals, wheat bread, eggs, coffee, tea. I had also dinner in their restaurant which was fine and reasonably priced. I must add it was nice at last to get a chance to eat with AC and fresh air compared to all those street-level dhabas normally in India. Nonetheless, both dhabas and this particular restaurant serve good food.

I observed few tourists coming here for just the dinner and beer. They serve ice-cold beer from below the counter and mark it as "big juice" in your receipt. Just ask if beer would be possible. I could recommend this place also for just the food if you are bored to sit next to a dusty road with your dosa and sambar. They have a nice rooftop terrace with exciting view, but not the best in Varanasi.

If you love Varanasi and want to sleep in a bit better place, then this is it. Still near the ghats and walking distance from everything. Cycle rhicksaw was 20-50Rs to Dasashwamedh ghat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After visiting Varanasi and its ghats - which can be difficult experience for those with sensitive nose - we found Heritige Inn very conveniant to rest and recharge the batteries to continue our visit. Hotel is very close to the ghats. We found our room super clean and nicely designed. Very helpful owner, and friendly restaurant stuff. Roof top restaurant is in fact under the roof, but it serves good food (including some relaxing drinks ;-)), great dinners (but basic breakfast). We had great chat with chief of the restaurant. Good vibe.
BTW- very reasonble price (we bargained).

Room Tip: 008 was great (higher floor). Lower floor room - we checked - was a bit humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Good location. Looks new. Average restaurant on rooftop. Five flours with no elevator. A lot of power downs. Have to ask for hot water and a/c. Cable tv did not work most of the time. No English or European speaking channels. Laundry service took two days to arrive. Room service did not clean room and bathroom for three days only changed towels. Wifi only in lobby or restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage Inn

Address: B-3/26-A, Shivala | near Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Heritage Inn has 11 Hotel rooms with Interior Decor of each Room being Unique. These also include 2 elegantly designed Heritage Rooms with a distinguished Heritage Theme. All of our guest rooms offer turndown service and a wide range of amenities, including complimentary broadband Internet access, television with over 100 channels and a bottle of packaged drinking water provided daily. Relax in the oasis of comfort provided by our spacious rooms with the option of interconnecting, city view or river view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.