We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Splendid Experience !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Varuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Varuna to your Saves list
Hotel Varuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Gulab Bagh, Sigra, Varanasi 221002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Splendid Experience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Me and a couple of friends had been planning this trip for a long time and accidentally we ended up booking this hotel. Needless, to say we were BLOWN AWAY!!!!. The service was great despite. The staff were very friendly and  polite and responded very well to all our questions about Varanasi attractions  The Wi-Fi was fast and free of charge which was great. The hotel rooms were spick and span, with LED TV(s). We stayed in Rooms 207 and 205. The breakfast spread was decent. 
Should there be a next time for us in Varanasi, it will definitely be Varuna."

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    15
    10
    9
See reviews for
36
15
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is pretty nice for Varanasi standards. I was there with my father and our room was on the second floor. The service was good and the tv had many channels. In room dining was good as well. They served complimentary breakfast in the room itself. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us.
We are glad to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel Varuna. Your kind comments regarding our services is highly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back, I am sure you will continue getting better and greater services and choices in your subsequent visits to Hotel Varuna.
We assure that you and your family/friends will cherish the same hospitality and services in days to come.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had the opportunity of staying at Varuna, Varanasi from 12th to 18th October. The front office is excellent and the people behind the counter are too good. The location of the Hotel is superb. The owners are very nice people and that is one reason why their house keeping employees do not work. The hygiene conditions are a matter of concern . Hygiene is an area which needs to be given top priority. Kitchen is in a bad state and needs to be improved. If guests can have food outside this is possibly one of the best location in Varanasi. The rooms are spacious and you cant find them in any other Hotel. Avoid Asim and his elder brother the two waiters who are always on the look out to swindle you . Look for Sandeep Srivastava ( a waiter who stammers )- He is really very very good. Tripathi and Singh at the front office are possibly the best one can get in Varanasi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings Mr. Singh

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us.
Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is highly appreciated.
We are sorry to note that there were certain services and facilities at our hotel that did not meet your expectations and your comments have been noted for necessary improvements.
We take all critics, comments very positively and seriously to minimize the shortcomings and improve ourselves towards service excellence.

I have personally reviewed your feedback with our crew and have briefed them to avoid such occurrences in future. I will personally ensure training needs are revamped in areas that concern our most valued guests like you.

We are pleased to inform you that we are coming up with a new kitchen on the third floor of the hotel which will soon be operational and will be in accordance with the latest Industry standards. All kitchen and food and beverage staff have been directed to wear plastic gloves while cooking and serving food. We are also opening a new restaurant on the third floor itself by mid November, 2013. This restaurant will be the first of its kind in Varanasi. Our aim is to provide a flawless experience to our esteemed guests. The food quality will definitely be improved as we are hiring chef’s from esteemed Hotel Management Institutes.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to make your next stay flawless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is far from city and is costly transport affair if you need to go the Sri KASI temple. The hotel never cleaned the room for 2 days after repeated followups. Service is very poor. Not happy for the INR paid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to note that there were certain services and facilities at our hotel that did not meet your expectations and your comments have been noted for necessary improvements
We take all critics, comments very positively and seriously to minimize the shortcomings and improve ourselves towards service excellence.

I have personally reviewed your feedback with our crew and have briefed them to avoid such occurrences in future. I will personally ensure training needs are revamped in areas that concern our most valued guests like you.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to make your next stay flawless.

Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Varuna in Varanasi with my family in Varuna luxury suite for about one week during Durgapuja/Navaratri of 2013.Overall experience was good.Staff are smart,efficient and courteous.Location although not very near the Ganges and ghats is within manageable distance.Only problem we faced was the toilet was not maintained upto the mark.But on requesting the staff very efficiently upkeep the toilet.Food was good although bit costly.Added advantage I that one of the most popular mall of Varanasi(IP Mall) is a stone's throw away.Also,the Bharat Sevasram Sangh is within walking distance.Overall the this hotel offered good value for the money.

Room Tip: Eldery persons shall select lower floors as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I visited Varanasi for 4 days from 7th to 10th October, 2013 and chose to stay at Hotel Varuna. Believe me initially, I was wondering as to how the hotel would be since I chose this hotel without any reference or inquiry. But when I went there, I could feel that in this hotel, the Hospitality was at its best. Everything from reception to room service and quality of rooms, all, were exceptionally good and I enjoyed my stay there. The staff was very nice, especially, Mr. Rajiv Tripahi and Mr. Sanjay Singh, handling the receptions. Mr. Anshuman, the owner cum - Manager was exceptionally good and well caring. I stayed at Superior Room of theirs. I liked the complimentary Wi-fi, which they provide with every room. The food quality was also good. would definitely like to have another stay at this hotel with my family during winters. On a rating scale of 5, I would like to give them a fifer with a round of applause.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Dinakar,

Warm Greetings!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us.
We are glad to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel Varuna. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is highly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back, I am sure you will continue getting better and greater services and choices in your subsequent visits to Hotel Varuna.
We assure that you and your family/friends will cherish the same hospitality and services in days to come.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, Haryana, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My family had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Varuna from 22nd sep to 27th sep 2013. The check in was quick as we had prior bookings. The front desk was very polite, professional and accomdative. The complimentary wifi was much appreciated.
full marks for the quality of rooms they provide.

The location of the property is apprx 2.5 kms from Dashashwamedh ghat, but is not a concern.You can get an auto or rikhshaw just outside the hotel or at the corner of the road. The food is tasty and served quickly. The mini bar is equipped with chocolates, chips and aerated drinks. Overall a very comfortable stay at the hotel and we had a great holiday, and definitely i would suggest Hotel Varuna to my family / friends who would visit Varanasi.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are Great..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Sushant,

Warm Greetings!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us.
We are glad to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel Varuna. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services is highly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back, I am sure you will continue getting better and greater services and choices in your subsequent visits to Hotel Varuna.
We assure that you and your family/friends will cherish the same hospitality and services in days to come.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Varuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varuna

Address: 22 Gulab Bagh, Sigra, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varuna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Varuna is a 3 star boutique hotel located in the Sigra area of Varanasi. It is at a distance of a kilometer from the Varanasi Junction Railway Station. The hotel features spacious and modern rooms, exquisite Lounge's and restaurants, beautiful Gardens and is well-equipped with banquet facilities ideal to host conferences and weddings.Free Internet Access is provided over a Wifi Network throughout all areas of the Hotel. The hotel's contemporary architecture, warm hospitality and top-notch services are sure to please travelers for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Varuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Varuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.