We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far from the ghats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Varanasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Varanasi to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Mall Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
bavaria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“far from the ghats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

We spent two nights in the radisson. It's a good high-class hotel with excellent service. Especially the travel desk was extremely helpful. The building is on the small side as the rooms are. It's a quiet, clean and relaxing place.

On the other hand the hotel is far away from the ganges and therefore a bit cut off. Like a luxury island.

If you want to dive into the varansi-magic the radisson is the wrong place but the right place to keep distance from the varansi-insanity.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    320
    163
    62
    36
See reviews for
140
262
81
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

This hotel just opened in November of 2006. It is lovely. The service is outstanding. The restaurants are excellent, especially the Chinese Restaurant. We would stay here happily any time.

  • Liked — The newness, the pride of the staff, the restaurants
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Prior to visiting Varanasi during the week of 10/8/06, I had read mixed reviews of this hotel. While all of of other hotels in India were 5 star, I really did expect the Radisson to rate poorly. Well not so. Not only was this hotel clean, but the staff was very, very nice. Our room was spacious and clean, our linens were cleaned daily, and we had ample supplies in our room (toilet paper, beverages in the mini bar etc)., and all of the amenities in our room were in good working order. The food at the hotel restaurant, whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, was also quite good. The staff was particularly helpful in suggesting mildly spiced dishes for Western visitors. They even prepared breakfast for us one morning prior to their usual hours of operation. The staff at the front desk was also helpful and courteous, and the maintenance staff was also quite prompt in responding to our call when the power went out in our room early one morning.

Just make sure that you have a room that is not looking out over the vacant, unfinished concrete apartment building next door. Its not a very pleasant site (but one of many unpleasant sites in Varanasi), and something you should try to avoid.

All in all, this hotel was an absolute oasis of cleanliness and convenience in a Holy City that lacks both.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, quality of food
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

We, a family with two children (15 and 18), stayed the 6th and 7th of July in this hotel in rooms 202 and 203. Although Varanasi and the hotels in the city seem to have a bad name, we were in a positive way surprised about the quality of this hotel. It is a modern hotel, the first hotel you see when you enter the Cantonment-district of Varanasi. It has a very nice modern lobby where the tranquillity was the opposite of what you see outside on the streets of Varanasi. The rooms were furnished in a modern style with good and clean beds and, when you wouldn't look outside, you could think you were in a hotel in Europe. The bathrooms were also ok. The rooms have perfect working aircondioning; a/c's that hardly produce noice; mostly the opposite in India.
In the hotel are 2 restaurants; because is was low season only the one on the left side (when you leave the lifts) was open. We twice had diner ( a la carte) and twice had good meals. Breakfast was also ok. The staff was very friendly and payed a lot of attention to us. Especialy a waiter called Anil, who knew a lot of soccer (and told us of the celebreties he had met in this hotel) was the favourite of my son.
Although there was some maintenance work on the higher levels (and an other building next door is under construction), that didn't bother us and we slept well. The hotel also has a moderate sized swimming pool, but we haven't used it.

  • Liked — the hygiene of the hotel in that city
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

This hotel is claimed to be the best and newest one in Varanasi. The city itself is very dirty and chaotic so the hotel looks like a gem. But in reality, it is only average (3 stars) when compared to other 5 star hotels in Delhi or Jaipur. The general cleanliness of the hotel is only average. The towels of our room was not clean at all. The city was experiencing a cold wave during our stay but the heating system of the hotel was not working. So we had to ask for an extra blanket. The extra blanket was also very dirty so we could not use it. The restaurants of the hotel was not also very bright. Meals were mediocre but definitely far safer than the ones you can find outside. This hotel is only good for very short period of stays, as is the city.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Varanasi

Address: The Mall Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#4 Family Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Hotel Varanasi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Hotel Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Varanasi
Varanasi Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Varanasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.