We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice Hotel Ganesha :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ganesha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ganesha to your Saves list
Hotel Ganesha
B1/48 Assi | Opposite Abhay Cinema, Varanasi 221005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Varanasi, India
1 review
“nice Hotel Ganesha :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent a week at the Hotel Ganseha, the serviece and the staff were very good. The rooms are clean and equipped with everything. Ajay our hotel guide was very accommodating and showed us the most beautiful places in Varanasi. The visit, the hotel Ganseha is recommended :) Thanks for everything, see you soon :)
Miriam & Christl

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    61
    23
    11
    11
See reviews for
18
37
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Room was o.k although we decided on fan room for 800 instead of a/c for 1400 as after 1 night in a/c we realised we did not need it as varanasi is cooler than other parts of India. Staff were friendly and helpful especially Ajay who was able to show us around and explain a lot too... Overall price was good and location right next to assi ghat. Mattress is very hard!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

An excellent hotel. Room was very clean & much, much better than the the previous 6 or 7 hotels we looked at prior to this one. The bathroom was also very clean. The room had TV & A/C. A breakfast was provided downstairs in the lobby area. There was no lift but this wasn't a problem for us. The manager was very friendly & helpful. We enjoyed our stay here & would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to Varanasi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

contrary to popular belief and reviews, the location and amenities of the hotel are very average and in fact we had a tiff with the managerial staff right at the outset- after making the booking in May, we had called the hotel and requested them for a first floor room as the hotel does not have a lift and they had assured us of the same and even sent a mail with the room no. - however when on our way to benaras we again called to reconfirm - we were told we had been allotted a second floor room. after severe discord, they finally gave us the first floor room - the room was basic, no almirah - just two plug points where the TV was plugged in. if any recharging of mobiles or camera batteries was to be done, there was no separate/ spare plug point. further they also informed us that the check out time was 10am when the booking clearly showed it was 12. only on showing the booking slip they agreed to 12 noon. thus be beware as they try to make fools out of you to the extent that they can.

having said that, the rest of the staff at the hotel was quite nice and courteous - very willing to help out. the truly outstanding feature was the guide, Mr Ajay, who had been provided free of charge by the hotel and who showed us around benaras including temple visits and boat rides, extremely well. he also recommended excellent local eateries near the hotel for lunch, dinner and breakfast as the hotel does not have its own restaurant. our experience of benaras would not have been what it was without his expert help as we had literally just 24 hours in benaras.

one tip - do not miss the morning boat ride. the sunrise over ganga is gorgeous.

all said and done, the hotel openly says that it is basically for foreigners and not indians - so book at your own peril.

Room Tip: insist on a first floor room. stairs are very steep - no lift. not meant or the elderly. the entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel very much - the location is good as it is in a quiet area, close to the river and in a less polluted part. The room was spacious, warm water. I appreciated the friendliness of the manager who advised us how to get around. PC with internet available at the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My stay in Hotel Ganesha was very enjoyable. The room was clean enough with a good fan that kept the air moving. The shower was powerful and provided hot water at any time of day. They also have cable tv in the room which i really liked because i'm traveling alone and didnt want to be out at night much. The wifi is also a very fast connection and I was able to skype my girlfriend whenever i wanted and it wasn't lagging. My one issue was that i kept coming back to find ants in the room. It was easy enough to get rid of them but they made me paranoid for bugs. All in all a great backpacker hotel with good room amenities and friendly staff. Would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

All in all nice stay and friendly staff. Deluxe Room lacks charme and style, very dim lights and just clean enough. No restaurant, no common room to meet with other guests.Breakfast and tea quite expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ganesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesha

Address: B1/48 Assi | Opposite Abhay Cinema, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Is a Very New Build Hotel with The Main Aim Of giving our guests cleaner & peaceful environment. With center of all important tourist location and The Beautiful "assi ghat". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ganesha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ganesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.