We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, really” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ganesha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ganesha to your Saves list
Hotel Ganesha
B1/48 Assi | Opposite Abhay Cinema, Varanasi 221005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, really”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Firstly, the hotel's location - pretty good. The Assi Ghat area is far more laid back than the central "Old Town" area, which is also supposed to be a lot more dangerous and unpleasant.

The hotel is quite new and the rooms were of a relatively good standard for the price. They were, however, definitely on the small side. Cleanliness was very good.

The staff seemed generally good, but we did end up paying more than we thought for the Ganges Boat trip - if you take up the owner's offer, make sure you really confirm the price first as everyone in our group was a bit angry about this.

Free Wifi, which was nice, though only available in the downstairs seating area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    52
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
34
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Quiet, clean and cheap, this was ideal for us (7 students). Away from the main ghats, it is situated at the very last/first ghat which we greatly preferred as it was very crowded near the main ghats. Free wifi (if u have a laptop, iPhone etc) or pay to use the computer and Internet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyJaiswal, Director of Sales at Hotel Ganesha, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thanks for the very truthful review. our main aim is to provide our guests A very Clean , very peaceful and a very secure environment with very low rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The rooms are very clean and with a good bathroom. The location is great, and the staff staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed only one night since we were coming back to Delhi the next day. I loved the room, its size was fine, with AC and TV and the furniture was comfortable enough, though the bed could be considered a little hard for some but for me it was fine. The place was very clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly, even when I woke them up at 5 am to see the Ganges early in the morning. Besides, it has a good location, you can find new-stands and grocery stores right on the corner. 100% recommendable

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Our small group had been staying down at Meer Ghat for our stay in Varanasi and then attempted to leave by an overnight train...until we saw once we got to the station that the train was 17+ hours late. Not fond of the idea of staying on the concrete all night and morning, we hightailed it back to Varanasi in hopes of finding Somewhere to rest our heads at close to midnight. Hotel after hotel was closed, booked, price gouging us... until we found Hotel Ganesha. It looked SO beautiful from the outside that everyone else had their doubts it would work out---but I knew Ganesh wouldn't let us down! Turns out we were one of the first guests there (I think).
It looked like a little boutique hotel you'd find in San Francisco, not Varanasi. It was adorable, and the rooms were a welcome relief; clean, comfortable, cute. The sparkling bathroom was also comforting.
The unfortunate part is that we were woken up at 5 a.m. by our newfound cab driver friend, telling us the train was coming, so we had to get all of our stuff & go. (Turns out, we had another 7+ hours to go!). I truly wish we had been able to spend more time at Hotel Ganesh because it seemed like a very cool place. All I know is, it saved us in our tired, slightly-freaked-out hour of need. Thanks, Hotel Ganesh!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed a couple of more or less pleasant nights at Hotel Ganesha - but you're time is better of searching for another hotel in the same area! Assi Ghat is fantastic.
We used the computer of hostel quiet a lot of times to search flights, facebook ect. While using the internet the computer broke down sometimes (India, you know), but we discovered later on that the staff had abused the loged-on facebook site to 'like' their own hotel - while we were still staying there! Further on the staff is nice - but the manager gets pushy, angry and condescending if you are not following exactly his advise. It's not worth you're time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Spacious,comfortable room,very,very clean! Nice,friendly staff.Very good location of the hotel,just one minut from the Assi Ghat.
I spent more nights than I was supposted to,because of my illness.Have to tell that the staff helped me a lot,they brought me to the doctor and were always ready to help me and to carry about me!!!
Great place to stay,highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ganesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesha

Address: B1/48 Assi | Opposite Abhay Cinema, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Is a Very New Hotel with The Main Of giving our guests cleaner & peaceful environment. with center of all important tourist location and The Beautiful "assi ghat". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ganesha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ganesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.