We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zeeras

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zeeras to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zeeras
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Mall Cantonment, | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 137 Varanasi B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I had very bad experiences with so called 5star hotel - Hindustan International. That was not even 1 star like. Specially cacroches and jammed bath / WC. After a research I found this Hotel Zeeras. It was really nice hotel and worth staying here. Rooms and facilities were nice considering other old hotels. Specially staffs were kind and helpful.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    9
    12
    9
See reviews for
12
13
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

The hotel service is really good..a little expensive ..but the food is really good..you can enjoy the massage facilities offered and a nice dip in the swimming pool then..overall a good hotel..We were on a business trip and had a good stay..we didnt have to worry about eating outside as the food here was really good..they have all types of cuisines..indian,chinese,continental..the staff is really friendly..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The hotel is located in Cant of Varanasi, next to better hotels like Raddison, Clark and Suryah . The hotel has good rooms, I stayed in a Sweet which was Plush and well loaded with features like luxurious swing, shower pannel and two LCD screens, frigde, lockers. The bad and more serious thing is the attitude of staff, non of them seems to be proffessional. Its bucnh of local untrained people runnning the show. Food is satisfactory. breakfast spread is pethetic In all a relatively cheep option to stay in Varanasi. Dont expect great hospitality. Most unproffessionally managed Hotel I have seen.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I stayed with my wife in Hotel Zeeras Varanasi from Dec 20 to 28, 2010. Check-in at reception was lousy, as they don't have record of our stay although we booked and paid the hotel through "Expedia.se". When we entered into the room that was a suite with a drawing room and one bedroom, we noticed that there are no hangers in the wardrobe for our cloths. When we asked then we are told there are no hangers available in the room. After lots of discussions, we got two hangers! The room was not heated centrally as the system was disconnected. When we complained then we are provided a room heater with the blower. When we used it for 30 min the electricity of the room went off. We thought that this is a general load shedding. But, for 30 min nothing happened then we asked at the reception to find that this is only our room. This has happened 10 times that night but neither any help was provided nor any effort was made. I was told that you are using heavy equipment therefore you have power outage. No torch or candle was provided as they said this was not available. We were told that there is free Internet and Wi-Fi. When we tried to use our computer, the cable network was never activated for our room and we are told that Wi-Fi only works in the lobby and not on the 2nd floor or in any room.
On the next day when we went for the breakfast, this was horrible to see that flies are roaming everywhere. The waiters took 30 min to serve coffee and always misunderstood the orders and mostly argue with us all the time. One of the waiters insisted that this is coffee although this was tea with lemon. He even insisted me to smell that this is coffee but he couldn't identify that this is tea instead. Every thing either toast, hot milk or tea/coffee you have to wait for 30 min or so. You have to fight with flies all he time. The breakfast room was horrible! Although, there are 5 or 6 waiters are roaming all the time in the breakfast room but the service was almost non-existent. As if the waiters are obliging us by bringing some tea or coffee even after a wait for 30 to 40 min.
Inside the hotel room, the bathroom was peculiar. The washbasin was placed in such a way that you couldn’t wash your hand properly. The tap was fitted just on the outer boarder of the basin causing all waters to go outside. The space between tap and the basin was so narrow that you couldn't wash your hand properly. The cleaners never gave us hand towels even after insisting several times. All towels supplied were very dirty and the bathrooms kit are non-existing. One day they replaced our used towels as clean ones! The soap quality was very poor and they feel immense pain to supply two pouch of shampoo every day. The cleanliness of ward boy or other mechanics are horrible. Linens are dirty and stained and they don't care at all about this. When asked they said this is fine. The mechanic when he came to see our Internet connection that did not work anyway after 4 days was asking me to return his Ethernet cable that he brought and took it away on the same day as I have my own. But he is asking and insisting that I should have it and should return to him. What a great service? In summary the hotel is not up to mark and requires serous business etiquette and should train their ward boys to behave properly We have decided not to use this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed in this hotel from Dec 29, 2010 through Jan 1, 2011 and have mixed feelings. The hotel rooms are very neat. The bathroom is also neat, however, the drainage smell from the bathroom is unbearable. Even after requesting the hotel to put a room freshner or something of that sort, they dont take any measures to relieve the guests from the smell of the drainage. The hotel booking comes with breakfast. The breakfast room is infested with houseflies and very very dirty. The staff cater to foriengers and ask if they want extra items that are not in the breakfast buffet but do not ask Indians. Even though the hotel advertises as all day dining etc, the hotel has food only during breakfast hours. The rest of the time it is just confused staff. We could get food through room service in the night. We fell sick with gastroenteritis after eating that food. This hotel is good for people who have a very strong immune system. If something goes wrong there is absolutely no help from the hotel. We ended up vomitting and the bathroom sink clogged up. After continuosly calling for 4 hours, finally someone came and fixed it. They say they have a doctor on call. However, when we asked for one, one guy in the reception said he called. Later after 45 minutes when we called back to find out why the doctor still did not come, another guy said no one called. Later this guy called. When I called to follow up, he told me that the doctor's cell phone is switched off and nothing can be done. He has that after 10am all doctor's offices will open and I can go to any clinic at that time. I would recommend this hotel for people who can fight out housefly infestations and stay healthy. The rooms are good but bathroom smell is terrible.
They have a travel desk attached. The guide there has a network with boat guys, priests etc and be ready to get looted if you go with them. The first day I went with them, my wallet which was very full got emptied as I fell trap to the looting network. I gave a tip of Rs 1000 to this travel guide even though he got me looted as atleast I saw everything I wanted in Varanasi. One last thing about the hotel - 31st dec night was very noisy. They charge a fee for a party in the ball room. Varanasi is a pilgrimage place. Not all guests would be interested in parties. For those that decided to sleep, the noise was so loud that we could not sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

As stated in the title, this hotel meets demanding guest's requirements. Our room offered a good view as a plus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Situated in the Cant area, the location is slightly congested with narrow roads leading to the place. However the rooms are spacious and neat and we got more than we expected. The double bedroom had two different sections with glass door separating the two. The bedroom was spacious with western attached bath and the guest room was furnished with a swing, refrigerator, locker and a sofa set. Both the rooms had separate LCD TVs and AC. The most prominent visiting spots like the famous Kashi vishwanath temple, BHU, Durga khund, Sankat mochan hanuman temple etc are around 6 -10 kms away from the hotel. Sarnath, which is the home of famous Buddhist temples is around 18 kms away. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The parking space, though, is not ample and the car has to be parked outside the hotel campus. Overall the rooms are very tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zeeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zeeras

Address: The Mall Cantonment, | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zeeras 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel which prides itself to be the pride of Varanasi. Having two room categories, Viz Deluxe Rooms(Twin Bed and King Bed)and Zeeras Suites. Hotel has an outdoor pool, health club, gymnasium and massages are also offered. Two restaurants and one banquet hall. Come experience the feel in the Holy city of Varanasi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Zeeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zeeras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.