We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath the magic of Varanasi while drinking coffee with new friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filocafe

Filocafe
D-20/21 Munshi Ghat | Terrace of the Kautilya Society, Varanasi 221001, India
+91-9839066788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 162 Restaurants in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $3
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
rishikesh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breath the magic of Varanasi while drinking coffee with new friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The filocafè has such a deep atmosphere. It's on the rooftop of the Kautilya Society. When you get there, ask for a coffee and you will be amazed from how it tasted (and as italian I am very picky when it comes to coffee and cappuccino). I'd suggest you to ask also cappuccino/coffee with icecream. It's the kind of drink when you got it you make a picture first :)

the atmosphere then it's great. it's usually full of fellow travellers, artists, writers. some of them just taking notes and working, other enjoying conversation. What I love about the Filocafè is that evey time i used to get there I would find myself joining some conversation with people I didn't know a moment before, and after a bit I would find myself laughing, talking, enjoying that mates like if we were traveling together for ages.

This place is absolutely suggested. the view is also breathtaking. best time is at evening, when sun start falling, air get fresher, and you just want to sit and rest a bit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Queen of Ganges View"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

"Awesome view of ganga river" i have ever found.

have visited with my fiance on my first date.

small calm and clean rooftop restaurent.
i am a localite of Varanasi but i admit that being BANARASI i never ever thought about such a place in varanasi.

looking for such a place where you can find the divine view of GANGA river then go for it but for food?? please avoid.

"cost is high and taste is nothing"

for the sake of taste just try MAGGI and Cold coffee which are nice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
1 review
“best view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

it is just a place where u can relax and get new way to see banaras.with very nice people. i had in 10 time and great staff happy to engage in conversation. and that realy help you to know banaras art culture .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austrily
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee we had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came to Filocafe looking for a place with wi-fi, and discovered a beautiful and relaxing terrace cafe with the best coffee (spicy espresso, yummmm!!!) we had in 5 weeks and great staff happy to engage in conversation. We didn't order food but they serve some basic dishes. Filocafe is at the top of a guest house with very nice and clean rooms, and which looked far more interesting than the 4 star hotel where we stayed

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best Cafe in Varanasi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Awesome food, great atmosphere, situated on the rooftop of an absolutely beautiful building. Must try the Masala Chai. The place has limited number of items on the menu though

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filocafe also viewed

Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
 
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Filocafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filocafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.