We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rahul Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rahul Guest House to your Saves list
Rahul Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   N1/15 D-10 Gangotri Vihar Nagwa Lanka | ( Near - Ravidas Park ), Varanasi 221005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 168 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Realy it's best guest house in varanasi. You have to stay here
for best ganga view and best people,best wi-fi in varanasi on roof top. They have very nice rooftop cafe for breakfast,lunch and dinner. It's walking from assi ghat and from bhu. They have boating service also with very nice boatman.they have also sarnath tour with tuk-tuk or by car.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    97
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
109
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

me and my boyfriend arrived here and were immediately impressed with the place. it was 8pm and after a long day travelling the two men took us straight up to our room saying we could fill in all the check in forms and do passports in the morning (we had booked online). we were delighted by the room, it was clean, decorated nicely and spacious. bathroom was HUGE, the shower was hot and was modern. bed was comfortable and was next to the large window. when we opened the curtains next morning we were gobsmacked by the view, its fantastic. we did book the highest price of room so don't know if that was why it felt so good. the two gentlemen at reception were on hand any time to help us with tours etc. they organised a trip to Sarnarth for us (great day away from Varanasi for a bit). unfortunately we couldn't go on a boat ride due to the river being so high but they checked everyday morning and evening for us.
roof top restaurant was a little disappointing however, we ate there the first night and there was only pasta available (not great) but there are loads of things just a 15minute walk away.
as expected power went out a few time but in only inconvenienced us on our last night when we had to book a hotel for our next place, charge phones etc and pack (our emergency light didnt seem to work) however the way they dealt with it was great, they worked on the wifi for ages and their little boy even gave us his phone as an extra torch.
last thing to mention is the crickets. we were often bombarded by quite large jumping crickets (or grasshoppers??) when asleep and you feel them it did get a little creepy. however not their fault at all. we assumed it was simply due to it being monsoon season.
basically we loved this place and varanasi, if you want the best view ever stay here, if you want lovely people stay here. simply just stay here.

Room Tip: book a room deluxe room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice Place to relax, not fare from downtown (20 min on foot), but far from the noise and crowds of people :-) the team is absolute helpful, we loved the roof top restaurant (ladyfingers ... hmmm ... great, many thnx for Joy, the cook ) the room are clear and simple. We really enjoyed!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ganges side is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am writing this review a year too late but this place stands out so well in my memory of everywhere I've been. There are not enough nice words to describe this guest house. They make you so welcome,. they are so helpful and the views from the terrace brought tears to my eyes (in a good way!) The food is decent, the rooms are fantastic value for money and as your right down is Assi ghat you can explore the whole of Varanasi easily by boat/cyclo/foot..... The people around are so friendly too and the pizza place on assi ghat is nice place for a change from curry. I'd go back there tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Its basically a guest house not hotel. The expectation should be of a guest house. Beautiful location at the bank of Ganges from where you can have a full view of Sunrise & other side of Ganges. Food/snacks is good in the guest house.

Very relaxing & happy experience !

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms with big glass window towards Ganges
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I were very happy with the Rahul Guest House. We were only there for a few days, but the staff was extremely helpful in filling our time with as many activities as possible. Unfortunately, we both got food poisoning from an outside restaurant during our second night. I repeatedly woke up one man during the middle of the night to ask him for water, and he complied without hesitation or complaint. The following day the staff came to our room to check on us multiple times. The next night, when my boyfriend decided we needed medical attention, the staff immediately hired someone to drive us and even sent one of the owners with us to oversee our stay at the hospital. In the morning they made sure we had every treatment we needed and even spoke to the hospital staff on numerous occasions in order to ensure we would be able to leave in time to make it to our flight back to New Delhi. We did make our flight (barely in time), which was only made possible because of the staff's ministrations. They told us that they were our family away from home, and they definitely were. We were quite helpless during our sickness and the staff took such great care of us. I would highly recommend the Rahul Guest House—you will be provided with great care, extreme friendliness and helpfulness.

Room Tip: A room facing the river was very nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This guest house is located close to Assi Ghat and is about a 15-20 walk away from the main center of Varanasi. The rooms were relatively comfortable and the private bathrooms offered hot water. The rooms could have been slightly cleaner, but they were a good value considering the price. The hotel staff was welcoming and offered advice on sightseeing within the city center.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river will have a TON of moths outside the doors at night. Beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rahul Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahul Guest House

Address: N1/15 D-10 Gangotri Vihar Nagwa Lanka | ( Near - Ravidas Park ), Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rahul Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rahul Guest House is walking distance from Assi ghat, Monky Temple, Durga Temple, Manas Mandir Temple and Banaras Hindu University. Guest House located on the bank of River Ganga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Rahul Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rahul Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rahul Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.