We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect homebase to discover the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rahul Guest House

Save Saved
You added Rahul Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rahul Guest House
N1/15 D-10 Gangotri Vihar Nagwa Lanka | ( Near - Ravidas Park ), Varanasi 221005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 137 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect homebase to discover the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place was probably one of the best places to stay when in Varanasi. We had a pick up from the train station which is an absolut must considering the hustlers around the station with their rikshaws. The owner and his father were so welcoming and provided us with all the things we desired. The organised a whole tour for us considering we only had a day because of train delays at a reasonable price. Breakfast and food in the rooftop restaurant was spot on and very tasty. The room was clean, spacious and we got a free heater which was really welcome as nights were very cold in January.

I guess I don't have anything negative to say ...

Would definitely go back here if we were going to Varanasi again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
95
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As mentioned in the title of this review. Rahul Guest House is not close to the things happening in Varanasi. But on the other end we found it most of the times quite relaxing to walk back to it after a day/evening amongst the hustle and bustle of the town.
Rooms were adequate, breakfast good, management and staff very friendly.
There are some big renovations happening but we had no complaints about any noise. When these alterations are done, this place will look fantastic with a new rooftop restaurant and - as we understand - the addition of some family rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This guesthouse was an absolutely wonderful place to stay in Varanasi. Despite the construction happening to get ready for the high season, everything was quiet and calm. Our room was newly updated and extremely clean. The location was perfect. Other reviews claim that it is a 20-minute walk from Assi Ghat, but that is simply not true. It is no more than 10. We had to cut our trip short and they did not hesitate to give us a refund for the nights we did not use and helped arrange an airport taxi. Will definitely return to Varanasi and this guesthouse in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had the best time at Rahul Guest House.

This family-run guesthouse is a great place to breathe a little, away from the city.
The rooftop overlooking the Ganga river is a must in the evening, and the food is delicious !
We were given a renovated room, very large, very clean, with A/C , and a very neat bathroom.
All the staff is very friendly, everyone's ready to chat or give you tips.

It's a 10-minute walk south of Assi Ghat (so you're not in the town center), but we found it actually quite nice to walk back and forth into the city, and sometimes just step back and have a rest...

Anyway, from Assi Ghat you can easily take a rickshaw to go uptown so we found the location was no issue.

Would definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is good, because of its peaceful atmosphere. It takes approximately half an hour walk to the Varanasi center. The renovated rooms were one of the cleanest and nicest we've seen during our stay in India.

This is a family run hotel and Rahul's family was really kind and helpful. In our case, airline company lost our bags and we didn't have any of our stuff with us. At the reception they kindly asked from us where are our luggage, and after explaining our situation they immediately gave us advise where we can find pharmacies, shops, etc. To clarify a bit, this wasn't one of those bursts of "Indian helpfulness"... so they really wanted to help us and didn't get any commission or any other financial benefit from that. Rajul and his son were very helpful and they even gave us to use their phone for calling to the airline.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

When we arrived at the guesthouse, there was a problem with our booking, that is we had spoken to an external service provider on the phone who told us that we were booked into the guesthouse but never contacted Rahul. However, Rahul was so so nice to us when we got there and said that he had some non-AC rooms that we could look at and if we didn't want to stay he would arrange alternative accommodation for us in Varanasi. When we saw the room we decided to stay.

Varanasi was roasting so the room was pretty hot without AC but the fan is actually pretty good. The room itself was small but really nice and cosy. It was also really really clean as was the bathroom. There were frequent power cuts but that was widespread in Varanasi so there was nothing to be done about that.

We spent two days in Varanasi. On the first night, Rahul arranged a boat trip for us on the Ganges. This was one of the best things we did while we were here. The guide was so nice and knew so much about the city. I think you could probably get it for a little bit cheaper if you booked outside of the guesthouse. On the second day, Rahul organised a tuk tuk to take us to Sarnath and wait for us (600rps) while we looked around there, which was great to see.

The only thing I would say is that the location isn't amazing as it is a bit outside the centre of Varanasi so you will have to get tuk tuks. Also, they are in the middle of renovating a number of the rooms so it is kind of like a building site and can get a bit noisy at times. I also think that although they provide great organised trips, you could probably organise these for cheaper.

On the whole, I really liked Rahul's guesthouse. We ate at the restaurant upstairs (which has beautiful views of the Ganges). Also, on our last day Rahul let us keep our room until the evening when we were getting the train without charge which we really appreciated. The staff are really helpful and really nice. Great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

First things first - if you want to stay in the heart of Varanasi, don't stay here. It's a good 20 minute walk just to get to Assi Ghat, and then at least another 30 minutes until you're at the main ghats (or about a R80 tuk-tuk ride).

At the same time, that distance is part of what makes Rahul so appealing. It's a quiet, clean refuge away from the madness of Varanasi.

We paid R800 a night for a room which was a little over our budget, but this was by far the nicest, cleanest room we stayed in during our trip and was totally worth the money. The views from the top floor are awesome, and the small garden on the bottom level is also a nice patch of greenery in an otherwise dry, dusty city.

The owner, Harrikan, is a really nice guy, and seems genuinely interested in helping you rather than taking your money. He let us store some bags in his room for nearly three weeks at no charge, and when we came back, offered us a shower, also free, even though we weren't staying there again.

The only down side for us is that there was some quite extensive renovation work going on when we were there in July. Still, it didn't affect us too much, and a new rooftop restaurant should be finished soon while will make a nicer place to sit than the existing one.

Highly recommended, especially for couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rahul Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahul Guest House

Address: N1/15 D-10 Gangotri Vihar Nagwa Lanka | ( Near - Ravidas Park ), Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rahul Guest House is walking distance from Assi ghat, Monky Temple, Durga Temple, Manas Mandir Temple and Banaras Hindu University. Guest House located on the bank of River Ganga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Rahul Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rahul Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rahul Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.