We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view from the top floor restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puja Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Puja Guest House to your Saves list
Puja Guest House
D 1/45 Lalita Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Garda, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best view from the top floor restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The guest house is located in central position, and the view from the restaurant located in the top floor is the best position in Varanasi! The workers are kind, in the reastaurant you can find a small travel agency and the man that work there is very helpfull ans professional. The rooms...the best are in the top floor but the rooms located in the first floor are very noisy especially during the night, so bring with you some ear plugs, they are not so big and and not the most clean that i haved seen. So the price (500 rupies per person!) was for me a little to expansive compared at other guest indian houses where the rooms was bigger and much more clean!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    26
    17
    30
See reviews for
4
32
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

On the top floor and the patio above that you have a great view of the river. A short walk and you can be at a burning ghat. Traveling alone I found the narrow passage ways confusing but colorful. A guide was a good investment . The guest house had hot showers and the wifi worked sometimes. Management was polite. My room with a window had no outside view, at times there was noise. For the price and location - a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The guest house is located near the buring God place. It is probably one of the tallest buildings in this area. So you can have a decent view of the river. The restaurant on the top floor is nice. Apart from the above, nothing is okay, to be honet. There is some bad smell in the room. The blankets are smelly and dirty. I felt itchy after using it. It seems like the blankets were not washed for ages. Oh and the shower room, the water is not powerful. If you are looking for an enjoyable stay, avoid this house!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

my wife and i checked in at Puja Hotel and it was the noistest hotel to stay at. At any point of the day the staff have absolutely no regard for guests in terms relaxation or noise levels for that matter. The day we checked in the manager had a huge and loud argument with one of his friends that it echoed through the hotel for everyone to hear. My wife asked then to keep quiet where she was waived a hand at and got dismissed, leaving me to intervein where i had lost my temper with the staff. Even during the middle of the night is also not a good time to sleep as the staff have a loud conversation on everynight.

Not sure how these guys ended up on these wedsites?????

Room Tip: Not a peacefull hotel to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a difficult and uncomfortable stay due to a very unpleasant and unaccommodating manager Gopal who misled us initially by telling us there would be hot water 24 hours a day, and he would give us a discount if there wasn't. When we had no running water for a day and had no hot water for over two, he told us we had misunderstood him and that we were being unreasonable. He tried to insist on a number of occasions that we go to his silk shop to give him business, and was displeased when we politely declined. He did not respect my personal space and ignored my partner, speaking only to me, which made me feel very uncomfortable. When paying 1000 rupees a night for a room I expect it to be clean, comfortable and to have running water. Also, the travel agent charges were close to extortionate. My advice is to avoid Puja guest house.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Not a bad place to stay close to most ghats. The upstairs rooftop restaurant has amazing Indian food and a good travel agent. Rooms are basic the Internet room is terrible the computers are rubbish and the Internet terrible. The owner is a creep of a bloke but all in all not to bad for a budget stay!

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived at this guest house very late at night. We had booked a deluxe room which was the most disappointing room of our trip throughout India. The room was extremely basic - bare room with twin beds and two chairs!! We were provided with two thin blankets and one dodgy towel. (thankfully, we had packed microfiber sports towels and sleeping bag liners) The bathroom was not clean and no hot water at all!!
However, this guest house is situated in a prime spot for access to the Ganges. There is also an amazing view from the rooftop. The breakfast pancakes were lovely too!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puja Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puja Guest House

Address: D 1/45 Lalita Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Puja Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puja Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puja Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.