We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good distance from the river set in market lanes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ganga Fuji Home

Ganga Fuji Home
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ganga Fuji Home to your Saves list
Ganga Fuji Home
D7/21, Sakarkand Gali, Varanasi 221001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good distance from the river set in market lanes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice stay here the owner who is often on reception desk is very helpful evening ordering us a dominoes which was lovely!! The room was basic but great value and fan is enough to keep you cool! The river us a short walk away and the lanes are full of hassle free market!! But is hard to find originally and a guy will show you where it is for a "tip".

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    14
    3
    13
See reviews for
2
9
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The entrance is dirty and small, the owner is...horrible and not friendly, only interested in your money, the room is dirty, there is no dustbin and monkeys did not let me sleep for two nights (I know, it is not their fault ;-)) but the main thing is that the people working there haven't been helpful at all regarding my stay in Varanasi. A place to avoid!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Went to the restaurant at this place tonight under the mistaken impression it was the Ganga Fuji restaurant - in fact, it is the Himalaya Restaurant at Ganga Fuji Home. AVOID THIS RESTAURANT AT ALL COSTS.

1 we were the only people there
2 food took an hour to arrive
3 food was terrible - overcooked yet cold
4 at the end they tried to charge us over 600 rupees for dinner for two. Two beers were charged at over 300 rupees alone!!

We complained about the bill. The waiter said he had been forced to cook the food himself as the chef was away that night. This obviously had not been explained to us, and made things even worse! We then had to argue with the manager, who then referred things to his manager downstairs. While we argued with manager number 2, a couple arrived and were turned away from the restaurant with the explanation that the chef was ill - something they had omitted to tell us!!

We were given a small reduction in our bill but I explained that I would be writing this up on Trip advisor. I REPEAT AVOID THIS RESTAURANT AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Location is good and rooms are clean, but... Room rates are higher than advertised, rooms are small, staff is unfriendly and unhelpful, and above all, food is awful. Restaurant is clearly to be avoided.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Good location on a narrow local street near the ghats and the golden temple, but a bit difficult to find so check the map on their website www.gangafujihomevaranasi.com or ask the hotel for a free pickup from the station. Motorised traffic is not allowed in the area so the closest you can get is by cycle-rickshaw.

Our non-AC room with TV was small but nicely decorated and the bathroom with squat toilet was clean, hot water 24 hours available. Western toilets available in other rooms and as shared bathrooms.

Wi-Fi throughout the hotel for free, rooftop restaurant food okay for a breakfast, there's a daily free classical Indian concert with local instruments which we never saw, and the view from the roof 1 level up quite nice. The hotel caters to lots of Japanese tourists as the owner used to live in Japan and speaks Japanese and English fluently.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms because of the noise of the seating area in front of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in a room in the ground floor in 2012.
First of all when we entered the room we noticed that the bedclothes where not fresh.
Due to the location of our room close to reception it was pretty noisy even long after midnight when the receptionist or the OWNER (VIP) was receiving visits and/or was watching TV at a high volume level regardless to the guests wanna sleep in their rooms.
Our room was smelly all the time because the cows outside in the narrow laneways where -- in front of our window.
Apart from that the OWNER is reliable and fair and room prices are reasonable.

In the end we wouldn't stay there again....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Booked 2 nights, stayed one - March 19 2012
For those interested in an abbreviated peace of advise, STAY AWAY! Dishonest, very unprofessional and incompetent management. If you take the most basic of rooms with no bathroom or AC you might be OK, just CHECK YOUR BILL and the mouse in your room.

If you're interested in a more comprehensive version of my issues, here is a novel.

On arrival we viewed the room, I can say it was clean. We confirmed that the room had AC and warm water by enquiry without actually turning either on. Reassurance was provided. We headed out for dinner and upon return we found the room to be co-inhabited by a mouse, NO Functional AC and NO warm water. The person at the front desk was informed and also reminded to please provide toilet paper and a second sheet per bed as requested 4hours earlier. The sheets arrived at 20h30, brought by one of the helpers, 20h40 the person in charge was asked again to address the issues. He came and checked the AC and warm water and left the room, stating he will call the manager. At 21h20 I enquired again on what to expect to happen next and was told someone will be there in 10 minutes. I indicated that it has been a long day and we will be going to bed since we'll be up at 5 the next morning, we will wait 10 more minutes after which we do not wish to be disturbed. 21 h45 we turned out the lights and opened the windows since the ceiling fan also stopped working. Power outages in India are not uncommon but this was clearly an issue in the building. The fan started working at 21 h 55 once again, we were practically asleep.
22h00 we woke up due to the TV which came on spontaneously. Shortly after there was a knock on the door. I decided to open the door and allowed a new person to check the AC which he now managed to turn on. I thanked him although I have to admit I was frustrated being wakened. An hour later the AC stopped working once more, at least the fan was!
After awakening the next morning we attempted the warm water tap once more, No Joy. Shortly after the water stopped flowing altogether. Furthermore I almost ended up on the bathroom floor due to a broken toilet seat.
We packed the bags and left it at the front desk, heading out for sunrise on the Ganges. upon return we found 4 people checking out before us. They were clearly unsatisfied , indicating mistakes on the bill and false information about boat ride tariffs and allegations of being overcharged.

Upon check out I received the bill, as for a room with AC and warm water. With above issues expressed once more, I offered to pay for a Non-AC room. Present for the discussion was the front desk attendant, the person I complained to the previous evening and the manager. After a heated discussion In which the manager told me " you are not my god" he offered 20% discount. I declined and after further shouting he offered 25%.
We decided further negotiation will be fruitless. As a professional in the medical field I am obviously sensitive to professionalism. I wonder in which universe a guesthouse manager should literally shout at clients when serious complaints are lodged. In the almost 50 countries we've visited ,including 17 guesthouses we stayed at in India, this was a first for us. We found multiple better options in our search for other accommodation, try Ganpati for example - just book ahead since we could not get a room there on short notice and ended up staying at Elena and Ajay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ganga Fuji Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Fuji Home

Address: D7/21, Sakarkand Gali, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ganga Fuji Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganga Fuji Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.