We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Home Stay

Save Saved
You added Taj Home Stay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Home Stay
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26/3, Old Idgah Colony | Near Idgha Bus Stand, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 145 Agra B&B and Inns
san francisco, ca
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

1) Economical price for basic stay
2) Staff was
helpful to find us last minute taxi to Jaipur
3) Free rickshaw pick up from Agra train station

NEGATIVES
4) Wifi did not work at all after repeated requests to staff. Don't rely on it
5) There was problem transferring outside calls to our room
6) We witnessed travelers' discomfort due to strong incense burning right next to dining table. To be fair, India's accommodation sector still has a long way to go in terms of adapting to western standards.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    64
    41
    16
    19
See reviews for
41
62
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Other than the Taj Mahal and Red Fort there isnt much to do in Agra. My partner and i stayed at the Taj homestay for two nights and was perfect.

Its not too far from the agra cantt or agra fort train station and doesnt cost much in a tuc tuc.

The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was more than suitable (clean, hot water, towels). They provide a selection of food which you can eat in the room or in the communal area. Breakfast was also good - tea, toast, omelete.

The staff are very helpful. They organised a driver for us for the day and arranged our transport to the train station. We got engaged whilst we were there and although they didnt sell wine - they went out and bought us some in! (very expensive though - but obviously worth it that night).

The hotel has internet facilities which was great and cheap.

Regarding the location - it may not be near the main attractions, but you can travel around fine via tuc tuc for not much at all.

Overall a good place to stay if you are travelling through to see the Taj.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I made a reservation through Agoda to extend a tour of Rajasthan that ended in Agra at the Taj Homestay. I booked two more nights and the hotel agreed for us to stay another night then move to a different hotel. ("no further expense needed - to a very nice hotel")

Then reception asked me to pay up front 2,200 INR (an inflated price for the standard of the damp Taj Homestay room) I showed them the Agoda voucher (showing 1,420 INR room charge) but they said they had had no contact from Agoda, no reservation from them and that I must pay 2,200 INR.

Both the manager Mr Sati and another who had checked me in became quite unpleasant (one on the telephone) shouting at me and demanding payment. They said I needed to call Agoda ( in Thailand) on my mobile and not use the hotel phone, which I didn't want to do.

We settled on paying 1,600 INR for one night and checked out without the second nights stay, but also my debit card was charged for both nights and I'm i the process of trying to get a refund through Agoda.

Ok. this issue aside, the hotel is damp and cold ( in January) and in a poor location the wrong side of the city. The payment issue is my concern but I want to let others know that if things go wrong with your stay, then you are unlikely to get the appropriate assistance you would hope from hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This BB is located in an housing area (colony) isolated from Agra town, and took us over an hour to find it. Room was basic and freezing in winter without heating. They claim that Agra has problems with electricity and thus cannot provide heaters.
The only option for food was their home cooked meals at premium prices.
Wifi is not always available and exercise caution when using their PC on the ground floor as it will be reflected in the bill when checking out. No prior notice of the rates is given. Connection on this PC is poor with constant reminders that the Windows OS cannot be verified.
They do not take credit cards.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I booked this home stay via -----------, received my confirmation & paid my deposit- all good. Unfortunately our flight from Dharamsala was delayed due to bad weather which meant we missed our connecting train. When I got to Mumbai Airport I emailed Taj Homestay to let them know what had happened and to advise that we'd be there later than planned.

When we finally arrived it was after midnight, the guy denied having any knowledge of our booking, or receiving my email and said that it was the agents fault, not his.

We were stranded at 12.30 am in Agra with absolutely no idea where to go next. Fortunately we had a great auto driver ( they're not all scammers!) who took us around to a few different places.

It was a horrible experience, I'd booked based on good reviews but do remember one review saying " be careful about bookings" so I would give the same advice

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

me and my family is very happy in this hotel very clean and food also very good... room is very big and good.
if i go next time in agra i stay same hotel....... and roftop resturnt is good
mr sethi is very friendly owner

Room Tip: balcony room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Taj Homestay is located off a busy street down a more peaceful residential road. The building is a beautifully well kept mansion with spacious rooms and tasteful decor. Our room had a large bed with fresh linens, a sizable sitting area, a refrigerator, and a wardrobe. Our two criticisms about the room: the outdated, run down bathroom was a contrast to the impeccable bedroom, and the window in our room looked into a hallway (so we had no view of the outside).  Breakfast was served at a small table in the lobby, and included toast, coffee and eggs.  Wifi coverage was (sometimes) available in the lobby, but the staff did not alway want to turn it on. We only stayed one night, but this was one of our more comfortable stays during our three weeks in India.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Home Stay

Address: 26/3, Old Idgah Colony | Near Idgha Bus Stand, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taj Home Stay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
welcome to the Taj Home Stay expressions of traditional Indian culture and hospitality. The scale of our accommodations allows us to cater your individual needs and wishes. Situated in the heart of Agra, just steps from the main bus stop, five minutes from Agra Cantt Railway Station, two kilometres from Agra Airport and 4 kilometres from the Taj Mahal,Facilites**********¤ All rooms have split Airconditioner of 1.5 ton each.¤ All rooms have attached bathroom with Hansa German fittings, European WC geysers to have hot/cold water, bath tub, standing showers, hair dryer.¤ 21 inches colour television in each room with satellite channels including ESPN, ZEE, BBC, STAR TV, CNN etc.¤ Godrej safety deposit locker in each room.¤ Panasonic key telephone in each room. ¤ Small Electrolux refrigerator in each room.¤ Same day laundry facility.¤ Complimentary buffet breakfast daily.¤ Backup 50 kva generator in case of power failure.¤ Doctor on call.¤ Complimentary welcome drink on checkin.¤ Complimentary tea/coffee in each room anytime desired by clients. Child policy - Children below 07 years would be complimentary with parents or else will be on extra cost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, MakeMyTrip, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Taj Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Home Stay Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.