We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Good As Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esphahan

Esphahan
Taj East Gate Road | The Oberoi Amarvilas, Agra 282001, India
+91 562 223 1515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 188 Restaurants in Agra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $198
Cuisines: Indian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Had lunch here after seeing Taj Mahal. The hotel itself is all massive marble, and feels quite "cold" empty and unfeeling. Not the warm welcoming sensation I am looking for when I visit what is supposed to be a top hotel. Service is good but certainly not the best.

The food took a long time to come (40+ minutes). We almost cancelled and walked out due to schedule. When it did come, even though we'd specifically asked for no spice, it was too hot for us. It came back less spicy, but it was no better than ok. Have had much better Indian food elsewhere. And I wouldn't be motivated to stay at the hotel either.

Probably this location caters primarily to "one night stay" tourists who visit the Taj. That usually signals poorer service and food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    23
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke by Nayland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent quality Indian food, with impeccable service. I would definitely eat in this restaurant in preference to the hotel's other restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Wonderful luch with Taj Mahal in view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a delightful, if a bit short time-wise (our fault) lunch here after visiting the Taj Mahal. The food was delicious and the service was very friendly and helpful. I asked for the masala chai recipe one of the servers gave me a box of the spices they use to make this tea. Very thoughtful!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A perfect restaurant to complement the hotel and the location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Normally, I'm not much of a buffet man, I much prefer to order from the menu and have it brought to me while I enjoy the ambience of the restaurant.

As part of a business trip, I wasn't given his opportunity on this occasion, but I was fondly surprised! The buffet was fresh, hot and delicious! He dishes were not overloaded, and we're constantly being refreshed by the plentiful staff at hand.

The selection was amazing with traditional Indian fare complemented by a selection of Chinese and continental dishes. The kitchen and staff were also happy to accommodate any special requests and dietary requirements.

What made this experience more amazing was that this review was not clouded by my hunger (was not hungry at all) and if truth be told, I went in being picky because of the buffet dining!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
662 reviews 662 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
752 helpful votes 752 helpful votes
“The halo effect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Like the rest of the hotel and all Oberoi properties, service is friendly and fantastic. The décor is elegant, but with no view (being only open for dinner and located in the basement). The food is good, but nothing to write home about. There are much better Indian restaurants, maybe not in Agra, but all over the world. In other words, if one stays at the Amarvillas, one might as well go here (or to THE other restaurant, the Bellevue) for convenience reasons; but for non-hotel guests, why bother?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esphahan also viewed

Agra, Uttar Pradesh
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
 
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Esphahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esphahan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.