We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad... but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joney's Place

Joney's Place
Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
+91 93 58 183787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 170 Restaurants in Agra
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad... but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Listen, the guys here are nice and the food they cook is simple and cheap. We sort of enjoyed what we ate and had no real problems, until that is, we saw the cook/ server picking his brain via his nostril! YUCK! This is the guy chopping our vegetables and plating our food. Food goes in our mouths!

Note to Joney's:

You guys have a good thing going. Don't screw it up by being dirty little gremlins! Keep your fingers out of your noses and don't forget to wash your hands regularly. You are serving tourists who come from CLEAN and hygienic countries and you guys are making us sick.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall restaurant w/deelish Mughal food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Joney's is a great little hole in the wall restaurant with cheap and good food. Highly suggest trying their mughlai dishes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“What can I say that has not been said already”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Don't be shaken by the run down appearance of Joney's the service, the food and the atmosphere are amazing. Again try the Malai Kofte and the Lassi! A must do stop in Agra.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“would you like food poisoning?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We first came here after visiting the taj as it had been reccomended in our guide book.
The place, in all honesty, looks quite like a dump from the outside.the inside is small and we had to share a table with another couple, though we know this is common in india. The food was average but very cheap, it was this that impressed us initially.

We know food in agra can be sketchy so decieded to return here for another meal.
I wasnt feeling too great sl ordered what i thought would be a simple boiled egg sandwich, wrong, it came fried, toasted and covered in butter. Not the plain meal i had hoped for.
My partner ordered a navratan korma, a favourite of ours. It didnt come quite as we've had it before but the taste was ok.
All until 3am this morning when my patners sickness and diarrea began. We have managed to escape anything like this in over 3 months in india and we have eaten in a wide range of places.
Its a shame somewhere so highly reccomended has had this affect!

We will not be returning and advise anyone who does go be weary.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing food and banana lassi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Was starving and heard about this small restaurant near our hotel, so I thought to give it a try! Amazing food, super quaint restaurant near south gate, with good service and you HAVE to order the banana lassi!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joney's Place also viewed

 
Agra, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Joney's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joney's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.