We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sidhartha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sidhartha to your Saves list
Hotel Sidhartha
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Gate, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is Its location - right at the western gate of Taj Mahal. You can't get any closer, really. However, the standard is very basic (see my pictures). Air-conditioner is blowing with maximum power right at you or not at all. Freezing or sweating - the choice is yours. For 1 night stay is ok, but no longer. It's cheap though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    136
    66
    23
    30
See reviews for
44
122
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel Sidharth was very easy to find, and only a few minutes' walk from the West Gate of Taj Mahal. It's perfectly situated; there are lots of stores and restaurants in the area, although their garden restaurant is also very nice. Best of all, their Internet connection was good, even in the rooms!

The room was basic, but it was big and clean. I had no issue with taking a hot shower with a bucket. I didn't even need a hot shower.

The English-speaking staff was very accommodating as well, even though I arrived very early (630am) and left very early (430am). I wish they had a writing desk, but for the price, this is the best accommodation for me in Agra. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden because it's quieter and you can sit outside your door if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The south gate of Tajmahal is very near from hotel sidhartha almost at a walking distance from the hotel. It takes around half hour from ISBT to the hotel. rooms are good and well cleaned. cheap food and ambience of restaurant is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The rooms were clean, but very basic. If you want to shower with hot water, you have to use a bucket. Lonely Planet led me to believe they had hot showers and this was not true when we were there. We ate one meal at the restaurant and it wasn't great. The coffee was horrible. However, the location can't be beat - it's right next to the Taj. And the rooms were cheap. It would have been nice if they had a rooftop restaurant - I sat on the rooftop a bit, but you eventually get bored up there. If I go to Agra again, I'll stay at a hotel with a rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have you ever had to shower from a bucket? If not, then this is the place to try it! They had no hot water, but offered to bring buckets of hot water to our room to shower with. You deal since you came just about 8,000 miles to visit the Taj Mahal, and lack of hot water will not stop you now. Rooms were also a bit chilly and we slept in our clothes. We did not request extra blankets, but maybe we could have asked. I think they talk about AC rooms with hot water, but there was no need for AC in February and thus no hot running water for anyone.

Location is the best part. Hotel Sidhartha is literally 500 feet from the Taj ticket booth and entrance. It's in the car free zone that surrounds the Taj, but also less than a minute away from tuk tuks. We had Taj views from the rooftop patio, but there are better views even closer with full service restaurants that will serve you beer if you ask.

Food at the courtyard restaurant looked good, but service was a hit or miss. Overall, my friend and I agreed that this place had great potential that was being squandered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Pros: A clean and pleasant hotel. Calm. Clean bed and blankets. Very close to Taj. 50 meters for Taj west end. Food is good and clean. Have food from the hotel as thats the best food you will get in that surrounding. Felt very Safe. Helpful staffs. Clean toilets. Budget hotel. Rs. 800+ per day. Good value for money.

Cons: Very basic hotel. No internet. Hot water only in the morning, you need to ask the reception to bring in the hot water. However they do a good job of it. Toilet soaps they provide are pathetic, towels are not that great, Please ask for a better towel.

Tips:
Agra cant railway station to hotel, in prepaid auto or any auto should be around 60-100. Prepaid is not very organized at the railway station.
Visit the Taj in the morning and in the evening. There is view point across the river at sunset; you would have to take an Auto for this. Charge might be 50-100.
I took an Auto to Visit Akbar’s tomb, mini taj, Agra fort and Taj sunset view for Rs. 400. You can negotiate for 300 may be.
Avoid asking the auto driver to take you to shops, as they would also get a huge commission on the purchase you make, therefore the price would be inflated to accommodate their commission.
Do not miss the museum inside the Taj campus. It is on the left side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As a solo traveller, this was a bit expensive at 800 rupees. Decent-sized room, though, with comfy bed. AC. Clean. Good bathroom. Rooms arranged over a few floors looking into a central courtyard.

Only had breakfast at the restaurant, which was adequate. Wifi worked well.

Friendly staff.

Lot of noise from nearby religious establishments in the night.

Just a minute's walk to the west entrance gate of the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sidhartha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sidhartha

Address: Western Gate, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Sidhartha 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Sidhartha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidhartha Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sidhartha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.