We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkey business at hotel Siddharta” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sidhartha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sidhartha to your Saves list
Hotel Sidhartha
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Gate, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Agra
Grouw, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Monkey business at hotel Siddharta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

To begin with the positive: very friendly staff and excellent location, just a few minutes walk from West Gate of Taj Mahal. It's location is just within the area where motorised traffic is not allowed and close to some nice shops and restaurants.

The downsides: the room could do with some paint and other maintenance and was not very clean. There is a boiler in the bathroom, but there is no hot running water and you can hear your neighbours talking, because the connecting wall is open at the top. As other reviewers already mentioned, there seems to be a policy that bathroom mirrors should never be cleaned. The airco in our room didn't work, but this was not a big problem as the fan worked very well.

The biggest problem of this hotel is that there a monkeys, lots and lots of them. They are jumping all through and around the hotel and staff does a pathetic job keeping them away. We saw them throwing burning matches at some monkeys on first floor, which was of no use at all. Matches don't fly that high.... Monkeys are a problem throughout Agra, but we've seen children doing a better job scaring them away just using a stick and making some noise.

One other thing that bothered us during our stay was the staff sweeping the floor while we were having breakfast in the garden restaurant. They were sweeping wet, using lots of water, and swept it right into the restaurant. We had to keep our feet up in order to stay dry. And then they decided just to leave all the rubbish, including lots of monkeydroppings, lying in the restaurant, beside our table.

Definitely will not return here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    136
    66
    23
    30
See reviews for
44
122
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ricany, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Excellent location. Near Taj Mahal. From the hotel about 1 min walk from the hill. It adds a lot of the hotel for more points. Otherwise, really simple hotel for "backpackers". The staff was helpful - I arrived late evening and early morning went - it did not matter, they were kind. Communicative, joked. We got a plan of the city. The possibility to leave luggage at the reception in the morning after clearing the room. Room small but clean. Bed hard. Tv in the room. Repellent against mosquitoes in the electrics in the room. Bathroom very small. When a person quite drenched shower toilet. Water flowed only cold. The hot water had to be at the reception, in buckets. And we did not use a shower in the cold. Towels were in the room. The possibility to eat in the hotel restaurant in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Better is a room overlooking the street, not in the courtyard. A better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great value, good location, very clean. It doesn't have running hot water, but they bring buckets of hot water. No heat in winter, it was cold at night in December, but would be the perfect place at other time during the year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Kind of in a grubby area but for the money no need to complain. Monkeys were hopping all over the place kind of cool at first but got old fast.I would say its o k for a night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

we booked this hotel with Agona, and got a very cheap deal. I booked as i had seen pictures of the Taj from its roof but didnt realise exactly where it was ,my word couldnt have been closer to the Taj.
We couldnt go onto the roof as some American had been feeding the wild monkeys for the duration of their stay and then when they went home the monkeys thought that every person who went up to the roof therefore had food!! lesson there-they are wild animals, do not feed!

That said, the hotel is very basic. in our room there was a bed-TV-full length mirror and place for the luggage. The shower room was- a toilet ( which leaked,) shower head, and sink.and mirror. we had the A/C also which worked well. actually although sounds dreadful it was completely fine! we were hardly in the room at all so what else did we need? it was interesting to watch the monkeys jumping over the roof tops in the mornings and early evenings but do take care. The staff are all very friendly and work hard. Food-we only had breakfast wich was very cheap and lovely. but was really sells this hotel has to be the location. just yards away to the west gate of the Taj. Brilliant and very safe area. just up from which we had a great meal at the resturant "lucky" see seperate review.

Room Tip: ground floor and 1st floor only - choose 1st floor to get beat veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Based on the reviews we were expecting rather more for our money. The room was acceptable in terms of size, a bit old and tatty, with holes in the chair cover and sheets. The A/C was a window unit not wall-mounted although worked perfectly well. The bathroom was disgusting - the mirror was covered in splats of toothpaste from previous occupants; clearly hadn't even been wiped never mind cleaned. The floor was covered in grubby footprints, both floor and toilet bowl had traces of what appeared to be a previous occupant's diarrhoea, and the toilet seat was completely broken off.
When we checked in, the person who showed us the room insisted that there was no hot water, that this was normal, and they turned off the hot water every year on March 1st. This is despite the hotel website and signs throughout the premises clearly stating that there is hot and cold running water in the rooms. He tried to charge us for buckets of hot water but we declined.
We were woken at 5.30 am on two mornings by some kind of construction work outside or in the next door room. Between our bathroom and the bathroom of the room next door there was not a full wall - the top part of the dividing wall was just a grid.
The rooftop restaurant is closed because 'it is dangerous because of monkeys'. Obviously the monkeys are a problem but it doesn't stop the hotels anywhere else from having a restaurant up on the roof! We didn't try the courtyard restaurant as we didn't like the leery staff hanging around it all the time.
For the same or less money in the same area we could have stayed in the Saniya Palace which had better rooms and a fantastic rooftop restaurant with view of the Taj, nearer to the south gate, and with cheaper travel services.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

If you've done a fair bit of budget traveling around India before getting to Agra you will be happy about finding Hotel Sidhartha. The kind of standard you hope to stumble upon at each new destination. Decent sized room and clean enough for a few nights stay, amazing location for an early Sunrise at the Taj Mahal and even a decent rooftop photo opportunity at sunset.

The garden restaurant serves a half decent menu and the all-day Thali Meals were rather tasty! Plenty of other options are just round the corner if you fancy a change of scenery too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sidhartha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sidhartha

Address: Western Gate, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Sidhartha 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Sidhartha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sidhartha Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sidhartha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.