We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and royal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royale Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royale Residency to your Saves list
Hotel Royale Residency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near TDI Mall, Opp Hotel Trident | Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Clean and royal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As the name suggests, the hotel is really royal. After we reached there, even we booked our rooms before, we came to know that those rooms were allotted to others. To my surprise, they provide me good royal suite for the same cost and we stayed in room no 311. The interiors are excellent including the corridor and the bolcony. The restaurant gave us good buffet breakfast and we got good south Indian breakfast along with continental. The reception people are very friendly.
The only problem is the lift facility. The size is too small and we need the help of the attenders everytime to lift our luggage.
There is mall opposite to this hotel and the kids can spend good time there. The mall is having a Mc Donald's also.
The locality is very near to Taj Mahal and there are plenty of restaurants in the nearby vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    137
    78
    26
    15
See reviews for
79
97
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Clean hotel. Clean rooms. clean bathrooms. helping front desk. close to taj mahal . vip gate around 1.5 km from the hotel. Within a decent distance from Agra fort. All the good eateries and fast food joints are nearby. Mc Donalds just across the road.

Room Tip: once you reach there then everything is closeby in agra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is one of the India hotels regular used by G-Adventures (formerly Gap Adventures) a tour company that really does its homework before making it a regular itinerary stop. It's in the heart of Agra and short rides to the Taj, Red Fort, "Baby Taj" and an excellent restaurant (Kesar) is a hundred yards down the road
The staff is very friendly and helpful and room service is very prompt. The rooms are very clean, with comfortable beds, airconditioning and fan, and most have either a shower or full bath

Room Tip: Go second floor or higher as they have a busy banquet hall and a colorful but noisy wedding can inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked two rooms in this hotel for a single night. It was going to be a short visit as we have already been to Agra many times and were just giving company to my parents. We reached the hotel around 2pm. Check-in was quick even though there was some sort of delegation visiting which was occupying most of the staff attention.

Rooms were just about OK. The rooms were not airy and had a cramped feel. To add to this, there was a construction site next door (another hotel) so opening the curtains was not an option. Furnishing did not feel clean and bathrooms were just passable. The mattresses were especially poor with a very thin and worn out look. Toiletries were not good and towels did not appear clean. We had to ask for a new batch. We had asked for an extra bed. This was not put in till late night though we reminded the front desk 3-4 times to get it done.

We ordered tea and coffee through the room service. Service took a long time (and a reminder) though this may have been due to the delegation. We did check the restaurant but did not find it appealing enough.

There is a mall close by. We went there for our lunch. Dinner was in McDonalds in the same mall. This hotel is reasonably close (but still a driving distance) to the Taj and main market.

I would recommend this hotel as a cheaper option in case you are not finicky and need a place to crash in the night. However, this is definitely not the place for you if you have young kids. They will feel cooped up with nothing to do except watch TV. Even though they were tired after a long drive, my kids still wanted to go out somewhere rather than stay in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Clean room, friendly staff if slightly unprofessional, but was a very average stay.

We stayed for one night and i dont think i could have spent more than another night here. We had pigeons constantly fighting and making noise on the air con unit for our room. The power went out atleast 10 times during our visit and the food was very overpriced for the type of hotel that it is.

Staff were friendly but a little unprofessional. They sat talking in the corner of the restaurant while we had dinner which i felt was not appropriate, we went to the bar for a beer and a staff member was sitting on the couch relaxing and watching tv loudly, and upon leaving we were carrying our bags out our room (which we prefer to do) and the bellboys turned up and almost forced us to let them carry them. And when finished stood around undiscreetly for a tip. We were also reminded numerous times in the restaurant that service charge was not included in the bill. Highly unnecessary and found it quite annoying and patronising.

However they did arrange a guided tour of taj mahal and agra fort for us as well as akbar the great's tomb. The guide was ready waiting at the hotel for us for an early morning taj mahal visit and was not pushy at all. So i must credit the hotel for this for that but otherwise id say a truly average experience and not value for money.

Also of all hotels we stayed in (budget ones) this was the only one not to provide wifi in the rooms (probably so people cant write reviews for tripadvisor)

Overall, it is ok for one or maybe two nights to see the sights but no more. The desk guy ronnie was quite helpful to book tour and add a late check out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room was clean, nothing to say very specific. Breakfast is ok. The staffs were friendly expect the front office staffs, they were behaving bit rude. Location is ok. As it is very near to Taj and Fort, you can easily be accessible.

Room Tip: If you are at agra for one day, then this hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We(me, my husband and 1.4 years old kid) stayed in Royal Residency for one night during our recent trip to Agra. Our experience was good, rooms are clean, staff are helpful and v.friendly. food is good though a bit overpriced.Its not too far frm Taj Mahal and Agra fort. We could visit Taj at 6 in the morning since its not too far and the view of Taj was awesome at sunrise. I recommend this hotel for family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royale Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royale Residency

Address: Near TDI Mall, Opp Hotel Trident | Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
#11 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royale Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royale' Residency, situated in the city of the Taj, provides Three Star Hotel facilities that discerning Travellers look for. Having 47 Rooms including 35 Deluxe Rooms, 10 Executive Rooms , 02 Suite Rooms, BAR, SPA, Mini Hall, Conference Hall, Spacious & Huge lawn (accompanying 800 – 1000 persons) & Multi – cuisine Restaurant. It has Large & Spacious Rooms. The rooms have a touch of royal rich interior blended With Sophisticated elegance and splendour. It has spacious Executive Deluxe, Suites & Family Suite Rooms Combining the best of luxury and Comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royale Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Residency Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royale Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.