We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourists Rest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tourists Rest House to your Saves list
Tourists Rest House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4/62 Kutchery Road | Baluganj, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Agra
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This is a really nice place for budget travelers/backpackers. The rooms are basic but comfortable. They have the whole range from single rooms with shared bath to en suites with A/C and TV.

The staff esp the owners are extremely friendly and very helpful.

They have an outdoor restaurant inside the complex which serves pretty decent grub.
There aren't a lot of food options in the area - So this is definitely a huge plus.
Avoid Zorba - a restaurant with rave reviews on LP - very avg food and super expensive.

You can get wireless access for INR 100 per day.

Not sure if it matters, they have a small library and one of the owners speaks fluent French and English.

The bathrooms fixtures need to be updated - very old and low flow. But again, they have priced the rooms accordingly.

All in all, a great place to stay for budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    157
    104
    29
    21
See reviews for
53
142
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights on our trip to Agra. The hotel sent a Rickshaw driver to pick us up from the Bus Station which we were very happy with. Then on arrival we were asked to pay in advance for the room. The room was adequate if nothing special. Though there was Never Hot Water even though it was included in the room rate. Paying in advance was a mistake as it meant we could not leave.

The Richshaw which picked us up turned out just to be a prelude to try and sell you a tour. This you would not mind but the prices quoted were very high, extravagent by Indian standards. We had been in India a month at this point and knew a fair and unfair price for a day and half day trip. When you try and leave the hotel for the day they close the gate so you have to walk through reception. At this point they will always stop you and try and sell transport. On our first full day we did get a car with them for the morning only. It was a bad idea. First the car was not even there for the time requested we had to wait over half an hour, it was clear that the hotel had not even called one for us despite arranging it the day before. Then during the day car kept stopping to try to pick up local guides to make commision, then kept trying to take us in restaurants we did not want or need to eat it and to take us to shops we did not want to shop in. We had to be very firm and cross with him which ruined the day. It was all about getting the commision from us rather than treating us as guests and customers. The car was very expensive as well and I regret getting it as we should have known better.

Also the location of the hotel is very very bad. It away from all the good sights in Agra. We chose it from a review in the Lonely Planet which i believe is very misleading. We thought we would be away from the hassle of the Taj Gang area but it was much worse by this hotel. There are lots of Bottle Shops in the area and so lots of alcoholics. Lots of men tried to grab my arm or touch me whenever we walked down the street. The only good thing about the location is it is close to some of the best restaurants in town. And these you can get to without staying near them.

I definately DO NOT recommend this hotel. Stay in Taj Gange area - at least you will have a fabulous view of the Taj Mahal and be able to negotiate fair tour prices as there is lots of competition.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The room is OK, nothing fancy and very simple but it costs hardly anything. The atmosphere in the garden of the hotel is really nice and the pancakes are great! Agra is a dirty town but the hotel garden makes it nice and the owner is always there and very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I arrived in Agra on Oct 2nd. I read the info from trip advisor thus waliking into the hotel.
The manager kindly showed me around the rooms. They are clean and cozy. I decided to stay in a Air Cooler room, around RS 500. This is my first time to stay in an air-cool room and it turned out quite comfortable. There is a well-designed garden in the centre of the hotel. There are candle lights during the evening, which is very nice. The location of the hotel is with 10 mins' autorickshaw. It's a good place to stay if you don't need to see the Taj view during the night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

we came to agra on 22 of sept. at night . we are very well welcomed by the staff . the rooms are clean and fresh . my wife and my daughter had slept well after comin from delhi. the courtyard in the hotel was very nice and in night it is surrounded by lights and candles seems that you are sitting in a romantic resturant .the food was also very delicious. In many states and cities in india there is a power problem but this hotel has full power backup system .

we appreciate the hospitality of this hotel and we had a great time .

we heartly recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

after experiencing a hectic schedule is delhi we stayed in agra at tourist rest house . it is more than what lonely planet says. the rooms are spotless clean and the garden is very much romantic in the night . the manager solves our querry and is very much informative . the hotel has now a new family member who take care of everything is very much entertaining. if you are travelling with your girlfriend then go for this hotel .we highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We had a great time in the Tourist Rest House, it saved our trip in India after our horrific start in Delhi.The courtyard is literally an Oasis of calm and refreshment.The staff were very welcoming,helpful and friendly.Our room was perfect for the price we paid.Agra itself is manic and I believe booking a great hostel makes India not just Agra 75% easier to handle. I highly recommend the Tourist Rest House.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourists Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourists Rest House

Address: 4/62 Kutchery Road | Baluganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourists Rest House 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located in the heart of the city, close to all the major attractions, bazaars and railway /bus station. All the rooms are clean and well equipped with attached bathroom and western style toilet, toiletries are also provided in every room. The rooms are facing a central, plant filled courtyard,giving a feel of relaxation and security. We have 24 hr front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tourists Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourists Rest House Hotel Agra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourists Rest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.